Autopsy Rd 4 Blues annihilated by 86 points

For the short sighted whingers my perspective before I go and have a drink and celebrate a fine debut

Youngest list we have ever had and we are playing most of them
Long list of injuries to key players which at this stage we need to be competitive
Kennedy Kruezer are playing injured
Given their experience and support SPS Fisher Charlie Marchbank Silvagni O'Brien Dow show positive signs
It is hard to cover one young player in an AFL side. 12 or so is impossible.
Kids do not consistently influence games. Physically we can't match especially with tackling and pressure. THAT IS WHY IT LOOKS LIKE EFFORT IS POOR
Rebuild is trying to be fast tracked
This is the year for some elite mature bodies and couple more talented kids.
We have most positions well covered
We will fight through this and come out the other side a much better side and club
OShea Jones Thomas Lamb Mullett Shaw Casboult will not be part of best 22 in 2019/20

Out of tonight how would we do if:

Murphy replaced Graham
ASOS replaced Jones
Marchbank replaced O'Shea
Williamson replaced Mullett
Docherty replaced Thomas
our kids all had another 20 plus games and
Mckay Lang & Macreadie were ready to play and influence
Doesn't take much

Mark this down and feel free to come at me if proven untrue as I know most will not say anything if I'm right

1. We will win more than 4 games this year
2. 2nd half will be a lot better
3. 2019 will see significant improvement
4. 2020 will be finals or very close
5. A lot of posters will go missing then

There's you wooden spoon battle and we nearly lost it by 100 points. Gone too hard with the rebuild 10-4 under 21s out there tonight. Most sides have 3-5 a week we regularly have 8-10.

13 players with 12 or fewer possessions to 6. Our 22-28 year old range on our list is absolutely second rate. Cripps (and Doch) aside there's not a single player even at a B-grade level. Ed Curnow the next best and he's a great role player. The rest are avg. role players or just not up to it.

Here's hoping we stick fat with Bolton after a 3-19 season. What hopes he got with such an abysmal list
Be good if his game plan made us competitive. It’s his 3rd season and we’re worse than what we were when he started.

Scared.

That's the only way to describe the players tonight. Scared of contesting and getting hurt. Scared of being out of position. Scared told making a mistake if they took the game on

I reckon that's partly our fault, the fans who bitch and moan and pick young guys up on every error they make.

But geez, it was awfully bad.

Head sup to Ed Curnow - quietly having a ripper of a year with very little support.

There's you wooden spoon battle and we nearly lost it by 100 points. Gone too hard with the rebuild 10-4 under 21s out there tonight. Most sides have 3-5 a week we regularly have 8-10.

13 players with 12 or fewer possessions to 6. Our 22-28 year old range on our list is absolutely second rate. Cripps (and Doch) aside there's not a single player even at a B-grade level. Ed Curnow the next best and he's a great role player. The rest are avg. role players or just not up to it.

Here's hoping we stick fat with Bolton after a 3-19 season. What hopes he got with such an abysmal list

Think I'd be stoked to take a 3-19 season.

For the short sighted whingers my perspective before I go and have a drink and celebrate a fine debut

Long list of injuries to key players which at this stage we need to be competitive
Given their experience and support SPS Fisher Charlie Marchbank Silvagni O'Brien Dow show positive signs
Kids do not consistently influence games. Physically we can't match especially with tackling and pressure
We will fight through this and come out the other side a much better side and club
OShea Jones Thomas Lamb Mullett Shaw Casboult will not be part of best 22 in 2019/20

Mark this down and feel free to come at me if proven untrue as I know most will not say anything if I'm right

I find this strangely reassuring. Thanks for your (hopefully) wise words

How many rock bottoms can you have?

I'd be glad to have burnt memberships and chicken shit on the doorstep, but we're all too apathetic just like the entire club.
This is the first one. We have accepted the reality of the AFL landscape and have started to rebuild the only sustainable way. At some stage injuries or fatigue were going to knock the competitiveness out of the kids, tonight that happened.

The kids will look around and realise there is not the depth of senior players to carry them and will take it upon themselves to drag the team towards the required standards.

As for vandalising the club or petulant acts like wrecking memberships, leave that to the ferals who are incapable of expressing frustration and impotence in a meaningful or constructive way. What happens to you is not what defines you, your reaction to circumstances does.

Let me say this. Any paying supporter should be allowed to vent after a terrible loss. Everyone deals with things differently. Some people prefer to hold it all inside and just wait until things change. Other people can’t hold it inside because they need to release it to feel better. Anyone that criticised them for that needs to have a good look at themselves. That being said, how Sh*t are we.

What is the difference in rights between a paying supporter and one that doesn'T?

13 players 23 and under tonight, averaging 29 games each.

Our experienced players are 28 and over and the 3 players in the yawning chasm between 23 and 28 were Jones, Mullett and O'Shea. We clearly lack balance at the moment and will do for another year or two. We of all clubs couldn't afford to lose our strongest leader in that age profile gap and we are finding out why. Our only on field organiser is Simmo at the moment.

We may have overcooked this rebuild a tad and didn't get in the right type of experienced player.

Positives:

- O'Brien is off to an encouraging start, and didn't look overwhelmed or out of his depth. Sure, two more years of dysfunctional footy and we'll probably break him, too, but for now, enjoy your footy, young man.

- Kennedy worked himself into the game pretty well in the end. Fought it out, at least.

- Ed battled manfully as Ed does, has a great ticker this man - this is the standard of effort we want -- or need -- from everyone. Should be non-negotiable. Probably leading the B&F?

Kids do not consistently influence games. Physically we can't match especially with tackling and pressure

Mate I love your positivity, and I mean that sincerely.

Thing is, you can’t put personal aside. Last year we were carried by our 6 senior guns. Carried. 3 of them didn’t play today, and one is injured and finished the game on the bench.

Of course you can. The team was flat, played with no system and couldn't execute on the absolute basics.

Kennedy, Kruezer, Plowman are all playing underdone. We are missing key leadership because of injuries to the likes of Murphy, Docherty, Rowe, ASOS, Marchbank. You have a bunch of 18-20 year olds out there looking to their teammates for leadership and there is nothing there, cripps being isolated in the midfield meant he had a north player physically holding onto him for the entire match.

This is why we chased so hard to get Rockliff and Kelly last year, it will be a tough year for us without our absolute best 22 in and no injured players being carried into the games. I don't have to be pleased with the result but I can reasonably understand why it happened and as such I am not concerned.

A Nick Riewoldt would have been good for us in a hodge to brisbane for leadership type roll.

Autopsy Rd 4 Blues annihilated by 86 points