Political Discussion part #2 - Let’s go out for 10 Big Macs at the Engadine Maccas!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Deaneus!

Finally something Political we agree on...:eek:

Maybe because more of their supporters fall under the dual citizen category?
Numbers are about even. Probably more Coalition dual citizens, if we count those who Turnbull still refuses to refer.

The ALP lost 4 last week (Gallagher, Lamb, Wilson, and Keay). The Coalition has lost 3 (Baaaarnaby, Nash, Alexander).

The ALP still have questions over Husar and McBride. The Coalition still have questions over Hawke, Banks, Falinski, and Marino.

Personally, I think all 6 of the latter group should be referred to the HC, and it should have happened months ago.

That Koutsiantonis resorted to this, and a temporary loan from SA Water to report the absolute barest of budget surpluses (in other words blatantly lied) should not be forgotten.

State Bank esque financial management.

That Koutsiantonis resorted to this, and a temporary loan from SA Water to report the absolute barest of budget surpluses (in other words blatantly lied) should not be forgotten.

And yet some accuse Lucas of blowing the $10M forecasted surplus

So Tehan wants people to gradually be removed from welfare altogether. Clearly has no clue about what the purpose of our welfare system is. How does he expect aged pensioners to transition off they system, for example? Or someone with a permanent disability?

His defence of the cashless welfare system also seems to be little more than ‘la la la la la it’s working perfectly la la la la la’.

http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2018-...inancial-stress-users-say/9738954?pfmredir=sm

The basics card is very popular with community women in Central Australia, the men not so much. You won't hear that from the people who derive their livelihood from the ongoing misery though. And they're pretty much the only people you hear from. Truth talkers who mention anything along the lines of personal responsibility get shouted down.

In some circumstances, the Basics Card is a good idea, and completely necessary - for example serial breachers, those that spend their payments on pokies, alcohol etc over food for their kids etc.

I don’t think it should be dumped on everyone though. If you’ve hit hard times and temporarily end up on Centrelink, you shouldn’t be lumped in the same category as bludgers and people who abuse their payments.

Confirmation that the Coalition government has known about the Energy companies price gouging for years, and done nothing about it.
https://www.canberratimes.com.au/po...twork-rorts-letters-show-20180515-p4zffo.html

Frydenberg's attempt to deflect and blame it on Labor is almost comical in its inepitude. Josh - Labor might have created the problem, but you've had 5 years to clean it up and your mob has done 2/3 of 3/5 of SFA. You can't pass the buck when you've known about the problem for years and done nothing to fix it yourself.

Makes me wonder how many of the coalition knew about it though. Wonder if the mad monk kept it between him and a couple of others and was going to use it for political capital but after getting assholed they kept it buried. Why wasn't the SA government jumping up and down about it. Seems bloody strange that both sides of the divide knew about it but turned a blind eye until very recently.

In some circumstances, the Basics Card is a good idea, and completely necessary - for example serial breachers, those that spend their payments on pokies, alcohol etc over food for their kids etc.

I don’t think it should be dumped on everyone though. If you’ve hit hard times and temporarily end up on Centrelink, you shouldn’t be lumped in the same category as bludgers and people who abuse their payments.

Sounds difficult to isolate your problem cases. Effectively the card becomes a shame job for a certain section of welfare recipients. And the administration of that would be horrifically expensive. Imagine the amount of reviews needing to be built in before tagging someone as a problem case.

Which made the Labor spin about the Libs privatising things more devious.

Sounds difficult to isolate your problem cases. Effectively the card becomes a shame job for a certain section of welfare recipients. And the administration of that would be horrifically expensive. Imagine the amount of reviews needing to be built in before tagging someone as a problem case.

Good point. Ultimately it's a catch 22 situation - keep the current system where some people will blow it all on booze and pokies. Have the cashless system and the honest people are punished for the actions of those that blow it on booze and pokies.

I'm not sure they're punished, their life continues on as normal. They won't have any trouble spending the required portion on approved products. What % are they talking about quarantining?

80% according to the above article.

One example they used was someone not able to repay a car loan with the card, which they could when they had cash (the loan provider was not approved for the card).

this debacle sounds it needs to be handed straight to ICAC.

Tom K on the radio saying he never had any intention of selling the asset and the state can walk away from it, Rob L saying the contract explicitly states the state needs to take reasonable steps to do so and the state is on the hook for $80M. that is a big difference and hard to tell given the inherent bias.

there is no way a private company gives anyone $80M with no strings attached.

Very interesting figures there Bicks.

I wonder why Labor & Greens supporters are so much less inclined to disqualify dual citizens, and more in favour of the referendum. Any ideas?

Personally, I'm strongly in favour of disqualifying dual citizens, and strongly opposed to a referendum changing this situation.

I find it a bit strange as well. Perhaps they are trying to avoid as being seen as racist or something odd like that.

Must admit, I'm struggling to think of any privatisations which have worked out better for the taxpayers.

In all seriousness... i can't think of any either, which isn't to say some haven't

Electricity - no.
Telstra - no.
Medibank Private - no.

Surely there must be some examples of privatisation which have worked out better for the taxpayers?

Lotteries SA. Got out of a business that the government had no real business being in and ran incredibly poorly.

I'll have to take your word on that, given that I don't live in SA and don't buy lottery tickets (I refer to gambling as "paying the stupidity tax").

That said, historically lotteries were used to generate funds for hospitals, there was a strong and direct linkage between the two. To that end, the government definitely had a very real reason for being in the business. I suspect that was lost over time, with the money just going into general revenue, in which case the government's reason for being in the business would no longer be valid.