Mclaren Mercedes F1
Not just a WAFL issue when a 2nd tier club needs a chop out from the WAFC, not doom & gloom or going missing for a while, shades of Frankston, is West Perth:
https://thewest.com.au/sport/wafl/w...olding-despite-financial-plight-ng-b88895615z

West Perth player and staff payments will be guaranteed for this year as the State’s oldest football club seeks a bailout from the WA Football Commission to allow it to trade its way out of a dire financial plight.

But the Falcons, who were founded in 1891 and are seeking their 20th WAFL premiership, say they are in no danger of folding despite a recent independent audit uncovering “significant unrecorded debts”.

West Perth will seek a loan — understood to be about $300,000 — to meet short-term obligations before their new purpose-built function facility starts to boost revenue.

As AFL fans its easy to assume the game is going well courtesy of the TV rights, but there are problems just below the surface, how bad is a question we should all consider.

Not just a WAFL issue when a 2nd tier club needs a chop out from the WAFC, not doom & gloom or going missing for a while, shades of Frankston, is West Perth:
https://thewest.com.au/sport/wafl/w...olding-despite-financial-plight-ng-b88895615z

West Perth player and staff payments will be guaranteed for this year as the State’s oldest football club seeks a bailout from the WA Football Commission to allow it to trade its way out of a dire financial plight.

But the Falcons, who were founded in 1891 and are seeking their 20th WAFL premiership, say they are in no danger of folding despite a recent independent audit uncovering “significant unrecorded debts”.

West Perth will seek a loan — understood to be about $300,000 — to meet short-term obligations before their new purpose-built function facility starts to boost revenue.

As AFL fans its easy to assume the game is going well courtesy of the TV rights, but there are problems just below the surface, how bad is a question we should all consider.
Cant have the filthy disgusting garlic munchers go broke - i cant just hate souths

Mal Brown could go home & run a couple of benefit nights for that lot, garlic munchers all .... was easy to hate Peter Panegyres 'cos he was real good & a muncher to boot, a Cardinals reunion.

I guess it only matters if you care about Australian Rules Football as a sport,A value to all communities that play it & as a national treasure. Some clearly only care about sitting at the G with pies, chips & Fanta.

aparently the whole "clubs should survive without assistance" only applies if you are a VFL-AFL club.

Ah yes, those poor VFL/AFL clubs, existing in a national league that killed off most of the money and interest in clubs like the Cardies, and who get to use poker machines to supplement their already enormous income.

Woe is they.

Ah yes, those poor VFL/AFL clubs, existing in a national league that killed off most of the money and interest in clubs like the Cardies, and who get to use poker machines to supplement their already enormous income.

Woe is they.

Ah yes the poor WAFL clubs.

Not the VFL/AFL clubs fault that the WAFL clubs were begging to join the VFL to the point the WAFL had to put its own team in. Neither is WAs ban on clubs having pokies a fault of the AFL clubs in Victoria either.

Pathetic ….

Sure. I mean it must be obvious to you that theres an oversupply of football at the WAFL level in WA. Thats how this works isnt it?

Not the VFL/AFL clubs fault that the WAFL clubs were begging to join the VFL to the point the WAFL had to put its own team in. Neither is WAs ban on clubs having pokies a fault of the AFL clubs in Victoria either.

Sure. I mean it must be obvious to you that theres an oversupply of football at the WAFL level in WA. Thats how this works isnt it?

Ignorance is bliss in Adelaide by the looks of it.

Wow, too long in the Q sun !!! Have another shandy, LemmingAid & XXXX Gold :'( ... on the rocks !!

Pokies comment a day after the Pies announced they were getting out of them .... sad? Get with the strength Ed, well done :thumbsu: , Jeffrey where are you? :huh:

WA footy looking after WA footy, no need for the AFL masterminds to piddle around as they are in Tas cowtowing to its Vic masters; shame the AFL doesnt act in the best interests of all of its claimed constituency, yep Tas again get knicked, the Hawks & North want the Tas taxpayers money.

As for your comment : Ah yes the poor WAFL clubs.
WAFC help for a long established traditional WA club is not unconditional, as it should be in the AFL for traditional underperformers in matters financial.
https://thewest.com.au/sport/freman...ly-way-freo-can-get-a-wafl-team-ng-b88896791z

West Perth will meet the commission tomorrow to ask for a loan of about $300,000 to help them meet short-term debts while they attempt to improve their revenue stream.
But the Falcons will not be guaranteed a handout if they intend to use the loan to repay substantial debts to their landlord VenuesWest or the Australian Tax Office.

We are not the first club to have money troubles and won't be the last. We have seen clubs like Richmond, Collingwood rattle tins throughout their history and not that long ago.
Clearly the board responsible must step aside. Most footy clubs live in a world of undisclosed something, most are payments however not debts.
Being my club I am very disappointed but I will back their plan into moving forward. I also have no issue with the name change, West Perth football club trading as the Joondalup Falcons. The members and supporters will never call them Joondalup when they are watching them though.
Surely the WAFC can organise with West perth to rattle the tins at all AFL games left at Optus stadium this year. Or maybe even just Derby day. I am sure even the others clubs supporters don't want West Perth gone and would be happy to hand over a few bucks.
I reckon Commetti and Zempilas will organises something where all proceeds go to West Perth.
My company will be donating to them and I personally will do my bit to help out.
Sad state of affairs but the joy this club has given me throughout my life it is a no brainer to help. I hope all Falcons fans feel the same and also the WAFL fans in general.

The Vulgar thing to me is Mcgovern just signs a deal to play football and gets over 1 million a year and WA"s oldest and most traditional club needs only 600k to get back on track. Ye it all seems to hard for football.

Sad state of affairs but the joy this club has given me throughout my life it is a no brainer to help. I hope all Falcons fans feel the same and also the WAFL fans in general.

Well put, cant help but think the current position (voluntary administration) is posturing for a discount on some of the recorded & unrecorded debt.

Moving to Joondalup has clearly worked wonders.
I think there are 42 guys on their playing list who weren't even born when the Falcons moved to Joondalup.

aparently the whole "clubs should survive without assistance" only applies if you are a VFL-AFL club.
Do you have the figure for money provided to the WAFL from the AFL per year? I don't want to make an incorrect assumption when I know you have the exact figures.

You are asking for AFL money direct to the WAFL, or do you mean the WAFC?

And? The whole reason for the Joondalup move was meant to be as a way of securing the growth of state football as Perth expanded.
I'm saying that the events of 24 years ago have much less impact than the decisions made in the club over the last four or five.