Essendon fans booing.

• Thread starter Thread starter Adz

Off to OPSM for you...or maybe its time for that blind dog.
I can’t believe you’re even bothering with this one. Just accept you were gifted a win and this week was more blatant than every other week you get sucked off by the umpires.

Who cares? After a close, mental game like that people are stupidly emotional and will boo anything to do with the opposition. A few thousand of them booed. WGAF?

That’s the game, the AFL should be thankful it makes people so emotional. FFS that’s what they market the game on.

The alternative is tennis where people sit and clap politely. Do they want that? Of course not.

It’s just like the FFA, they treat supporters who dare to be active with contempt, yet market the game based on the atmosphere. Which way do they want it?

This booing thing is a stupid fascination of the media and some other people. We had to put up with this moronic argument the other day when Ablett got booed. Errr he’s an opposition player. So what?

****in spend your column inches and TV time on something more interesting.

So by your logic you were ok with the booing of your club during the drug saga? And you'd be ok if say Heppel won the medal and got booed while trying to talk?

Geez you have a selective memory - how about the Freo fans at Subi for the Freo V Hawks Prelim in 2015.
Threatening Hawks players, grabbing a woman by the throat protecting her kids, bashing women in the face, taking a swing at Isaac Smith etc etc.

Our racist shit against Winmar was also disgusting.

But Ablett doesn't give a sh*t about being booed.

Booing through a presentation on ANZAC Day is disgusting and disrespectful to the occasion.

Selective memory has nothing whatsoever to do with it. The OP called out Essendon supporters as disgusting for booing, so logically must have been disgusted by Collingwood fans Round 1 on Ablett - pretty simple really.

And, it's a damn AFL game, not the bloody remembrance shrine no matter how much the AFL monetises the event......

After all their sooking about #StandByHird when he cheated on the grandest scale possible, they do that to one of the classiest, faireat ball players of his generation (much as Hird the player was).

The umpiring was atrocious and the Bombers got the shitty end of the stick late, but they also got goals earlier on from equally awful decisions.

But Pendlebury isn't an umpire and what they did to him was disgraceful.

And speaks volumes about the mentality of a club and support base who simply do not operate according to the rules and norms of the competition.

You don't have to like the umpiring but to boo like they did is a disgrace! Good on you Bucks.

Call out your supporters Xavier- make a statement (never going to happen though)
Are all moderators employed by the AFL? Sure seems so sometimes

Again, an insignificant amount of people are even coming close to suggesting there should be punitive measures for booing. Most are just calling out the bad optics of the Bombers fans clearly escalating their booing during Pendlebury’s speech.

People have been mocking West Coast fans for booing for a decade. Why suddenly when it’s Essendon getting mocked are people making ridiculously hysterical slippery slope free speech arguments and fear mongering that there is some looming draconian crackdown coming?

What the Essendon fans don't realise, is that they get a very good run from the umpires most weeks. Just one of those teams that gets a lot of the 50-50 calls and soft decisions in their favour, and are only penalised when it's an obvious infringement.

So on a rare day like today when some decisions don't go their way, it's unfathomable to them. Now they are collectively having a "does not compute" meltdown.
This umpiring had nothing on the Bulldogs v Hawks game. Don’t know what all the fuss is. And apparently the push and shove is all ok since that game.

They were booing Pendles because he is a flopper. Flopped in the last quarter and went down as though shot. Essendon fans obviously didn't appreciate it. To be fair, as a neutral supporter I watched the flop and thought it was weak. I don't respect that. Its soft and I think that is why he got boooed.

Booing is fine whenever you do it or whoever you do it to.

That being said; the irony of essendon fans booing umpires when they were given the biggest free kick of all time (being allowed to continue to exist) isn’t lost on me.

Is this the thread where we get to all heap shit at one set of supporters?

I understand the frustration of Essendon supporters as that game was awfully umpired. But at the same time, Scott Pendlebury didn’t deserve the reception he received, and Buckley nailed it with his acceptance speech.

Would be nice if the discussion could turn to a legitimate one around the degrading quality of the umpiring as opposed to supporters just slinging shit at each other.
Hi Tarkyn_24,

I see you're new here. Welcome to BigFooty.

So by your logic you were ok with the booing of your club during the drug saga? And you'd be ok if say Heppel won the medal and got booed while trying to talk?

I wouldn’t care. Booing is a harmless, stupid, emotional reaction carried out by some bogans in every supporter base. It happens. I don’t know why people give a shit.

Is it fair or sensible? Probably not. But little about footy is. It’s just the way some people express their emotion. And I know one thing, without that emotion the game is utterly ****ed.

How can you say pendlebury flopped when he actually got kneed in the head... Ben brown = flop, pendles = not flop

Afl is done if there is going to be a press conference about booing at games.

Will the opposite teams cheers quad no longer be able to boo and wave distracting flags when a player is having a shot at goal in front of them??

Where does it stop..

Boo to you're hearts content...

#istandbytheboo
#meboo