Bluemour Discussion Thread XVII - Coniglio means Rabbit in Italian!

If Martin is mediocre then why has SOS been chasing him for two seasons now............he is streets ahead of Baker talent wise and is a good size for an inside or outside mid........I think he is a bit like SPS in that he does not get big numbers but if you make him work his talent will rise to the surface. I agree that Papley is the number one need for us though, so hopefully SOS can swing the deal........of course it is trickier with him still having one year to run on his contract........go the homesick ploy SOS, even if it`s really his girlfriend who wants back to VIC.

Martin is a midfielder and Baker is a forward so hard to compare. Also different ages. Martin should be in the prime of his career at 24 and Baker at 21 should be just there. I think Martin is a gamble to say that he can rise to another level and be worthy of trading prime picks for. We must think that he is a good fit for our side and maybe he is.

He’s been more than a back up anything this year, he’s been brilliant for us lately.

We have had Curnow, Marchbank, McGovern, Kreuzer, Jones out for large chunks of the season. If most of them are fit at the same time Levi wouldn’t have been getting a game.

That’s all I’m saying, 400k + for multiple seasons as a backup is not good list management.

If we move on some rucks then Levi stays, that can be his position behind Kreuzer which allows TDK to continue to develop in the 2’s until his form warrants games.

It’s hard though to pay someone 400k + to essentially be backup
Lobbe will go and Phillips is 50/50 atm but we need another young ruckman early 20's as a development backup as well imo... I like Phillips i hope he can keep producing but he'll need more than last weeks game to guarantee him a list spot...

I will tell you what the issue is.
Half the posters here think this Martin fellow is better than Cripps. The other half think he's worse than Jordan Russell.
So its likely that somewhere in the middle is an ok player and not worth much to us.
This team is going places and we don't need passengers.

How do you go halfway between "better than Cripps" and "worse than Russell" and somehow land at "passenger"?

Literally nobody has suggested he's better than Cripps. Literally nobody has said he'd be a complete bust. So you're just talking shit to push your own opinion and trying to make yourself sound like the reasonable one.

Martin is a gravy player. Can play multiple positions to a reasonable standard, will have quiet outings but will also put together some really comprehensive performances. In a team that moves the ball quickly and spreads well, he theoretically becomes a poor man's Whitfield. In an environment where he becomes part of a tight-knit team who play for eachother, I think he steps up and plays better (or at least, more consistently good) footy than what we've seen to date.

For a reasonable price (ie. second round pick) he'd be a solid pickup who would complement where our list is going. Another strong runner who can play back, forward, on a wing, and pinch hit in the middle, good hands, athletic, uses the ball well. He's another avenue to goal and another awkward match-up for opposition coaches.

I doubt Levi would go interstate even if he had a big contract offer. 2 young kids and another on the way.
I hope he gets a good offer from us to make him want to stay. He's best 22 right now and in the form of his life.
A big guy who's turned his career around and now can play great AFL quality football up forward, down back and in the ruck. Do we need one of those? Let's think about that for a micro second before shouting out "HELL YES"!! Sign him up, FFS!!!
I can't believe the posters on here being fine with us letting him just walk to another club. Unbelievable! Since when has it been ok to just let multi-talents just slip through our fingers? Drop him to play for Northern from this week on if we stupidly think he's not needed anymore.

We have had Curnow, Marchbank, McGovern, Kreuzer, Jones out for large chunks of the season. If most of them are fit at the same time Levi wouldn’t have been getting a game.

That’s all I’m saying, 400k + for multiple seasons as a backup is not good list management.
I'd have to disagree with you there TYB considering he's taken his game to another level and without him and most probably wouldn't have been in the position we are atm 400k is unders, in comparison to Lobbe and i know he was as much a salary dump as he was a depth back up who was on more than that to play reserves, that's under selling his worth to him, us and our list jmo

Martin seems to be a conditional player prone to having quite games more often than not.

Pretty much a case of buyer beware.

Gold Coast are a conditional team.

Reckon you'd see the same efforts from a number of our players had they landed up there. Takes a rare individual to change a culture like that single-handed.

It’s ok to disagree with me, but we need picks to play with and Levi is a free agent who has a couple of years of good footy left.

Will not be surprised to see him at another club next year
Every chance it could happen, there's a few clubs in need of an experienced key position player with good money and terms to offer...

I posted my thoughts on Martin a few pages back, but to clarify.

Not a midfielder imo, flanker/wing optimally.

Not a conditional player at all. Works very hard.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Gold Coast are a conditional team.

Reckon you'd see the same efforts from a number of our players had they landed up there. Takes a rare individual to change a culture like that single-handed.
This.

You could've sent Pendlebury to Melbourne in 2010, and it wouldn't have helped them. He'd have been just another bust, like so many of their draft picks there.

Martin could be an interesting pickup. He doesn't earn enough of the ball to play as a mid, nor does he kick enough goals to play as a pure forward. I'm not huge on all-rounders, but if he could lift his average production about 25%, he'd be a magnificent pickup for us.

How do you go halfway between "better than Cripps" and "worse than Russell" and somehow land at "passenger"?

Literally nobody has suggested he's better than Cripps. Literally nobody has said he'd be a complete bust. So you're just talking s**t to push your own opinion and trying to make yourself sound like the reasonable one.

Martin is a gravy player. Can play multiple positions to a reasonable standard, will have quiet outings but will also put together some really comprehensive performances. In a team that moves the ball quickly and spreads well, he theoretically becomes a poor man's Whitfield. In an environment where he becomes part of a tight-knit team who play for eachother, I think he steps up and plays better (or at least, more consistently good) footy than what we've seen to date.

For a reasonable price (ie. second round pick) he'd be a solid pickup who would complement where our list is going. Another strong runner who can play back, forward, on a wing, and pinch hit in the middle, good hands, athletic, uses the ball well. He's another avenue to goal and another awkward match-up for opposition coaches.
I dont have an opinion on Martin. Never seen him play.
I was encapsulating the general tenor of what I have read, with some exaggeration and a modicum of humour. I would have thought that was obvious.
No need to get yer nickers in a twist....... ;)

I dont have an opinion on Martin. Never seen him play.
I was encapsulating the general tenor of what I have read, with some exaggeration and a modicum of humour. I would have thought that was obvious.
No need to get yer nickers in a twist....... ;)

Not obvious at all - and not sure what the passengers comment was supposed to suggest if not that you thought Martin would be one, especially given you've now confirmed you haven't even seen him play. Maybe check out some of his vision on Youtube and get back to me with your thoughts - would be more than happy to shoot the breeze on what you actually think of him as a player if you've got the time.

The way they're currently playing, I'd rather see Cas playing and Harry back in the the 2's until he can learn to keep his feet in a contest.
At the moment the opposition are concerned about his mobility and size, but he doesn't look like actually hurting them.

Even when everyone is fit, Can is becoming a genuine swing man who can pinch hit in the ruck. You try to keep a hold of them.

Could charlie play wing?
If Cas is on the move I wish him all the luck.

If Charlie, McGovern and Harry are fit.

Jones, Marchbank and Weitering are fit.

Where does Cas play? Time isn't on his side he has been very loyal to us and if an opportunity arises I can't say I wouldn't take it.

All of our players staying with us until they retire won't happen. We have to be prepared to give up a few over the course

On SM-G920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah, but he does cover 3 positions, so $133k each actually seems pretty damn good value when you compare it to the average salary!

Surely Lobbe retires at the end of this year and he was reportedly on decent coin, funnel some of that to old mate double cobra.

Not obvious at all - and not sure what the passengers comment was supposed to suggest if not that you thought Martin would be one, especially given you've now confirmed you haven't even seen him play. Maybe check out some of his vision on Youtube and get back to me with your thoughts - would be more than happy to shoot the breeze on what you actually think of him as a player if you've got the time.
I will have a look if I get a chance. And maybe I should have taken my own advice and put a grin on the post to denote the humour. I usually do but the darn smileys take forever to pop up since they upgraded and I lose patience.
I have watched us play for over 50 years and am still yet to really notice the other team are out there. Except if an opposition player does something exceptionally good or dirty.
Its all about Carlton. Totally unashamedly one eyed I am while the game is on.
So while I would have seen Martin when we played them assuming he played I just didn't notice.

It's come from a person who has a connection at the club.

It's makes sense to me.
Just to confirm, Catfish as the bluemour didn't actually say Levi to Suns... you mean Martin > Carlton and Levi > Suns?

Was cheering Levi on at the weekend more than justabout any player. I'm so stoked for the guy - heart of gold and copped more shit than anyone on our list over his time. If he gets a good contract as a reward - with us or the Suns or another, I'm wrapped for him and the family. Will always be a bagger.

Also love the Martin talk - worth our future first and will make us a better side. Guys with his skills are tough to find and would compliment Cripps, Walsh, Ed, Dow on the outside. Has been said above, but he's been stifled doing too much up here on the Coast and will flourish with less inside responsibility.

If we walked away from trade period with Martin and Papley - we'd be nearly set. Still need a good small defender and TDK to come on (Kreuz replacement) but otherwise I'd expect us to rise to top 8 with aplomb next year.

And for the bulk of his Carrier he had to carry the forward line and having to deal with the best defender and being Triple teamed. He goal kicking was all nerve related as his field kicking was not of the same standard. Now obviously given more freedom in regards to not having to stick to rigid rules and the fact that we have other dangerous toys that need attention in our forward line.

Don't you just hate auto correct?