Welcome to the AFC James Sellar!!!

Well apparently he had a mild case of glandular fever during the year which was the reason his form dipped. Why he slipped, I don't really know but I am glad he did. Maybe his form in the championships was the reason he slipped all the way to 14. Maybe its the question whether or not he can be a genuine KPP.

This thing about him not interviewing well is an odd one because last week James Fantasia on 5AA said Sellar is a teriffic kid that interviewed very well and had some great leadership qualities.

He is a genuine bottom age player so for people to expect him not only to play SANFL seniors but dominate there is too big an ask. Fair enough if he was a midfielder but he is a KPP.

Also I think we had a bit of an insight into Sellar as he trained with us for a week as part of the AIS/AFL Academy scholarship. We would have found out a fair bit about the lad then I would have thought.

I am pretty optimistic about our picks.

Well Sellar is very similar to Mitch Clark (he's at Brisbane and was picked up last year with pick 9 and he's a gun) in a way I guess. Both were great volleyballers who chose footy instead. Both could play ruck and KPP roles (Clark was more of a forwad I think in juniors).Both won the Kevin Sheehan Medal which is the U16 medal. Both were touted as number 1 pick possiblitites. Both slid. Both areoudn the same height and build when drafted, Clark was jsut a tad taller, both around the same weight. Both are great athletes. Both had average Carnivals. Clark was also rumoured to have attitude problems. Sounds very very similar to Clark.

Yeah it was amazing, he was touted as the next Joe Montanna in his sophmore year, apparently the 49ers moved heaven and earth to try and get him to not do his senior year because they had the first pick. He ignored the draft and did his senior year and didnt do so well and dropped down a few spots and was eventually picked by the Cardinals.

but it was known that he only about 2 potential slots he might go in, if he didn't go early he was going to slide...

the great thing is that he is tearing it up for arizona.

seems plenty of parallels with Mr Sellar.

though if I was choco, I'd not want to risk someone who really doesn't keen on your club.

This thing about him not interviewing well is an odd one because last week James Fantasia on 5AA said Sellar is a teriffic kid that interviewed very well and had some great leadership qualities.

Not too many ''interview well'' with Mark Williams

He is a genuine bottom age player so for people to expect him not only to play SANFL seniors but dominate there is too big an ask. Fair enough if he was a midfielder but he is a KPP.

Maybe those clubs who let him slide wanted ready made players for 2007 and not 2008...gotta keep the sponsors and supporters happy I guess

Does this draft fit in with your ''tank theory'' stiffy?

Sellar lands in Adelaide's lap
5:14:24 PM Sat 25 November, 2006
Jason Phelan
Sportal for afl.com.au

Sellar had been talked of as a possible top-four pick earlier in the year before an illness affected both his weight and form and Fantasia could not hide his delight at having the 195-centimetre forward unexpectedly land in his lap.

"For us it was the first surprise of the day, he ticks all the right boxes," Fantasia said from Telstra Dome.

"He's a key forward, he's a 17-year-old with massive development potential, he's already played at senior level, he's got great leadership and character, he's just a quality young man and him being a homeboy as well makes it very nice.

"I never thought five or six months ago that we'd even get close to him given how our team was traveling and how he was traveling it just looked like he was a lay down misere for a top-five spot.

All of Adelaide's draft class of 2006 would be in with a shot at senior selection next season according to Fantasia.

"I think they'd all be able to push up at some stage, I think that's one of Neil's great strengths," he said.

"He won't put any limitations on any of those young men, so if they come in and can handle the level, he'll play them."

it's difficult to read that and not get a semi.......:thumbsu:

mojo31 said:
5) James Sellar

Ruck/Key forward

195cms and 86kgs
24/3/89
Glenelg

South Australian player who was named best player at the U16 Championships.
Very smooth and moves like a key position player. Very high work rate and involves himself in the play. Contests well around the ground and is capable of playing a key position up forward. Good skills and does not any of the awkwardness of most ruckmen in dropping the ball from hand to foot.
Plays like a ruck but moves like a key position. Athletic and is in good in contested situations. Has a fine touch by hand in directing the ball down in the ruck and a good awareness of how to use his body and where to deliver to his midfielders.

Wiry frame, not bulky but quite strong and should not have problems putting on weight. Big leap, good speed and a natural athlete. Does not lack aggression and hardness at the ball. Pretty reasonable below his feet. The complete package.
He directs his taps well to his midfielders and you can see he is natural with what he is doing. Capable of doing it with either hand and also something that a lot of ruck cannot do in winning his own ball on the ground. Tapping it down and recovering quickly and roving it and getting a quick handball off.

The worry will be his height. Will he grow the 3 or 4 cms he needs to be a full time ruck at AFL level or stay at that in between size he is now. If he does grow a lot then he moves right up onto number 1 contention. He could make it as a key position forward if he does not as he is athletic enough but prefer him in the ruck roaming around the ground. The new ruck rules seem to be favouring the giants and has to be a question mark on Sellar that will not be resolved until draft camp and official testing.

If he does grow to close to 2 meters then Sellar is looking at a more physical and athletic version of Josh Fraser. Better in contested situations and a more robust body and having more speed. Likely be able to handle the rigours of AFL better than Fraser has so far in his career.
I believe his rating will be determined by the draft camp results on his height and reach. I don’t think he will slip out of the top 5 but whether he goes at 5 or 1 will be determined by how much he grows. As a ruck you could not hope for anyone more athletic who can also play tall and take a big mark and read the play.

grain of salt of course, but sounds interesting

Sounds very promising.:thumbsu: The "better than Josh Fraser" comments are intriguing. I have always thought Fraser would make an outstanding PERMANENT forward. Maybe the fact Sellar is too small to be an AFL ruckman ( 195cm ), removes any indecision on our part. Means he won't have to try and juggle two roles.

I dont think there will be too much of an attitude problem now, having gone too his club of choice, if there was one at all.

Remember alot of very good players can slip down due to the phenomenal srength of the Mega Draft

Sounds very promising.:thumbsu: The "better than Josh Fraser" comments are intriguing. I have always thought Fraser would make an outstanding PERMANENT forward. Maybe the fact Sellar is too small to be an AFL ruckman ( 195cm ), removes any indecision on our part. Means he won't have to try and juggle two roles.

he may be a touch small to be a permanent ruckman, but he'd still be very handy around the ground. His draft results for vertical leap were impressive - despite him not being in top shape for most of the year.

I've been doing plenty of reading about Sellar over the past few hours and I've read some reports that he's a little taller than 195cm now. But regardless of whether he's grown maybe it won't matter; I mean Jeff White is only 195cm.

But do we really need him to be a ruckman? We potentially have Meesen and Maric as the cornerstone of the ruck division for the next decade. If Seller has grown a little then great, he can play as a ruckman if need be, but if not he’s still going to be a great CHF.

Man I'm over the moon with this selection! :D :thumbsu:

I think he wanted to play for Adelaide and if not, his second Choice was also Adelaide.

This may have detered alot of clubs. I've heard he is a pretty nutso Crows fan

The bottom line is that in virtually every mock/phantom draft published, Sellar was in the top 10 and in alot of cases top 6.

I feel that this might end up being one of the Crows' finest lucky moments of all-time. :thumbsu:

Sellar probably won't grow much... I doubt he'll be a ruckman. Jeff White is about the same height but against the taller and better ruckman he struggles. Against Sandilands he got KILLED. Groom Sellar for CHF. Tippet for FF/Ruck. Sellar can ruck part time if needed. So basically we have Griffin, Meesen, Maric, Tippet and Sellar as youngsters who can ruck. Pretty good spine there.

A mate of mine played in the U/16 Championships last year and I asked him what he thought of Gibbs. His reply was, “Sellar is better”.

This coming from a guy who played with them both. Obviously Sellar didn’t quite come on an expected this year and the illness really set him back, and Gibbs really took his game to another level, but I could not be happier with this pick.

Craig said that we recruited Sellar as a key forward. We rated him top 10 and thought that Port is a good chance of picking him up.

He won't be asked to play in the ruck unless we are savaged with injuries in our ruck department.

He will be groomed and developed as a key forward as will Tippett. We have Meesen and Maric to take care of the ruck and now we have Sellar and Tippett to take care of teh key forward roles.

If Gill works out as well as the 2 youngsters you have potentially good 3 tall forwards which would allow us to play Hentschel in defence to give us 3 excellent tall defenders as well.

If Sellar pans out as expected, we will finally get a key forward we have been crying out for. He is rated super highly at the Crows and some people at Glenelg really rate his game breaking ability.

Eagerly awaiting the Adelaide vs Norwood game. Sellar in an AFC guernsey, it's what wet dreams are made of. 17 years without a proper CHF, and finally we have one, and god damn he's good. Prepare for the summit boys...

Lets not get too carried away

I thought Klug was ok....just got injured at the wrong time

Lets not get too carried away

I thought Klug was ok....just got injured at the wrong time
I'll try not too, but it's so hard. Klug was great, but barely played, same for Stevo, great player, just injured too often. Sellar is a career player, and a reckon it's gonna be a bloody awesome career.