Multiplat AFL Evolution 2

I’ve just bought the game, and menu screen has been like this for a few hours. The only teams I can play as are Richmond and GWS. Is this normal?View attachment 855435

How do you check if it’s still installing. According to my screen it’s downloaded but I still only have access to the Exhibition Game and Training.

After a solid roughly day/night playing I've had a pretty good look at it now. There's bits I like but there's a fair bit I don't.

Was even up at 2am running around for Dandenong like a spud (why can't you play WAFL colts?)

Think its about time I switched over to online now and actually played some other campaigners.

Right after I put pants on.

For me, I've played every game since the NES days. Some have been randomly fun (I recall AFL99 on the Dreamcast being insanely fun compared to other platforms), some have been amazing first steps (AFL Live was this, but it did hit a ceiling in terms of challenge and was low customisation, but that would have evolved).

I would put Evo2 as perhaps the game we should have got following AFL Live. Now, that's not to say it's better. It plays a bit different to AFL Live. But it's definitely feels, effort wise, like it's solid gameplay AND customisation. I just downloaded WA, SA, NSW, Qld and Tassie state of origin sides that people have created. It already has WAFL and SANFL (among other leagues, yeah I know the players are fake, but we can customise). This is the customisation that I, personally, have been dreaming of. All the career/coach stuff that others enjoy, isn't my bag. I've been dreaming of a game where I can play with this amount of flexibility to just make it more than an AFL game.

Now, if they can improve even more on this aspect, I'd be like a pig in shit. Give us classic season fixtures or the ability to set our own (I see the fixture options are 2020 or random... you wouldn't think it would be hard to program in older fixtures). Imagine creating your own, let's say 1982 season. With the customisation of players, someone would be insane enough to make the teams. Well, maybe.

I had a flick through the created players and teams. Already a lot of classic players created, which is awesome. Not sure why people want to share their stupid creations, but that's par for the course with any community creation aspect. But the cool thing is, people can get really creative (eg. WWE 2k19 has some insane custom characters, it's hilarious to have Royal Rumbles with Ace Ventura, Darth Vader, Donald Trump type creations, let along the massive amount of classic wrestlers people make). I do understand we're not gonna see those type of characters in this game, and tbh, I don't care to, they suit WWE more, but being able to make classic players = winning.

I'm glad I've bought this game (didn't buy Evo1, it really didn't impress me) and I hope people can keep an open mind and really explore this game to make it suit their needs, instead of just pick up and play and then rate. Sure, it should be fun out of the box. And for me, it kinda is, especially with a friend. AI is fairly easy to beat (I notice as soon as you get on top, you run away with it) but hopefully, as others have noted, the sliders can sort this out and you can really customise a terrific game that that expands on the simple experience of playing an AFL game.

They may have had a decade to get to this point, but given our market, I feel this is a great game and if they can only improve it from here, this is huge for all of us who crave our favourite sport as gamers.

Just had kayne turner (somehow still manages to get a game even though I continue to drop him) in the ruck, with Todd Goldstein roving...

BigAntStudios you almost sound bitter with your analysis. AFL Live certainly wasn’t flawless just as Evo 2 isnt however considering how bad other footy games have been, this is certainly a ‘kick’ in the right direction.
AFL live wasn’t flawless but that was made almost ten years ago. AFL evolution 2 is the first game since that the majority deem an upgrade. I think bitterness is fair from them.

No one's been more bitter on here than you.

dPTi1wp.png
7c568815-6d50-4570-ad15-adcbcbb63901

So I played Carlton just before, fair to say I slaughtered them and have a good handle of the game now. It's a lot more free flowing which has it's benefits (when YOU are the one doing the attacking) but it's frustrating when you time a mark properly, still lose the contest and watch the ball zip down to the other end (which is a lot faster than Evolution 1 - even with the acceleration on 0 in the options!!!).

It was a tough contest in the first quarter, but I smashed them in the second, third and fourth.

I didn't actually say anything about the game other than it speaks for itself... if people think that's negative then that also speaks volumes.

Given that we are foundation sponsors of the AFLW, Carlton, and many of us go to the footy each week (including with people from here on BF), all of that regardless of not having a content based relationship, shows that we have passion for the sport that goes well beyond the business of it. We are hardcore fans.

Ha. Just kicked to a player who I thought was making a lead. Turns out he was sprinting to the bench and had no intention of getting the ball and it goes right through him and his opponent and out for a throw in.

Anyone else really cringing at BigAnt commenting on this game. Seems really off. Not comparing the two at all, but jesus that is unprofessional and cringe worthy.
To be honest - no issue with parties making comments. Just don’t post ambiguous statements and interpretation is the fault of the reader.

Ha. Just kicked to a player who I thought was making a lead. Turns out he was sprinting to the bench and had no intention of getting the ball and it goes right through him and his opponent and out for a throw in.
Yeah noticed this. If they’re going off, they’re going off... not even going to look at the nearby footy...
I think the R1 (player lock) could also lock onto my bench players...

AFL Live came out nearly 10 years ago. It was made for last-gen tech. It says a lot that it is still the comparison point for contemporary AFL games.
I feel like the only people comparing this one to AFL Live are the ones that overstate how good that game was. Absolutely no way in my mind that game is the benchmark for afl video games.

I am 99% sure I'll be fine to play this on playstation plus even though that's on my American account. Will report back...
Normally fine... but at the moment, with it not released in the USA yet...could be a problem.
I tried SharePlay with a mate in New York, and it said that’s not possible while it hasn’t been released in his region yet.

The switching is clear on side to side far, but Im still messing arund with cameras.
Best Camera: Play Direction

Let’s you play kinda side on, but slightly angled in the direction of the in-possession team’s goals to see leads up the ground.
(‘Dynamic’ angles in direction of goals that the ball is in, which sucks coming out of defence)

On ‘Play Direction’, I go with:
Distance: Far
Zoom: 55
Height: 55
And so it’s not too disorienting,
Rotation Speed: 30
Movement Speed: 30

Multiplat AFL Evolution 2