Past #50: Ben Brown - Traded to Melbourne with 2020 #28 + 2021 R4 for 2020 #26 #33 + 2021 R4(Bris) - 130 gms / 287 gls - thanks Ben

Is that what happened tho? I dunno.

Look you're a mod so you deserve some explanation. Part of what motivated me to type that (instead of sitting here thinking it and being silent like I have for a while) was all the posts basically hanging sh*t on Brown and almost gloating over the fact that "he f’ed up", he gambled and lost etc etc. I'd been thinking that for a few days on and off.

The whole situation is f’ed, especially if the 500k offer is true, and will cost us in terms of players or draft picks.

If I was in his position I'd want some serious revenge.

I'm not saying the club caused what happened. These things are too complex And i don't know enough about what happened but I can see that it could be very easy for Brown to be thinking "fu** North, pack of backstabbing campaigners" while everyone here is banging on about how smart and ruthless we are.

Anyway if you feel you need to delete the post or whatever I understand.

Not at all, I think anybody that posts within the rules should be able to say what they like. Only you should delete the post if you think it's wrong.

FWIW I'm only going of what the Browns have said. Hester posted in Instagram it was a vanished twin, that she only knew it was there from a dream and had it confirmed in their first ultrasound (an ultrasound delayed by some moving about but that shouldn't be mistaken as a cause). Vanishing twins are genetic abnormalities and occur about 30% of the time. They just happen, they are unpreventable.

As far as revenge, we won't agree and that's fine too. He got an offer, they wanted an extra year and we didn't want to give a 31 year old 850k at the end of the deal (as rumoured). How could he want revenge? We didn't create coronavirus, we didn't take the crowds away from the four games he played at Marvel. We didn't force ourselves to go to a hub for the remainder. We didn't make it harder for him to score goals. We didn't produce his 2020 output. We didn't injure his knee.

The problem with the state of the world right now is not only are players at risk, so is the club. We had to fire at least two people from their dreams of being a professional footballer simply because we will be forced to reduce not only our squad numbers but also our salary cap (multiply this by 18, league wide). We're also in a tricky situation because the one guy we had as our franchise player, our money man, turned out one of the worst seasons you could ever see by a spearhead and he did it in a year he had his hand out. The problem with that for Ben is that money he wanted, was offered in early 2020 is not only no longer justified, it's damaging to our entire clubs salary cap. The only options we have is to compensate him accordingly or perhaps even more appropriately, assess whether as a club that finished 17th if we want to give a hefty contract to somebody that just had a season like Ben did. I get the people that say it was a compromised season for him but isn't there just as much chance this is his new normal than his gap season?

The problem is this - he's our player now but we deserve the discount on him if he's become a risk. And that is on him... if he'd scored 25 goals this year this thread would be dead quiet. Ben is a lovely man, I completely get the people that support him but at the same time he's there to score goals, he didn't and he's been re-assessed. None of us would go to our place of employment and expect security for not doing our job as expected, especially not today.

Anyhoo, this was long winded and I did the same last night. Too much wine. Don't feel bad for supporting your player. None of us really know anything and all of us come from the same place, love for North. If it happens as forecast though all we can do is hope we get the best out of it. We won't know if it worked for a couple of years.

Cheers.

Honestly tho he's not my player anymore.

What I said about crims at war... If that was the case I wouldn't be on his side.

I just did an online I Ching reading with the question:

What happened with North Melbourne and Ben Brown during the 2020 hub season?

Haven't done that since the first Josh Kelly saga. Essentially that was right on the money too. It's answer was wtte of "No he ain't coming, but trust me that is a good thing."

Anyway...

Hexagram 23. Po.

Lines 4 and 6 were moving so it turns into Hexagram 16.

I would have actually bet money on it being Hex 23.

It's translated as "splitting apart" but it would be as accurate to say: "Look out everything has gone to shit."

I just did an online I Ching reading with the question:

What happened with North Melbourne and Ben Brown during the 2020 hub season?

Haven't done that since the first Josh Kelly saga. Essentially that was right on the money too. It's answer was wtte of "No he ain't coming, but trust me that is a good thing."

Anyway...

Hexagram 23. Po.

Lines 4 and 6 were moving so it turns into Hexagram 16.

I would have actually bet money on it being Hex 23.

It's translated as "splitting apart" but it would be as accurate to say: "Look out everything has gone to sh*t."

Woah woah woah.

Ferb, you can read the I Ching and do hexagonal line readings? How'd you learn to this? I've heard its actually quite remarkable. The I Ching has been on my reading list for a while ever since I read the Tao Te Ching.

What we get for Brown + what we do with it will be my berometer of what is going on at North...

heck this up and then....I lose faith in Brady, Archer and Buckley....

Can't have a coach walk with mental health issues, lose a guy who averaged 60+ goals a year for the past 3 years, Higgins, assistant coaches.....and poor trading at the same time......that would be a reflection of chaos to me...not a rebuild.

Can't have a coach walk with mental health issues

How do you know that Rhyce has mental health issues? Has this been released somewhere?

It's completely his fault, and his managers.

Asking for 4 years at his age, with his issues, was pure greed. They were looking after their own back pocket. He might well be North through and through, and he got f***ed by circumstance but when you're negotiating you play your own risk when you say no.

Let's stop blaming covid, or anything else exterior. He walked on the field for 8 full games and played below average. He had 8 chances to prove he deserved even the original deal and he failed at every moment. 18 teams had players go out and handle it, so he's either mentally weak or he wasn't good enough but if we rewarded that individual season, after the team season we had then f*** me, we'd be raked over the coals deservedly.

End of the day I'd love something to work out and Brown to be in the royal blue and white next season.

Yet none of this is on the club though, Brown can be unhappy about how it unfolded but when you're offered north of $2.2m over 3 years and you still try to bend the club over the barrel for a few more $$$ you risk the club moving to a Plan B.

End of the day I'd love something to work out and Brown to be in the royal blue and white next season.

Yet none of this is on the club though, Brown can be unhappy about how it unfolded but when you're offered north of $2.2m over 3 years and you still try to bend the club over the barrel for a few more $$$ you risk the club moving to a Plan B.

This whole situation does my head in because I don't have all the parts to the equation and it makes no sense to me.

at a high level we are taking our premier forward and flogging him off for less than he is worth(IMO) to us. because we had issues in Queensland in a situation we are never likely to face again and his manager was a dick in a long line of managers being dicks, with Ben not taking what he should have when he should have.

As a list management decision this feels ego driven. cut our nose off to spite our face.

It'll be fun having Ben Brown kicking goals elsewhere, because he will, while we are watching us butcher kicks on the 45 and not be able to deliver it inside 50 cleanly to save ourselves.

I am yet to have faith in Brady in his current capacity and this is a pretty rocky way to start off.

To me there is still something underlying that's lead to where we are now with BBB.

What it is I don't know.

Did Rama shop BBB to * or someone else which meant the offer on the table was pulled?

Are there other issues at play to do with the hub or other personal things?

Are there major concerns re injury that has diminished his value?

I've been a huge BBB fan and am disappointed we are where we are now but it's never been the North way to just can a decent player without good reason and I can't see that way of dealing with players just thrown out.

To me there is still something underlying that's lead to where we are now with BBB.

What it is I don't know.

Did Rama shop BBB to * or someone else which meant the offer on the table was pulled?

I've been a huge BBB fan and am disappointed we are where we are now but it's never been the North way to just can a decent player without good reason and I can't see that way of dealing with players just thrown out.

Maybe football wasn't everything for Ben?

In response to Shaw's situation.

"AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan says mental health is “the biggest issue in our game”.....

People are making a lot of unsupported assumptions.

There is no published information that I can find that formally correlates Rhyce to "mental health issues" that arose from coaching the NMFC, in fact there is some information of the contrary:

1603318238704.png

"I don't think coaching necessarily was the cause of what ended up happening, clearly Rhyce Shaw has struggled this year Ross................"

People are making a lot of unsupported assumptions.

There is no published information that I can find that formally correlates Rhyce to "mental health issues" that arose from coaching the NMFC, in fact there is some information of the contrary:

View attachment 991473

I don't think coaching necessarily was the cause of what ended up happening, clearly Rhyce Shaw has struggled this year Ross................"

See where you're coming from but it's probably near the pin. The club and individual aren't going to cloak the situation in secrecy if he's broken his ankle or tending to fairly mundane side issues.

You know very well that the media have attempted to paint Rhyce's current situation with a toxic footy environment at North, and there is ZERO to back that up in the public arena.

So......if the club has given Rhyce space for "personal reasons" that are not coaching related, then the NMFC has exhibited that it is a decent and caring employer.

All I would add to that is if you read this stuff Rhyce, then get up off the mat and get back in the ring mate. You come from a long line of fighters.

You know very well that the media have attempted to paint Rhyce's current situation with a toxic footy environment at North, and there is ZERO to back that up in the public arena.

So......if the club has given Rhyce space for "personal reasons" that are not coaching related, then the NMFC has exhibited that it is a decent and caring employer.

All I would add to that is if you read this stuff Rhyce, then get up off the mat and get back in the ring mate. You come from a long line of fighters.

Oh agree with all of that, I'm not considering the NMFC as culpable based on what we know.

Nah mate. I reckon some of the plodders on our list got to him.

Tbh, a lot of us North supporters have some sort of anxiety disorders too based on the garbage we've had to put up with over the years.

Don't need a sky drawing to know that Rhyce has some mental health issues to work though.....

Tough bloke, I have faith that with some time and perspective he'll be back as an assistant at North ...

What it is I don't know.

for me the equation is something like

Ben Brown injury and poor form + hub covid nonsense + manager issues + the club taking a stronger stance + ??? + maybe another ??? = us saying GTFO and never come back and we will take less than you're worth to facilitate it.

the bits where we don't know must be huge to equate to where we are, because I honestly think we should be able to get past the bits we do if we're looking at unders.

Don't need a sky drawing to know that Rhyce has some mental health issues to work though.....

Based on what? Tea leaves? Vibes?