List Mgmt. Contracts. Trades. Draft. Other Assorted Crap. 2020 Edition

Miguel I watched him closely in the championships and it was his footy IQ that I was attracted to.
He knows where to be and with ball in hands he found his team mates.

He is not overly athletic, nor is he quick.
But as a junior one thing he did consistently well, was win the clearances and then link up mostly by hand with team mates on the outside.
Also has a very accurate foot.

His lack of pace is IMO why Geelong are moving him on, they are a slow side themselves and need to improve in that area, thats why they are all most certain to land Missy Higgins and are aggressively chasing Issac Smith.

List spots at Geelong are very tight and there will be casualties in the move to land Cameron, Higgins and Smith.

I think CC will end up at Hawthorne who chased him hard last year, to no avail.

I think he will end up playing a bit like another former Hawk: Brad Sewell.

Last thing Hawks need is another slow mid next to Mitchell and Worpel imo

Tell that to Graeme Wright who tried to get CC to Hawthorn last year.
Not our problem.

However we do have a problem with not winning enough contested ball at stoppages and clearances in general.
CC may not be the answer, however if we don't improve in that part of our game in 2021... expect similar results and ladder finish.
A fit Yeo will help in this area ,but he cant do it all alone, we are going to need help from somewhere in this aspect of the game.

I suspect it's because these big bodied mids are considered too inflexible to play the flanker roles their coaches want them to play and so can't guarantee the player they will get the game time they demand.

One thing that sets Constable apart from the Colledge/Allen comparison is that he can quite clearly find the footy, even when he's being forced to play HBF, which is something that none of our young mids have been able to do since Sheed basically.

Constable has only averaged 66% game time across the 9 games he's played, but has still averaged almost 21 disposals a game. Scale that up to the ~75% game time that guys like Ainsworth have averaged, and he Constable's stats look more like 24 disposals, 10 contested possessions, 4 tackles per game. It's only a nine game sample size, but clearly he can get the footy. He was also getting 30+ touches a game in his first year in the VFL.

Not a superstar and wouldn't pay more than a late second rounder but he would have to be a better option than Ainsworth based purely on stats alone.

It's moot anyway as he'll be offered spots at other Vic clubs so hard to see why he would consider coming to WC.

Patrick Cripps is keen to be at Wce is what I hear .. Wants to play with his cousin Jamie..

As much as that would be great, it will never happen.

50694.jpg

Tell that to Graeme Wright who tried to get CC to Hawthorn last year.
Not our problem.

However we do have a problem with not winning enough contested ball at stoppages and clearances in general.
CC may not be the answer, however if we don't improve in that part of our game in 2021... expect similar results and ladder finish.
A fit Yeo will help in this area ,but he cant do it all alone, we are going to need help from somewhere in this aspect of the game.

We were 4th/5th best in the league (tie for 4th @ average 31.7 per game) for clearances. The quality of our clearances (hack kicks around the corner) was a definite concern - but we don't have an issue in winning the clearances so much.

We were 15th for contested possessions (average 114.6 - hawks were last at 110 - leader was port at 126. Funnily/strangely Richmond were just above us at 116).

Contested possessions have been an issue for a while (noting that we were also the leading contested mark team - and they show up as CP's so we are really quite terrible when the ball is in dispute on the ground). As are I50's (we were 14th/15th on that).

Tackling is also a problem (17th, if that is a surprise to anyone!) - was interesting that Richmond are only mid-table for tackle averages - I thought they would top that easily!

Miguel I watched him closely in the championships and it was his footy IQ that I was attracted to.
He knows where to be and with ball in hands he found his team mates.

He is not overly athletic, nor is he quick.
But as a junior one thing he did consistently well, was win the clearances and then link up mostly by hand with team mates on the outside.
Also has a very accurate foot.

His lack of pace is IMO why Geelong are moving him on, they are a slow side themselves and need to improve in that area, thats why they are all most certain to land Missy Higgins and are aggressively chasing Issac Smith.

List spots at Geelong are very tight and there will be casualties in the move to land Cameron, Higgins and Smith.

I think CC will end up at Hawthorn who chased him hard last year, to no avail.

I think he will end up playing a bit like another former Hawk: Brad Sewell.

Yeah, I thought Constables lack of pace and agility were the problem

We just delisted Brayshaw for probably those exact issues

Luke English delisted by Richmond

Any interest?
Was the WA colts F&B Jack Clarke medallist a few years ago . VanIrsen this year probably a late round pick if any at all .
The Great Adam Cockie probably the most famous /successful Jack Clarke medallist . I guess I am saying The Jack Clarke medal doesnt guarantee an afl career

What are the 3 'left field' trades the Eagles should make?

I'm not paying to read something from the West.
Call Ellis-Yolman, Will Minson and Edwards

Filthy tease!

I heard Josh keen to play with his Brother Tim Kelly this year at Eagles

What are the 3 'left field' trades the Eagles should make?

I'm not paying to read something from the West.
Wise man.

Brander for Jordan Clark, Vardy and pick 49 for Sydney picks 22 and 52, and Vardy for Langdon.

Our midfield isn’t the quickest going around either.

I reckon Essendon would be a great fit for Constable, they need a bigger body to farm the ball out to their smaller quicker players. They should be all over him.

Plus as a neutral, imagine how fantastic a Wells-Dodoro trade negotiation would be.

Wise man.

Brander for Jordan Clark, Vardy and pick 49 for Sydney picks 22 and 52, and Vardy for Langdon.
Thanks mate.

They don't seem overly left field. Thanks, West...