Opinion Is Jack Macrae Overrated?

Stat merchant extraordinaire plays on the wing and collects easy disposals.

Zero accountability from opposition taggers which in turn may allude to the fact that the other clubs don't rate him as a dangerous footballer that needs to be stopped.

Supercoach/fantasy footy doesn't = reality.
You've literally described the captain of your football club. Your club, your coach and team mates are more than happy to let him play that role every week as the Captain. The face of the club. The ****ing face of the club. Doesn't show leadership playing sheep dog football every week. Take a look in your own backyard before posting champ.

Some very short memories in here and a few pea brains have used the opportunity to stick the knives in after his first average game in a long time. :drunk:

Ultra consistent who any team would jump at the chance to have.
He is a very good player.

But it's ironic because everyone in the media keeps telling us how under rated he is. How he's the world's best kept secret.

This actually makes him over-rated. They never stop banging on about how under-rated he is.

An under-rated bloke never gets talked about.

The reality is the Dogs are media darlings.

Dogs fans and the Melbourne media can't stop telling us how brilliant they are.

The reality is, besides 4 weeks in 2016, they always lose to top 4 sides.

What's the stats?

If I was building a side from scratch he wouldn't be in my top 50.

Really.

As other have said he is a very good player (AA standardish) but not in contention for the best player going around. Every side would like a player like him, gets a lot of the ball and uses it well, does it consistently from week to week.

I'd go against the grain and say he is one of the best mids in the comp. Probably on the rung below the Dusty's of the competition.

His hands are some of the best I have seen, always seems to hit a target by hand. He is just prolific and racks them up consistently, rarely has a bad night. Also his disposal by foot seems to be pretty spot on. He could probably kick more goals but you could say that about 90% of midfielders in the league.

One of my favourite non Suns players to watch, but that just might be me.

Stat merchant extraordinaire plays on the wing and collects easy disposals.

Zero accountability from opposition taggers which in turn may allude to the fact that the other clubs don't rate him as a dangerous footballer that needs to be stopped.

Supercoach/fantasy footy doesn't = reality.

1. Was tagged when Bont was out in 2018 - is considered their 2nd best mid and has probably been their best this year
2. Has 2 AA jackets already - more than all of your mids combined
3. Is lethal by foot - one of the best disposers of the ball in the comp
4. Plays as an inside mid - not on a wing
5. Is leagues better than every single player on your VFL standard list

Enjoy hell on Sunday - Demons and your old mate Brown will beat you so bad you may actually be the first team in history to end up with negative percentage.

:)

Really.

As other have said he is a very good player (AA standardish) but not in contention for the best player going around. Every side would like a player like him, gets a lot of the ball and uses it well, does it consistently from week to week.

Reminds me of Duncan for us - a lot of the same attributes

Not at all in my opinion. He’s a fantastic player and I still would like him in our side. Didn’t have a great night last night but I think non-Bulldogs supporters would remember him torching their team at least once in the past.

1. Was tagged when Bont was out in 2018 - is considered their 2nd best mid and has probably been their best this year
2. Has 2 AA jackets already - more than all of your mids combined
3. Is lethal by foot - one of the best disposers of the ball in the comp
4. Plays as an inside mid - not on a wing
5. Is leagues better than every single player on your VFL standard list

Enjoy hell on Sunday - Demons and your old mate Brown will beat you so bad you may actually be the first team in history to end up with negative percentage.

:)
Wow. You seem a bit emotionally invested here lol

He's a good player but he is overrated a touch

To anyone who says he has no impact, I'd beg to differ. He's top 10 in both goal assists, score involvements and total clearances. One bad game and someone is digging into him with claims that fall apart almost instantly.

You've literally described the captain of your football club. Your club, your coach and team mates are more than happy to let him play that role every week as the Captain. The face of the club. The ******* face of the club. Doesn't show leadership playing sheep dog football every week. Take a look in your own backyard before posting champ.

Holy shit are you obsessed with him? What did he do to hurt you?

Also lol at the people who use 'your club (which you have 0 influence on) is shit so my point is correct' as an argument

Wow. You seem a bit emotionally invested here lol

He's a good player but he is overrated a touch

Not at all. Just replying with the venom the loser trolling poster, and this dumb thread deserves.

He's also my 2nd favourite player, so that doesn't help the cause. He isn't overrated at all, if anything, he's underrated - given what's been posted in this thread/how many people actually don't even know what role he plays, lol.

Most people have him in their Top 10 mids on the 'Best Mids' thread, so that should tell you a lot too - if him being named twice as AA in the last 3 years doesn't.

AA wingman last year. Are you saying Darcy doesnt football?

So was Cam Guthrie, yet I'm pretty sure he lined up there twice the whole year. Tim Kelly the year before etc. Wingers are not wingers, lol - I'm sure Luke Darcy didn't help with that sentiment, given he probably can't even properly dress himself each day the way he commentates :tearsofjoy:

Btw, relevant:

"Luke Darcy has resigned as an AFL All-Australian selector after he took on a role as a director of the Western Bulldogs."

How highly is he rated?
He definitely scores higher in SuperCoach/fantasy than he's really worth on field. But I don't see people really using that to judge him as a player - otherwise people would talk about him like he's in the absolute elite. I haven't seen that. He's definitely rated at least a rung below Bontempelli in that bulldogs midfield, and I reckon that's about right.

You've literally described the captain of your football club. Your club, your coach and team mates are more than happy to let him play that role every week as the Captain. The face of the club. The ******* face of the club. Doesn't show leadership playing sheep dog football every week. Take a look in your own backyard before posting champ.

Your vitriol over Jack Ziebell never fails to make me laugh. You even hit him with the "champ" at the end! Thanks mate, keep up the good work.

Very, very good player, I reckon Richmond might have put a bit of extra work into him last night, never seemed to have room to work at times with multiple Tiges around him and no wonder since Bont burnt his team mates all night so wasn't a threat.

Yeah, for most of this season he has been able to get free as the opposition is focusing on the other mids. Richmond handled him well.

Opinion Is Jack Macrae Overrated?