Analysis Top five midfielders in the game right now

May 11, 2019
Forget previous seasons with points in the bank and focusing on this year.

The more strings to ones bow the better the midfielder in my opinion.

Bont - accumulate, score, best long range kick in the game, best mid offensively
Steele - accumulate, tackle, immune to spudness, very clean disposal at the coalface and around the ground
Parish - Disposal machine that doesn't stop, contested ball king, good disposal, carrying his side to some degree, doesn't stat pad unlike some
Walsh - Carrying his sides midfield, accumulates, tackles, covers the ground like a boss, sets up play after play, brownlow is a matter of when, not if
Dunkley - Was the best mid around till he did his shoulder in my opinion.

This list need adjusting? Am i biased with Steele? Dunkley no way you say? Shoot then....

For season 21 only this far

Bont number 1, Oliver number 2

Then there is a fair gap to a chasing pack of about 8-10

Forget previous seasons with points in the bank and focusing on this year.

The more strings to ones bow the better the midfielder in my opinion.

Bont - accumulate, score, best long range kick in the game, best mid offensively
Steele - accumulate, tackle, immune to spudness, very clean disposal at the coalface and around the ground
Parish - Disposal machine that doesn't stop, contested ball king, good disposal, carrying his side to some degree, doesn't stat pad unlike some
Walsh - Carrying his sides midfield, accumulates, tackles, covers the ground like a boss, sets up play after play, brownlow is a matter of when, not if
Dunkley - Was the best mid around till he did his shoulder in my opinion.

This list need adjusting? Am i biased with Steele? Dunkley no way you say? Shoot then....
Parish has been great, but has he been tagged once?? You are comparing him to midfielders that have to cope with a tag every single week.

How is he not?
without getting into a shit fight he is no where near Bontempelli and Oliver (who somehow you dont have in your top 5) for starters

Then I would have in no particular order Wines, Parish, Walsh, Macrae, McCluggage & Petracca ahead of him

He would be in the next group with Merrett, Miller, Boak, Martin & Mills

Dunkley has missed too many games to be included imo

Petracca, Oliver, Bont, Macrae, Miller, Wines, Steele, Lyons, McCluggage, Taranto, Parish, Merrett, Walsh

Only two of those guys I’d be taking over Fyfe and Dusty still. Although all of them are better long term investments

without getting into a sh*t fight he is no where near Bontempelli and Oliver (who somehow you dont have in your top 5) for starters

Then I would have in no particular order Wines, Parish, Walsh, Macrae, McCluggage & Petracca ahead of him

He would be in the next group with Merrett, Miller, Boak, Martin & Mills

Dunkley has missed too many games to be included imo

No one said he's better than Bont and I don't want to get in a shit fight alright mate. It's not my top 5 either btw.

He's up there with Wines, Walsh, Macrae, McCluggage, and Petracca I can't see why any are obviously ahead of him? It's pretty close.

For mine, he's the best 2-way midfielder in the game. He's good at the defensive stuff as well as the offensive stuff. A lot of people underrating the tackling and 1% etc..

No one said he's better than Bont and I don't want to get in a sh*t fight alright mate. It's not my top 5 either btw.

He's up there with Wines, Walsh, Macrae, McCluggage, and Petracca I can't see why any are obviously ahead of him? It's pretty close.
yeah I missed that it wasn't your list

Wines would be clearly the third best player of the year and I feel Walsh's season isn't being admired enough. Those two have had clearly better years than Steele

1. Bontempelli
2. Oliver
3. Martin
4. Wines
5. Walsh

I feel as if there's a lot of movement potential with around the 3-10 region that includes other players like Macrae, McCluggage, Petracca, Miller, Cunnington and others.

yeah I missed that it wasn't your list

Wines would be clearly the third best player of the year and I feel Walsh's season isn't being admired enough. Those two have had clearly better years than Steele

My point was more around the fact he should be rated higher so I may be on the defensive a little, he's firmly in contention right now and a few good/bad games by respective players, either way, could swing it.

If I had to make a list he is actually probably 6th if I'm being honest.

Bont
Oliver
Wines
Walsh
Parish
Steel
Miller/Lyons/ Macrae all about the same level.

Bont
Pettracca/Martin
Wines
Oliver/Macrae
Parish/Walsh
Miller/Lyons
Steele

Jeez its hard to do a 5 some real line ball decisions but thats the current tier as I see them.

Bont
Pettracca/Martin
Wines
Oliver/Macrae
Parish/Walsh
Miller/Lyons
Steele

Jeez its hard to do a 5 some real line ball decisions but thats the current tier as I see them.

Are you going off this season or just in general?

I don't think Martin or Pettrecca have been top 3 worthy this year. Both would be a little further down the list.

Bont
Pettracca/Martin
Wines
Oliver/Macrae
Parish/Walsh
Miller/Lyons
Steele

I’d agree with this if we go by their career. Bont is definitely the best still but I’d have Dusty somewhere towards the bottom of that list if it’s on 2021.

lol I got slammed in another thread for saying Parish's disposal needs work. Then on the Sunday footy show they did a segment on Parish's foot skills. lol. I love being right.
There is something inherently wrong with your life for you to want to be proven right about another individuals deficiencies. Yikes.

1. Bontempelli - by far the best footskills of any of the best ball winners in the comp, great mark, defensive efforts

2. Oliver
3. Wines
4. Steele
5. Macrae

Chasing group includes Laird, Lyons, Walsh, Parish, Merrett, Mundy, Guthrie, Miller, Kelly, Petracca, Cunnington, Boak, Martin, Mills & Libba.
Probably to round out my top 10 I'd pick Parish, Mills, Liberatore, Miller and Lyons for 2020l1.

Then the likes of Neale, Adams, Fyfe, Dangerfield and Mitchell have had down seasons but could still return there, and McCluggage, Brayshaw, Hopper, Taranto are also pushing but not quite breaking through.

My point was more around the fact he should be rated higher so I may be on the defensive a little, he's firmly in contention right now and a few good/bad games by respective players, either way, could swing it.

If I had to make a list he is actually probably 6th if I'm being honest.

Bont
Oliver
Wines
Walsh
Parish
Steel
Miller/Lyons/ Macrae all about the same level.
I would probably have him in line with the last 3 but I don't have any issues with the list

I reckon the top 5 are pretty standoutish on this years form only and then there is a mix of other players chasing of which Steele is one

Analysis Top five midfielders in the game right now