Scott Morrison - How Long? Part 5 - The stroll out.

Newspoll: Delta debacle drives Scott Morrison’s ratings to new low
The once-strong support for Scott Morrison’s handling of the coronavirus crisis has almost halved over the course of a year. Picture: Gary Ramage
subscriber-breach-pixel
Scott Morrison’s personal approval ratings have plunged into negative territory and the government faces its worst electoral position since the Black Summer fires amid growing frustration over the vaccine rollout and lockdowns across the three most populous states.
An exclusive Newspoll conducted for The Australian also shows a further erosion of confidence in the federal government’s management of the pandemic as the NSW, Victoria and Queensland state governments battle to stem the spread of the Delta Covid-19 variant.
The once-strong support for Mr Morrison’s handling of the crisis has almost halved over the course of a year from a high of 85 per cent in April last year, during the peak of the first wave, to just 48 per cent in the latest survey.
And for the first time, more people – 49 per cent – claim to be unhappy with the Prime Minister’s management of the pandemic, with clear divisions now established among voters along party lines.

Confidence in the administration of the vaccine rollout also continues to fall despite the release last week of a four-step plan linking vaccination rates to the reopening of the country.
Popular support for the federal Coalition and Labor remains deadlocked at 39 per cent with no movement in the headline numbers for the major parties since the last poll was conducted three weeks ago.

The two-party-preferred split of 53-47 per cent, in Labor’s favour, also remains unchanged as the government faces its worst electoral position since the bushfire crisis of summer 2020.
With almost half the population now under some form of state government-imposed social restriction or lockdown, satisfaction with the Prime Minister’s performance has fallen into net negative territory for the first time.
The latest poll shows a four-point fall in the number of voters satisfied with Mr Morrison’s performance. This is the second such fall over the course of the past month leaving him with an approval rating of 47 per cent.
The number of those claiming to be dissatisfied with his overall performance as leader has risen by the same level – to 49 per cent, leaving the Prime Minister with a net approval rating of minus two.
It is the first time since March 2020 that Mr Morrison has found his personal support falling into negative territory.
It represents a significant shift in sentiment since last year and at the peak of the pandemic, when Mr Morrison enjoyed an approval rating of more than plus-40 per cent.
Mr Morrison still enjoys a lead over Labor leader Anthony Albanese, who last week offered to pay people $300 to get vaccinated, and whose net negative approval rating of minus eight remains unchanged at 38 per cent satisfied and 46 per cent dissatisfied.

Mr Morrison also maintains a clear advantage over his rival as preferred prime minister, although the gap on this metric has narrowed further to its closest margin since the last election.
Mr Morrison dropped two points to 49 per cent while Mr Albanese picked up three points to 36 per cent.
With the three major states locking down their capitals, the first time this has happened since the first wave of the pandemic in April 2020, confidence in Mr Morrison’s handling of the crisis more broadly has hit its lowest point with a four-point fall to 48 per cent in the space of three weeks among those still maintaining he was managing it well.
This was split heavily along party lines, with 74 per cent of Coalition voters claiming Mr Morrison was managing it well compared to 31 per cent of Labor voters and 26 per cent of Greens voters.
Younger voters were also the least satisfied at 42 per cent compared to 56 per cent of older Australians.
Backbiting from the NSW government over vaccine supply and mixed messages over the use of AstraZeneca has seen support for Mr Morrison’s management of the rollout fall a further two points over the past three weeks to 38 per cent with a two-point rise to 59 per cent of those who claim to be dissatisfied in the rollout.
This marks a gradual decline in favourability since the question was first asked in April, at which point the split was 53-43 and the majority were in support of the government.
The Newspoll, conducted between August 4 and 7, shows the Greens improving a point to 11 per cent while Pauline Hanson’s One Nation remains on 3 per cent.
Support for other minor parties fell a point to 8 per cent. The Newspoll was based on surveys of 1527 voters across metropolitan and regional areas.

Newspoll: Delta debacle drives Scott Morrison’s ratings to new low
View attachment 1200318
Scott Morrison’s personal approval ratings have plunged into negative territory and the government faces its worst electoral position since the Black Summer fires amid growing frustration over the vaccine rollout and lockdowns across the three most populous states.
An exclusive Newspoll conducted for The Australian also shows a further erosion of confidence in the federal government’s management of the pandemic as the NSW, Victoria and Queensland state governments battle to stem the spread of the Delta Covid-19 variant.
The once-strong support for Mr Morrison’s handling of the crisis has almost halved over the course of a year from a high of 85 per cent in April last year, during the peak of the first wave, to just 48 per cent in the latest survey.
And for the first time, more people – 49 per cent – claim to be unhappy with the Prime Minister’s management of the pandemic, with clear divisions now established among voters along party lines.

Confidence in the administration of the vaccine rollout also continues to fall despite the release last week of a four-step plan linking vaccination rates to the reopening of the country.
Popular support for the federal Coalition and Labor remains deadlocked at 39 per cent with no movement in the headline numbers for the major parties since the last poll was conducted three weeks ago.

The two-party-preferred split of 53-47 per cent, in Labor’s favour, also remains unchanged as the government faces its worst electoral position since the bushfire crisis of summer 2020.
With almost half the population now under some form of state government-imposed social restriction or lockdown, satisfaction with the Prime Minister’s performance has fallen into net negative territory for the first time.
The latest poll shows a four-point fall in the number of voters satisfied with Mr Morrison’s performance. This is the second such fall over the course of the past month leaving him with an approval rating of 47 per cent.
The number of those claiming to be dissatisfied with his overall performance as leader has risen by the same level – to 49 per cent, leaving the Prime Minister with a net approval rating of minus two.
It is the first time since March 2020 that Mr Morrison has found his personal support falling into negative territory.
It represents a significant shift in sentiment since last year and at the peak of the pandemic, when Mr Morrison enjoyed an approval rating of more than plus-40 per cent.
Mr Morrison still enjoys a lead over Labor leader Anthony Albanese, who last week offered to pay people $300 to get vaccinated, and whose net negative approval rating of minus eight remains unchanged at 38 per cent satisfied and 46 per cent dissatisfied.

Mr Morrison also maintains a clear advantage over his rival as preferred prime minister, although the gap on this metric has narrowed further to its closest margin since the last election.
Mr Morrison dropped two points to 49 per cent while Mr Albanese picked up three points to 36 per cent.
With the three major states locking down their capitals, the first time this has happened since the first wave of the pandemic in April 2020, confidence in Mr Morrison’s handling of the crisis more broadly has hit its lowest point with a four-point fall to 48 per cent in the space of three weeks among those still maintaining he was managing it well.
This was split heavily along party lines, with 74 per cent of Coalition voters claiming Mr Morrison was managing it well compared to 31 per cent of Labor voters and 26 per cent of Greens voters.
Younger voters were also the least satisfied at 42 per cent compared to 56 per cent of older Australians.
Backbiting from the NSW government over vaccine supply and mixed messages over the use of AstraZeneca has seen support for Mr Morrison’s management of the rollout fall a further two points over the past three weeks to 38 per cent with a two-point rise to 59 per cent of those who claim to be dissatisfied in the rollout.
This marks a gradual decline in favourability since the question was first asked in April, at which point the split was 53-43 and the majority were in support of the government.
The Newspoll, conducted between August 4 and 7, shows the Greens improving a point to 11 per cent while Pauline Hanson’s One Nation remains on 3 per cent.
Support for other minor parties fell a point to 8 per cent. The Newspoll was based on surveys of 1527 voters across metropolitan and regional areas.
Via Google introduce yourself to the concept of a precis.

Some bogan wrote a decent article

Not bad. The premise is a good one but his argument jumps around a bit & doesn’t quite flow in a logical way. Repeats himself a bit too.
Having said that it’s way better than the majority of swill in the MS media.
Good enough to provoke thinking unlike garbage produced by Murdoch hacks like Bolt who would fail high school English level essay writing.

To be fair to Trump, who is without question a pig of a man, you reckon if they could pin association with pedos on him they’d have done that by now.
Isn’t Q a right wing leaning movement though? Much like the evangelicals that should have spurned old Donald because of his sins, instead embraced him because of tribalism.

To be fair to Trump, who is without question a pig of a man, you reckon if they could pin association with pedos on him they’d have done that by now.

Trump's taste in women is similar to Clinton, trashy older types.

Really? Who? It’s pathetic. Morrison knows someone who knows someone who apparently committed sexual abuse.

So does Albo.
Tried to invite him to the white house isnt “knows someone bruce”

dont dissemble

There wouldn’t be anything to defend. The mob don’t seem to come for them. Strangely.

Edit: By the way, who am I defending?

1. Houston senior who apparently sexually assaulted kids in the 70s? No.

2. Houston junior who apparently was told about it when the victim was 36yo and sacked his dad but didn’t report him to the police? No.

3. Morrison who is apparently mates with Houston junior? No. Not even him.

Im commenting that it’s utterly pathetic the lengths you “progressives” will go to tie “conservatives” into a scandal.
Amazing that you still dont think not reporting paedos isnt as criminally culpable as being a paedo.

news flash - it is.

there is noone on this earth - not my family who i love to the ends of this earth - not my best friends who i served with- that i wouldnt report in a heartbeat if they were fiddling.

The absolute best they would get out of me would be the chance to self report.

they are children bruce. They cant look out for themselves - they need us to go into bat for them.

You and other conservative paedo apologists need to learn this. Your morality is so far out with this it beggars belief.

Amazing that you still dont think reporting paedos isnt as criminally culpable as being a paedo.

news flash - it is.

there is noone on this earth - not my family who i love to the ends of this earth - not my best friends who i served with- that i wouldnt report in a heartbeat if they were fiddling.

The absolute best they would get out of me would be the chance to self report.

they are children bruce. They cant look out for themselves - they need us to go into bat for them.

You and other conservative paedo apologists need to learn this. Your morality is so far out with this it beggars belief.

I think you're conflating here.

If I found out a child was being abused, I would report it no question.

If a 36yo reported to me that he had been abused decades previously, I would be guided by that person as to the action he wished me to take.

WHO ARE THE 47%?!?!
Got a really good mate i go fishing with. Wealthy guy work lots and a rusted on liberal. Franking credits would have affected him - scottys his guy. He doesnt follow politics at all.

if it comes up in discussion he defends him on reflex - i think hes doing a great job.

but what about xxxx you ask

overall hes doing a good job - it could be attilla the hun sacking a city and you would get the same response - totally divorced from the political process but whoever he is - is my guy.

If a 36yo reported to me that he had been abused decades previously, I would be guided by that person as to the action he wished me to take.
Yet you dont hold houston to that standard.

and you wish away pells record in that regard.

It appears you have empathy for alleged rapists and pedos, but no empathy for the alleged victims.

If that's how you wished to be viewed, you are doing a good job of it.

Science. :rolleyes:

Why should sane people have to live by the rules concocted by lunatics who cannot back up their religious claims?

You do understand what it means to be a secular country?
Science is mostly a left wing conspiracy for the modern right, look at responses to covid and climate change. The only thing it really achieves is that it fuels their victim narrative as dang nature gangs up on these rubes as well.

I should know better than to argue with a guy who defends George Pell.

Especially as I have just served a decent ban for giving an honest and factual appraisal of the same poster's character.

And when he does, please feel free to point it out.

As for ideologies, I like free camping. Have for years. It’s a great way to reconnect with yourself and your family.

Daniel Andrews, at the behest of the Greens, is banning it. That’s where ideology affects actual lives.
You are complaining that you may have to pay to camp in some areas?
I am not that happy that I , my family and ancestors have had to pay and are still paying for religions to exist. for centuries.

Science. :rolleyes:

Why should sane people have to live by the rules concocted by lunatics who cannot back up their religious claims?

You do understand what it means to be a secular country?

Given there are a number of inferred understandings of "secular", do you?

I prefer the term "pluralist".

Which rules concocted by religious lunatics do you want removed, that haven't already been?

The murder one? The theft one?