25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
Explain what impact Wallis, JUH and Sam Darcy are having for this current dogs team. And wasn't hunter not bid on until round 3?

Also claiming that drafting Coffield was the right call because you avoided draft busts is laughable. He's no better than Fogarty. It's a lot easier getting touches playing in defense. Just ask Bailey Dale. And the excuse your team passed on Naughton was the right call because you had Carlisle doesn't sit well either. I didn't realise you only need one key defender at AFL level.
Your opinion:
E742A251-4DD5-41B4-ACA0-429B580F54DC.jpeg

Different players but Byrnes looks superior.

Right now. But both still babes in term of experience. Both should hopefully be demanding spots for the majority of games this season.

No where credible by any means of the imagination. Just wondering if there was any meat to it. Seems like it’s all bone atm.
Mate , if you believe half the stuff on here you will send yourself mental , there are a lot of darts getting thrown in here

Explain what impact Wallis, JUH and Sam Darcy are having for this current dogs team. And wasn't hunter not bid on until round 3?

Also claiming that drafting Coffield was the right call because you avoided draft busts is laughable. He's no better than Fogarty. It's a lot easier getting touches playing in defense. Just ask Bailey Dale. And the excuse your team passed on Naughton was the right call because you had Carlisle doesn't sit well either. I didn't realise you only need one key defender at AFL level.

On your bike to the safe injection room

I don’t see the potential in Bytel that others do. He looks slow & one dimension. His ceiling looks to be Seb Ross or Dunstan IMO.

He's got 2 tricks at afl level we've seen so far: excellent kicking skills and a good step. Doesn't mean much if he can't find it, but I'm hopeful the vfl games show that won't be an issue. I don't see Ross and Dunstan as good comps purely because he is a great user of the ball.
Edit: he's also very dual sided and clean on his left. Huge advantage.

Yes but I understand that our recruiters from the start saw Allison as an elite CHB, and that's how they've been training him since he came through the door. Now if in two years time he and Howard are the pillars of our defence for the next 5 to 8 years, will people be offering retrospective compliments on the draft selection? Given they just delisted Clav, I would say that supports what role they see Allison developiing into in the future.

He was a forward that we wanted as a KPB despite being Battle sized which we don't think is big enough? They must be smarter than I am.

He's bigger than Battle, more athletic, has speed and is a very beautiful kick.

Needs some time to develop because he is far from the finished product, but he has all the tools.

Leo looks most likely to be out of the AFL system in 2 years. Had the least impact of all our kids in the games he has played.

That's a very big call, I'm bullish on him and think he could end up like Sinclair, just the way he moves, and kicks the ball, shows a lot of class and similarities. Looks to take the game on as well, something that not many of our players do at the moment.

I won’t argue the 2 best midfields are in the grand final, that’s fact.

but let’s not act like these 2 clubs are genius recruiters.
There is a lot of luck involved.

dogs:
Libba, hunter, Wallis, JUH, now Sam Darcy, all gifts from the AFL system that is yet to throw a bone our way.

2018 they took smith in a great top 10 class, we got King so no complaints.

2017 there was a clear top 5, classically we sat at 7 and 8, got our pick of the next half dozen did well with Clark/coff avoided busts in bonar/Fogarty. We weren’t in the market for a CHB prior to Carlisle injury, dogs took naughton as their midfield was already full of guns.

blessed with the #4 pick2013 in a year where there was a clear set in stone top 3.
If they finished below us, they would have taken Billings 100% as he was the best bet to be a 200 gamer after Kelly.
It wasn’t recruiting genius it was just great luck.

also blessed in 2012 when the had 5 and 6..... weak draft,
SOS took orourke and plowman.
Fellow genius recruiters Melbourne took Toumpas.
Let macrae and stringer fall right in the dogs lap.

Credit where it’s due to Melbourne, they came out of 2019 with the best ruck and best small forward (Jackson and Pickett) but they were able to do that because mids already set.

they got Oliver at 4 but would have taken shache if they were at 2.

we took paddy and allowed them to get the 2 best mids that year in trac and Angus at 2/3.

they also used high picks on hogan, Toumpas, cook, gysberts, Trengove, watts, blease, Morton, grimes, traded a 12 for Mitch Clark. All busts.

viney father son gift.

We really haven't nailed drafts since we got Brendan Goddard though, there is luck and then there is incompetence. Melbourne and Dogs have busts but when they get them right they get them really right. We've blown a multitude of drafts and traded out of others and have **** all to show for it. Even Carlton have nailed some of their firsts in Walsh and McKay types. We have to get that right or we will sit in this 9th to 15th range for ever.

Byrnes, Bytel and Sharman all had multiple games that were better and more impactful than the best game that Connolly played this year.
Did you even read my post , i said will end up better , i wasn't talking about who played the better games this year , its called vision .
Sharman wasn't even in the conversation so no idea why you brought that up

Spot on about defence being easy just ask Jayden Laverde and James Stewart.

Leo looks most likely to be out of the AFL system in 2 years. Had the least impact of all our kids in the games he has played.
He’s one of our only players capable of playing with flair and backing himself to win contests. No idea where you got that opinion on him, the guy looks better than the player we have who’s name I can’t remember. Starts with B and got dropped for most of the year lol

View attachment 1233783
though to be fair I think our salary cap was as full as this guys guts at the time.

At the time i'd noticed that Ben Brown had been tipped to go early in the 2011 draft, but he did his ACL.
By 2012 he was playing for Glenorchy, and was moving well and rucking , and kicking lots of goals.
I thought we should rookie him.

The knock. Oh he's only playing Tassie football. Well yeah, but he'd been in the 18 championship a couple of years earlier.
Anyway, Ben went undrafted and had to play for Werribbee to get noticed again. And we took Lee.
Sometimes i don't know if afl talent spotters are too smart or too dumb.

By the same token, some of the kids who missed the 2020 draft might be more than handy.

It's worth noting that most times he's been given the job of running with the oppo's best mid for his development, and when let off the leash in VFL he's been destroying it.
IMHO he's ceiling could be multiple AA, and his disposal is already nudging elite so comparisons with Seb or Dunny just don't fit.
My hope is that when the coaches are happy with his defensive game they'll let him loose to play his attacking game which is his strength. Ideally he plays round 1 after a big off-season.
I hope you are right but on exposed form he looks like a GOP which reflects the position he was selected at which is usually a hit & miss pick.

Possibly unfairly I am comparing him with other players from his draft class that were selected earlier…but kind of reinforces my point.

Did you even read my post , i said will end up better , i wasn't talking about who played the better games this year , its called vision .
Sharman wasn't even in the conversation so no idea why you brought that up
I did read it. Just listed Sharman because I was naming the kids who played this year.

Judging by their performances this year and taking into account the 'potential' of them all, I think Connolly is the least likely of all our kids to make it long term.