25. Dean Kent - Link
39. Darragh Joyce - Link
41. Paul Hunter - Link

To see the full list (it gets updated regularly) visit this thread;

Restricted and Unrestricted Free Agency Window
Friday October 1 – Friday October 8

Trade Period
Players: Monday October 4 – Wednesday October 13
Picks: Monday October 4 – tbc (approx. Friday November 19)

List Lodgement 1
tbc (approx. Thursday October 28)

Delisted Free Agency Window 1
tbc (approx. Friday October 29 - Monday November 8)

List Lodgement 2 (Final date for primary list delistings)
tbc (approx. Tuesday November 9)

Delisted Free Agency Window 2
tbc (approx. Wednesday November 10 - Friday November 19)

Last edited by a moderator:
I would of preferred to give that to Chol than Billings
Chol could of cemented a KPD role as well as a ruck option. the one thing we really need.

Chol wanted to move back with his family.

We would have had to pay significantly more than that to even get his attention.

Can I ask where the info of the deal being 3 years with a trigger is coming from?

Everything I've read and heard has suggested it's a 4 year deal, including Ratten when he announced it on SEN
Could be right there. the Contract is four years, and the reports were it was a much lower base and triggers which may have been mistaken for the fourth year when it meant $$$, so 4 years straight up on a low base is probably it not 3 and 1

That is why the Tom Phillips comparison is more realistic re: Billings.

Petracca is a Best & Fairest winner, 2 Time All Australian & now a Norm Smith medal winner in probably the greatest ever display in a GF ever by a player

But, nah, compare him to Jack Billings…. Terrible comparison

Edit: I believe he’s been criminally overrated by our fans for years. Certainly not a whipping boy for me, just another player in the list that people get sucked in by because he was a pick 3 chosen between Josh Kelly & Marcus Bontempelli, and hold out some unrealistic hope that he will be as good as them. He won’t

If there’s one thing that Jack Billings hasn’t been its being over rated by supporters.

Has copped it pretty much non stop since 2014. Had a few moments when others took the heat but has been unfairly bagged IMO (especially the BS about him being soft & scared).

Not irrelevant at all.

Sounds like they had an honest adult conversation. Both agreed it would be best for Luke's career if he could find another club.

He said himself he wouldn't take a deal if it was offered to him. That's his choice.

Unfortunately it sounds like that's not as easy as Luke hoped.
I don't doubt they had an honest adult conversation at the start of the season but I think you'll find it broke down completely after Dunstan was dropped for the last game.

That just confirmed that irrespective of how he played, the coach didn't rate him. Just like most people, I'd have spat the dummy in that situation.

Like I said - not a problem if your midfield is so great that we can afford be in a position to p*** off a player like Dunstan so much that we aren't able to even offer him a "depth" contract.

If there’s one thing that Jack Billings hasn’t been its being over rated by supporters.

Has copped it pretty much non stop since 2014. Had a few moments when others took the heat but has been unfairly bagged IMO (especially the BS about him being soft & scared).

Still reckon the softest and most scared player in the AFL is tougher and harder than anybody on here by a country mile.

Oh and this is not directed at you W2L but can we please stop the Billings to Petracca comparison even if it is stats. They play a completely differnet game in a different position and basically Billings is not as good a player anyway.

After the years of Billing v Bont, do we need to torture ourselfs comparing him to the other player we didn't select?

I'm with you on this one. But 4 years is too long. I appreciate his "loyalty" but it's probably more due to the fact that no other team rates him beyond a certain price range than anything else. Personally I see little value in what he does, other than the very rare occasions he actually decides to turn up...and what's that, once or twice a year...playing the even rarer blinder amazeballs game every 2nd or 3rd year of his - up until recently - bloated contracts.
I'd rather have kept Dunstan...and I'm not much of a fan of him either, but at least he makes an effort with the ability he has.
Gringo mentioned before that he's like the ambitious minister handing out the meals after a battle. It's pretty apt. But man, I want the guy from "Heart of Darkness" with a bunch of impaled victims heads of those who dare oppose him...including the head of the minister handing out mystery schnitzel.
He will get a game every week and do the same thing he has been doing for the last couple of years. Can he get back back to 2019 form? Played 144 games , so is he going to get better? Dont think he will get a game in the forward line unless there is a strategy change, so wont be kicking a shedful of goals. Expect 20 possies a game with the odd good one thrown in. Beige, as one poster said.

I don't doubt they had an honest adult conversation at the start of the season but I think you'll find it broke down completely after Dunstan was dropped for the last game.

That just confirmed that irrespective of how he played, the coach didn't rate him. Just like most people, I'd have spat the dummy in that situation.

Like I said - not a problem if your midfield is so great that we can afford be in a position to p*** off a player like Dunstan so much that we aren't able to even offer him a "depth" contract.
There are plenty of other clubs running with average midfielders, so if he was treated so harshly he would have been picked up on Friday.

The fact is, we are going nowhere with that midfield. It would be poor management not choose to start to try and develop our young mids rather than running with the same shit that has got us nowhere for years.

Not sure the conversation was ever "We won't offer you a contract". All I've heard is that both agreed his career would be better for him at another club.

The only thing I've heard about the contract is that Luke said he wouldn't take one. That's his call.

If we could put ourself in a position to pick up a Callaghan / Ward / Sinn

I would trade Webster this year while he has value. Is he really in our starting 22 next year
Based on this year, it is a big yes. Played good football. Only got beat 2-3 times and played on the good forwards. If he was for sale, he would have got picked up before Billings and Ross, that I am sure of. Ward from GWS? if so, think he has done too many hard yards.

I reckon you're trying to spin it. I doubt Dunny or his manager are thinking we handled it well and he isn't going to be leaving with anything but bad blood. He 100% won't stay, I think he'd be more likely to play SANFL than turn up at Moorabin next year. Like it or not Dunstan was a solid servant of the club and we've managed to cause a really messy break up. That's not very professional, he'll have players that are his mates and others in the industry watch what's going on.
I couldn’t care less if dunstan isn’t happy, he’s a professional footballer who sooked it up after being told honestly by his coach that others were preferred at that point in time.

Now I’m ignoring the talk that he wouldn’t play other positions or follow instructions and just concentrating on his season. He smashed it at sandy got his chance played a very good block of games then dropped off again and was unlucky to be dropped for the last game. Exit interview probably followed the same line as the preseason assessment and he’s over it, out of contract and as a free agent looking for greener pastures.

I don’t have a problem with any of that, what I do have a problem with is that he was mistreated, hard done by and generally screwed over. He was well paid and carried at times over an underwhelming 8 seasons and 100 plus games, the club has done nothing unprofessional in fact we’ve made a decision to move on in an attempt to improve. Imo it’s luke who needs to check himself and have an honest look at his eight seasons at the saints.

I reckon you're trying to spin it. I doubt Dunny or his manager are thinking we handled it well and he isn't going to be leaving with anything but bad blood. He 100% won't stay, I think he'd be more likely to play SANFL than turn up at Moorabin next year. Like it or not Dunstan was a solid servant of the club and we've managed to cause a really messy break up. That's not very professional, he'll have players that are his mates and others in the industry watch what's going on.
I think people see it for what it is and a jilted opinion from a former player won't hold much sway.

Billings is a fine player. Hasn't become what we hoped he would when we drafted him at pick 3. But a fine player nonetheless.

AND is even nicer for us now that he’s on a well reduced wage.

He is consistent without being brilliant but if he can hit the scoreboard more/kick straighter he'll be more effective for us. had 70 shots at goal one year I reckon and just kicked horribly.

He also is yet to prove he's any more than a solid mid.

I'm not sold he's a better mid than he is a forward.

Yes he can get the footy and win a clearance but he doesn't seem near as damaging in the middle as he does forward.

He was on track to being one of the very best small forwards in the comp. He kicked more goals than anyone taken in the 2015 draft before his move into the midfield.

I can he has strengths in the middle, but I think the Robbie Gray role of playing forward and pinch hitting in the guts would be ideal for him

Totally disagree with your first sentence.

Two years running our midfield has stopped like it was shot when Gresh was hurt.

He’s super important in our midfield set up.

Since we're not really going for players this year, we're joining the race for points - alongside Collingwood and Footscray. Let's have a look at what everyone's got and the teams they'll be talking to:

Saints
Currently have: 356 (picks 49, 67 - 9 can't be used)
Worst case scenario need: 1339 (Windhager and Owen go picks 21 and 22)
Need at least: 936 (Owens and Windhager go 28 & 29)

Currently have: 1594 (picks 36, 41, 43 and 48)
Worst case scenario need: 2400 (Daicos goes pick 1)
Need at least: 1627 (Daicos goes pick 3)

Footscray
Currently have: 1025 (17, pick 75 is worth 0 points)
Worst case scenario need: 2400 (Darcy goes pick 1)
Need at least: 1503 (Darcy goes pick 5)

Now who's got picks - targeting bundles after pick 25 to allow teams to move up the board, only picks worth points

Currently have: 37, 44, 62, 66

Brisbane
Currently have: 50, 54, 60

Currently have: 51, 56

Currently have: 30, 32, 34, 55

Gold Coast
Currently have: 46, 58, 61, 69

Currently have: 33, 45, 57

Currently have: 26, 28, 38, 42, 47

Currently have: 31, 39, 70

Currently have: 29, 35, 52, 68

So who goes where?

Footscray have apparently already started talking to Richmond to swap pick 17 for picks 26 and 28 - which is worth 1406 and covers a pick 6 bid. They'll probably also to look for the Lipinski trade to cover the few hundred remaining, possibly getting a future pick from Collingwood and then shifting on a future pick of their own. Trading Wallis will probably cover a quantity if they pull that trigger.

Collingwood have painted themselves into a comical corner - they traded their best bargaining chip last year and are looking to bring in Lipinski and Kreuger. The future trading rules also hamper them, they can only trade their future first if they trade no other future picks or bring in another future first. Wouldn't be surprised to see them do the latter, trade a future first to a top four team for their future first and change. Richmond also looks to be an attractive team for them to talk to, if Collingwood can shift their future 2nd and change for picks 38, 42 and 47 (465 + 395 + 316 = 1176) which gets them halfway. They'll hope to get some value out of Cox but that'll make minimal difference. Trading Sier might get them a bit closer.

So let's look at St Kilda player movement. Long or Battle go to Essendon is probably not hugely helpful as they've only got picks 51 and 56 which only covers a pick 30 bid for one of the boys. Would've been nice to get something nominal for Dunstan, the 25% discount means whatever we got would've increased in value.

Pick-for-pick trades, it's a question of whether our future 2nd or 3rd goes on the block and it'll probably be a draft night break-glass situation. Richmond's picks will probably be gone, so we'll probably have deals lined up with Melbourne (for some combo of 33, 45 and 57), Adelaide (combo of 37, 44, 62, 66), maybe Gold Coast (combo of 46, 58, 61, 69).

Still reckon the softest and most scared player in the AFL is tougher and harder than anybody on here by a country mile.

Oh and this is not directed at you W2L but can we please stop the Billings to Petracca comparison even if it is stats. They play a completely differnet game in a different position and basically Billings is not as good a player anyway.

After the years of Billing v Bont, do we need to torture ourselfs comparing him to the other player we didn't select?
Guy I was replying to literally compared him to Petracca FFS

Now yes, there are people out there, Saints fans, that believe he’s an absolute star, and sits alongside Bont, Petracca, Patrick Cripps. They are bloody delusional

If you are one of these people that still believes JB is on the same level as these guys….
DFF60F5D-CECD-4D21-B12F-F59E6DCF632E.gif