Media Swans Talk in the Media 2022

Our club in the Media

Cal Toomey on Gus Sheldrick
Edit: 7:50mins in to the podcast

That Doesn't seem to work

I hope we won't see JPK down back. Unlike Hewett, Ziebell or Heppell he's not fast nor agile enough for that kind of role full time.
Better I hope that he changes his role within the midfield rotation, which we know he can do effectively. Then he can step in when needed.
You're probably right that this is his last year.

Neither Ziebell nor Hewett are fast. McLean ran Zeibell down. Hewett is clever not fast.

I would have him siting behind the ball and not tracking his opponents to far up as I reckon he will get done on rebound by the faster HF
look, you just don't play him on the faster half forwards now do you? You know it makes sense!

Some big milestones coming up for the Bloods

Seen a few of these 'milestone' lists..
Yet to see one which acknowledges JPK is going to.. Break the all time record for Contested possessions and Clearances!!!!!
Incredible effort

ps.. congrats to all Swans (and other) players reaching their milestone

Seen a few of these 'milestone' lists..
Yet to see one which acknowledges JPK is going to.. Break the all time record for Contested possessions and Clearances!!!!!
Incredible effort

ps.. congrats to all Swans (and other) players reaching their milestone
The Mongrel Punt is the only media I know who has mentioned it.

Buddy's near two-year layoff has extended his career so barring extreme circumstance I'd be confident of him signing for another year.

No problem with JPK at half-back. We parked McVeigh there in his twilight years and he was brilliant. A great place to play your best distributor with the game in front of him. Joey isn't the same kind of player but he's a smart ball user and is a big-bodied defender who can help out on talls and smalls. You don't want to isolate him with Charlie Cameron or Kossie Pickett but that's part of standard defence craft.

Putting older mids back has become a thing - Cotchin was playing back last year, Pendles is supposedly in line this year. Jordan Lewis too I think.

i would not be signing Buddy for another year. Simply because of dynamics. The majority of this squad is young and they need to take the reins now. Buddy is a bit player more than a star attraction now. His body is not going to hold up much after this season. He's 35, turns 36 next year. The days of a Michael Tuck, 38 or Dustin Fletcher, 40 are well and truly over. The game is far faster now. It is difficult, even for the best player, to play beyond about 35. the other thing is; Does Lance want to play on? I don't think he does. He has a wife and two kids now and maybe he wants to spend more time with them. He has an estimated net worth of around $7 million. Although that is thought to only be the tip of the iceberg. His companies that market his clothing, colognes and accessories even sell big time in Europe. I would suggest that he might want to enter the next chapter of his life fairly soon.

Will he be lost to footy? I doubt it. He will probable have some sort of hands on role at the Swans. Lance is an intelligent, very private person. As private as you can be with the spotlight on you all the time. But if he were in Melbourne it would be worse. I think he moves more into his business interests and time with family next year. That is just my opinion.

Robbo won my undying respect for being one of the few senior journos to consistently defend Goodes. Getting a one-on-one with Buddy is a monster scoop - I bet his Goodes advocacy is one of the reasons he got it, both from the POV of the club and Buddy himself. Most journos and league bosses went missing during that episod.e

Never had much time for Barratt until last year he was the only pundit to predict Swans would make the finals at which point I realised he was a champion pundit, a visionary and an all-round top bloke.

Here's the Age predictions for Sydney this year (bookmarked). What pisses me off is their parochialism. They spend the whole summer swapping tales of the Melbourne clubs and storylines in their mind about Richmond, Carlton, etc. and they've seen and hear nothing of the so-called interstate teams. If you dout me, tune in to the Hun or Age podcast and unless there's a live news story going there's literally zero coverage of non-Vic teams. #endrant

Jake Niall, Caro, Michael Gleeson - 8th
Andrew Wu, Peter Ryan, Jojn Pierik,Emma Kearney - 5th
Sam McClure - 9th
Greg Baum - 10th

Sam McLure wouldn't have a clue. He's a Carlton supporter

BEST 22 FOR ROUND 1
B: H. Cunningham, L. Melican, D. Rampe
HB: J. Lloyd, T. McCartin, N. Blakey
C: J. McInerney, O. Florent, I. Heeney
HF: H. McLean, P. Ladhams, W. Hayward
F: S. Wicks, L. Franklin, E. Gulden
Foll: T. Hickey, L. Parker, J. Kennedy
Inter: C. Warner, J. Rowbottom, B. Campbell, L. McDonald
Sub: D. Stephens

Notable absentees: T. Papley (hamstring)

Bloke I feel a bit sorry for is Callum Mills.
Doesn't even qualify as a notable absentee. :think:
It's a wonder they don't have Dawson and Hewett in the side

i would not be signing Buddy for another year. Simply because of dynamics. The majority of this squad is young and they need to take the reins now
The majority of this squad is young and would DREAM of playing with Buddy longer
Buddy is a bit player more than a star attraction now
1317 articles on Buddy over the last few weeks says differently
the other thing is; Does Lance want to play on? I don't think he does.
How on earth would you know? My guess you dont have a clue
He has a wife and two kids now and maybe he wants to spend more time with them
you wouldn't know
He has an estimated net worth of around $7 million.
and again!!! you wouldn't know
His companies that market his clothing, colognes and accessories even sell big time in Europe. I would suggest that he might want to enter the next chapter of his life fairly soon.
What are you talking about
That is just my opinion.
Everything you say is judging what a person wants, what drives him and where his priorities are and are very likely to be incorrect. Unless you reply and inform me that you are a very close friend or close relative of Buddys, then this goes down as the worst post Ive read.

Speaking of Papley I don't think I will be getting many arguments when I say with confidence that Papley is going to give away the most 50 metre penalties for umpire descent than any other Swans player by a reasonably big margin. Love hm but he has massive white line fever.
i think they have to peg his tongue

The majority of this squad is young and would DREAM of playing with Buddy longer

you wouldn't know

Everything you say is judging what a person wants, what drives him and where his priorities are and are very likely to be incorrect. Unless you reply and inform me that you are a very close friend or close relative of Buddys, then this goes down as the worst post Ive read.
Forbes rates him at $7 million

you wouldn't know

I am having an opinion. Just like you. I did not ever say will but I said it was my opinion. But as for wealth Forbes rates him at $7 million from his corporate interests alone. I don't agree that someone, like say McLean or McDonald, are going to want to be second fiddle to Buddy for an extended period. They will more than likely leave for more game time.

His body is a factor in all this and as you get over 35 your body gets a lot more prone to injury. Even Fletcher and Tuck experienced this toward the end. Why would he bother signing one year contracts, worth probably less than half of his contract is now, for the next so many years?

They are not robots
I agree with you. They are not robots and the umpires have not been that good for a lot of years. It is everything, but it comes down to basics. The most basic facet is positioning. My brother was a boundary umpire and I had a good mate who field umpired SANFL. I was talking with him some years ago and he was worried about the positioning then. He was also worried about the AFL letting go incorrect disposal to quicken up the game. He thought it broke one of the great tenets of our game the different disposal. He also thought the AFL should have adopted the SANFL 30 metre rule to go with the 50 metre rule. In other words small indiscretions get 30 metres.

Pleased to see Angus in our top ups.
If Adam is required and plays when Corey debuts and we have Tom and Paddy = 3 sets of brothers in same team
SYD Kyle DUNKLEY Northern Bullants
SYD Mutaz EL NOUR Northern Bullants
SYD William MITCHELL Northern Bullants
SYD Liam PODHJASKI Northern Bullants
SYD Nathan COOPER Werribee
SYD Ollie HANRAHAN Werribee
SYD Shaun MANNAGH Werribee
SYD Samuel PAEA Werribee
SYD Adam GULDEN Sydney Swans VFL
SYD William COLLIS Sydney Swans VFL
SYD Nicholas SHIPLEY Sydney Swans VFL
SYD Jake BARTHOLOMAEUS Sydney Swans VFL