Opinion Sack Hinkley 6 - Kochblocked

Not just that but their facilities are also poor because they haven't spent the millions required for decent facilities.
You need to do some research. They built a $12m facility in 2010-11 years when we built a $6m facility in 2009-10. Then they got their lick of AFLW largess and Stage 1 between 2017-19 they spent about $7mil and Stage 2 between late 2020 to early 2022 they spent another $8m. Like us, most of the funding came from the 3 levels of government.

So if Ken actually went I reckon Davies does too. Probably together.

Feels like tail wagging the dog.

Kochie needs to go if Ken stays, he has no choice does he? Let the next bloke with no connection to Ken terminate him next year.

Funny thing is I reckon Kane and Lloyd both know Port has underachieved and Ken should be moved on, Kane however is in the protection racket Ken has got set up, Lloyd isn’t.

Lloyd for President.

And why do they waffle on about ‘last two years’ Whateley did the same with Bucks, we are talking a decade of work here.

I’ve not seen a campaign of support like this before. Ken getting all his media mates and players to talk him up. It’s embarrassing

It must be infuriating to put up with for Port supporters.

I’ve been following this thread and Hinkley for a few years and it’s incredible to me he’s been able to hold on to his job.

There is something so strange about the AFL industry and the media protecting poor coaches from the sack. It’s such a fishbowl and I wish the media acted like those in other professional sports.

For me, that Ken Hinkley stays in a job is emblematic of the problem in the AFL media.

Just look at the figures on job security for AFL coaches compared to other sports in this article:

You need to do some research. They built a $12m facility in 2010-11 years when we built a $6m facility in 2009-10. Then they got their lick of AFLW largess and Stage 1 between 2017-19 they spent about $7mil and Stage 2 between late 2020 to early 2022 they spent another $8m. Like us, most of the funding came from the 3 levels of government.

I've always heard that their facilities were terrible, which made sense given how bad they've generally been since their last premiership.

Hawks deal is around 20mill over 5 years,north slightly less

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk
Spirit of Tasmania is paying North just over $1mil for sponsorship and Tasmanian Tourism are paying Hawks about $2.5mil for that sponsorship. A boat company - state owned - isn't going to pay the same amount as a tourism authority is going to pay.

Slightly less comes from this story in February 2021

Hawthorn’s current five-year deal in Tasmania, which sees the club play games at Launceston’s UTAS Stadium, is worth approximately $20 million. The amount North Melbourne gets paid per game at Hobart’s Blundstone Arena is unclear, but it’s understood the contract is slightly less than Hawthorn’s deal with the State Government.

Is that the Stadium contract is slightly less? If the total deal is only slightly less than the Hawks, then the Tassie government are stupidly paying North about an extra $200k a game in Hobart compared to what they are paying Hawks in Launceston. I find that hard to believe.

Here is the 3 x 5 year build up for the Hawks.

2007-11 deal
2010 Age article
THE Tasmanian government last night welcomed the opportunity to host more AFL games but remained steadfast in its desire to have its own team.
Hawthorn already has a $16.5 million, five-year deal to play one pre-season and four home-and-away games in Launceston, with the Hawks today hosting Adelaide at Aurora Stadium.

The hawks got $300k bonus for winning the 2008 flag which was part of the $16.5mil. This bonus was raised in the Tassie parliament. From May 2009 article in The Australian.

Under the sponsorship deal, Tasmania has naming rights on the front of player jerseys in return for $1.8 million a year, as well as the right to four Hawks "home" matches at Aurora Stadium for $1.2 million a year. Officially $15 million over five years, the funds are indexed to inflation, and there are performance bonuses which, for example, cost Tasmanian taxpayers an extra $300,000 when the Hawks won the 2008 flag.......

so given inflation was about 2% that $3mil is about $3.25m by 2011 and $1.8mil jumper component was at about $1.95m at the end of the deal.

Then the 2012-16 deal was $18mil
ONE of the harshest critics of Tasmania's multi-million-dollar Hawthorn sponsorship deal will be front and centre today decked out in brown and gold to welcome the team and the Premiership Cup to the state.

Greens leader Nick McKim -- a passionate Hawks supporter and member -- has been a long-time, ardent opponent of the $18 million, five-year deal that has Hawthorn play four roster games a season in Launceston and "Tasmania" branded across its playing jumper.

The 2017-21 deal is worth $19mil
http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...n/news-story/222e30ba545f12d8905010d23a1c70b6
TASMANIA’S quest for its own AFL team remains on hold until 2021 at least, after the State Government recommitted to a five-year $19 million deal with Hawthorn. Premier Will Hodgman announced the contract extension at the president’s dinner at the MCG before the Hawthorn-Richmond clash last night.

Under the deal, Hawthorn will continue to play four roster games and a pre-season game in Launceston until the end of 2021.Despite committing to the new deal, the Government said a Tasmanian team remained its priority.

So that's why I said the Hawks jumper is worth about $2.5mil as the fee for a home game would now be about $350k. But its probably a bit less.

So $2.3mil/year for jumper + 4 games x $350k = $3.7mil x 5 years = $18.5mil + bonuses gets to $19mil

So if North gets $1.2mil/year + 4 games x $550k = $3.4mil x 5 years = $17mil + ????? bonuses = slightly less than $19mil.

I've always heard that their facilities were terrible, which made sense given how bad they've generally been since their last premiership.
You then keep hearing pre 2011 talk. Jump ahead a decade.

Back to my comment earlier in the day regarding a clause in Kenny the fuc*w*ts contract, that if he doesn’t make finals he is gone, well that came from an employee at the law firm who wrote the contract.
I hope that was the contract he signed at the start of 2021, not the previous one.

They would have played together at Fitzroy. True Royboys.
One lost 3 GFs as a player, the other one lost 3 GFs as a coach. In simpatico.

This whole scenario and pressure actually comes from the fact we failed to win GF in a decade with the lists we’ve had.

Kenny will turn this saga into wanting two more years next to keep working on the program.
The whole situation is ****ed!!!

Earlier this year when Ken was under pressure with his 0-5 start we had Caro on Footy Classified banging on about how Ken SAVED the club!!! Ken was thanked for that and for turning Port around in 2013/2014. In 2015/2016 he underperformed, but he was given some grace for his earlier work. In 2017 it really started to get interesting. As soon as we got belted by the Crows late in the season everyone knew we were just making up the numbers. It was at that stage where Koch and the board should've really been considering his future. At this stage he was contracted until the end of 2018.

What does the club decide to do at the end of 2017?
Give Ken a THREE year contract extension until the end of 2021...

2018 rolls around and we go from 11-4 to missing Finals but Ken is contracted until the end of 2021...this is when the club starts copping some flak and Koch comes out and declares that nobody was complaining earlier in the year!!! There's also the inconvenient fact that it would've cost too much to pay him out because you've prematurely resigned him for 3 seasons :thumbsdown:

In 2019 it's seen as a rebuilding year and Finals are missed once again. Covid and a soft draw in 2020 suddenly gave us an unexpected Premiership window, but it's not capitalised on. End of 2020 and Ken still has one year to go on his contract at this stage (contracted to the end of 2021). What does the club do!? Give him another TWO year contract extension to keep Ken here until the end of 2023!!!

This has now been a 5 year saga.

Koch copped some criticism in 2017 for not being satisfied with the season so he decided to retreat a little bit and get behind Ken. This is where the whole 10-year coach originated from because Koch didn't want to rock the boat.
Koch said 2017 was more successful than not, with Port Adelaide making finals for the first time since 2014.

Hinkley is contracted until the end of 2018, but has been linked to the vacant Gold Coast position.

Koch slammed suggestions Hinkley could be on the move, saying he and the club has “great faith” in its coach.

“I don’t know why there’s talk about Ken going to the Gold Coast because there’s another year to go on his contract,” Koch said.

“Over the summer we’ll talk about extending that because that’s the timetable Ken Hinkley wanted and we have such respect for Ken Hinkley that that’s exactly what we’re going to do.

“I’ve often said my job is to try and make Ken Hinkley a 10-year coach and give him all the resources to be that.

Perhaps the environment at the time with Hardwick winning a Premiership after years of being on the verge of being sacked also helped to sway the decision. Regardless, it was a monumental **** up and Port is still paying the price of it today and they didn't learn the lesson either, which is what is soo dismal about this whole situation.

The appointment of M Richardson was also another mistake in hindsight. Richardson has spent 20+ years at the club and has strong ties with Koch and Ken. It's going to be tough for him on a personal level to make tough decisions, which will in all likelihood sever some relationships. Hopefully he has the balls to put the club over his friendships and make the appropriate decisions, which need to be made. Time will tell!

To me, it just looks like Hinkley's in trouble, that's why the football "media" are directing all the criticism at David Koch, trying to pressure him into not pulling the trigger. Looks like Hinkley's manager is working in overdrive.

Be interesting to see what Hinkley is thinking.

Is his value as coach better now or next year in terms of getting another job. He'd know that at best 2023 is his last year as PAFC coach so is it better to move on your own terms? Particularly when there are 2 vacancies that he'd be a big chance to get.

Flip side is he may not want to coach again and he'll take from us what he can in the mean time.

I think I’d be more sympathetic to Hinkley if the media were going after him. The fact that he has underperformed as a coach for 10 years and the media are basically kissing the ground he walks on is so infuriating.

The media are acting like we the supporters are the issue for wanting a change after ten years of disappointment, which is just moronic

I think I’d be more sympathetic to Hinkley if the media were going after him. The fact that he has underperformed as a coach for 10 years and the media are basically kissing the ground he walks on is so infuriating.

The media are acting like we the supporters are the issue for wanting a change after ten years of disappointment, which is just moronic

Has literally never happened with any other coach in the sport.

It’s gunna be so funny next year when we sack Ken (or he walks away) by round 11 and the fact that we have missed a chance this year to get the best coach of the modern era because we were to scared to make the right decision in sacking Hinkley.

Wouldn’t be surprised if this club goes into shambles the next 3-4 years, bottom 4 etc.. this is a pivotal moment in our history. We will look back at this decision and say “what if”