Training 2023 Pre-season thread

I'm sorry but what stuff he writes do you have a problem with? I cannot recall a single particularly controversial thing he has written or said - he's pretty by the books in his reporting and if anything with the role as co-host of the club podcast for years has stayed on the side of being too lenient on things.

I'm not going to comment on him as a person as I don't know him at all but this comes across as a very very weird attack on someone in a manner they can't and won't be able to be defended on. I have no idea why Mike Whiting of all footy journalists would provoke this.
I’ll be genuinely shocked if you get a proper answer.

Wish I could go to the scratchie but HSC takes precedence. Hopefully dad can snag an Ashcroft signature on my behalf.

Real shame too since they're not playing in Sydney this year (Manuka doesn't count).

I’ll be genuinely shocked if you get a proper answer.

I don't mind Mike Whiting, but wouldn't say I find his articles all that interesting for the most part. Partly for his style of writing, but also don't really find the AFL.com.au stuff all that good. I'd much prefer reading Andrew Stafford than Mike.

Where I've enjoyed his work though is the podcast. He and Dom strike a good balance and enjoy listening every week.

Happy to make myself known to Whiting if he wants to step outside to settle something...pretty silly post but!!! We all have opinions of people. Mine on Whiting is based on the person I believe he is and the stuff he writes.
That said, it's an opinion of someone. I never used the word hate. I hate very few people in this world and Whiting isn't one of them. I simply dont rate him as a person or a journalist, that's it. Getting violent about that is really dumb, but, we all deal with things in our own ways don't we.
I also realise my opinion is an unpopular one for many here. Move on if you dont want to read it mate.

Consider yourself lucky dueling has gone out of fashion ;) Twenty paces at dawn.

Sydney squad and missing players taken from the Swans BF

SYDNEY

1. Chad Warner, 3. Dylan Stephens, 5. Isaac Heeney, 6. Logan McDonald, 8. James Rowbottom, 9. Will Hayward, 10. Aaron Francis, 13. Oliver Florent, 14. Callum Mills, 16. Braeden Campbell, 17. Will Gould, 20. Sam Reid, 21. Errol Gulden, 23. Lance Franklin, 24. Dane Rampe, 25. Cooper Vickery, 26. Luke Parker, 27. Justin McInerney, 28. Will Edwards, 29. Angus Sheldrick, 30. Tom McCartin, 34. Matt Roberts, 35. Caleb Mitchell, 37. Corey Warner, 39. Paddy McCartin, 40. Cameron Owen 41. Lachlan Rankin, 44. Jake Lloyd, 45. Hugo Hall-Kahan, 46. Lachlan McAndrew

Notable absentees: Hayden McLean, Ryan Clarke, Harry Cunningham, Tom Papley, Sam Wicks, Jacob Konstanty, Peter Ladhams, Nick Blakey, Tom Hickey, Robbie Fox, Joel Amartey

I'm sorry but what stuff he writes do you have a problem with? I cannot recall a single particularly controversial thing he has written or said - he's pretty by the books in his reporting and if anything with the role as co-host of the club podcast for years has stayed on the side of being too lenient on things.

I'm not going to comment on him as a person as I don't know him at all but this comes across as a very very weird attack on someone in a manner they can't and won't be able to be defended on. I have no idea why Mike Whiting of all footy journalists would provoke this.
There is not much I like about what he writes and I wont read it unless its in my face, but, seriously, its just my opinion of the man. ...Can we move on now???

After watching the Geel v Hawks game today I am prepared to say that if we beat G then I'll become a true believer. V v impressive with nowhere near their best in.

Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

After watching the Geel v Hawks game today I am prepared to say that if we beat G then I'll become a true believer. V v impressive with nowhere near their best in.

What was Hawthorne's team like?

More to the point, their midfield. They really stripped back their midfield, with an emphasis to play their kids. It'd be something us playing Lyons and Robertson as our two senior, starting midfielders supported by Tunstill and Ashcroft.

Accentuated by the fact that Hawthorn have an average list, even at full strength.

Unless he's still crook I would have thought Joyce got a run in this trial match. I'd have thought seeing what he has to offer in our backline, how he fits in, would have been a good idea. Especially when he will probably be an important cog in our tall defender stable this season. I get they may want to see what Rayner can do down back, but Cam already has that cohesion with the team regardless of position. That familiarity with players will be needed by Joyce and I reckon the more he plays with them the better and I'd rather see that start preseason than during the season.

Been a long day, I'm knackered. Hope you all understand what I'm trying to get at.

Yesterdays games are there to watch now so it will be the same
Was thinking of doing the 7 day free trial but want to be able to watch both games during the time I have. So may wait until the weekend at some point so I can definitely re-watch the Cats game too.

Every week I’ll start publishing my opinions of your child and what I think of their performance.

To me your child is simply a performer and I’ll write about them in a very matter-of-fact and sometimes casually brutal way. So, for instance if your child does not win an AFL premiership this year, I’ll be telling everyone that your child failed...again.

I’ll be just doing my job, the same way other journalists do. But after a while, because it’s your child I’m writing about, you may not see it that way.

Every week I’ll start publishing my opinions of your child and what I think of their performance.

To me your child is simply a performer and I’ll write about them in a very matter-of-fact and sometimes casually brutal way. So, for instance if your child does not win an AFL premiership this year, I’ll be telling everyone that your child failed...again.

I’ll be just doing my job, the same way other journalists do. But after a while, because it’s your child I’m writing about, you may not see it that way.
Wow. Bizarre stuff, if you’re not taking the piss.
And try to avoid Kane Cornes.

Are you suggesting this is what Fish does? I've never heard him suggest any player had failed by not winning a premiership. He would be one of the most even handed journos in the business.

I'm saying it's what every AFL journalist and fan does.

When we talk about a team failing we don't mean it personally. But the people in and around the team often take it that way.

It's just the way it is. It's a tough business on the people involved.

The Hawthorn team were terrible and will easily be the worst team in the competition this year. Hard to get much of a read on Geelong coming out of that game.

The Geelong mids played out of their skin last year and think they will struggle to back that up. I am expecting a drop off this season.

Training 2023 Pre-season thread