List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

NAS can f*CK off if he's the type that needs to hide behind his mother's apron. I'm sick of these entitled little shits and their fecking homesickness. Grow up, you know the gig you've signed up for. Don't be a fecking footy player if you're not up to the task. I'm sorry for the rant, but I personally couldn't wait to get the feck out of home and begin travelling when I was 18. If it had if been up to me, I would've been gone when I was 12. Then again, I'm awesome and am stupid enough to back my bravery in. These sooky little kids are weak as piss. Life isn't meant to be easy. You sharpen your wits on the whet stone of tribulation. We don't need feckers carrying hot water bottles and a thermos of warm milk at the club. If we go for a skills based player again...we go for one with set of balls and swagger, and back them in.
I'm with mowman on this one. We should've done our homework. Thought we were getting a raven and instead got a fecking homing pigeon. Bollocks.
He signed a two year contract, he is not an indentured labourer.
Would rather he stayed but if he fulfilled his contract and then wants out, well so be.
No need to abuse a kid because he doesn't want to sign another contract.
I want players who want to be there so he can go.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Sheila on Fox reckons Geelong are tired. Second game. Geez

Probably on the back of a lighter, smaller pre season

They do look a little lethargic

They will build as the year goes on like last year

Or Cameron might just get them over the line himself

Would rather he stayed but if he fulfilled his contract and then wants out, well so be.

I can see both sides of the argument, however, I'm confident he would've been asked the question pre draft, probably numerous times, would you be happy to move to and live in Melbourne if we drafted you?
If there was any doubt and we still decided to use a first round draft pick on him, whoever made that call should be held accountable.
And if he does want out, we should do the best thing for our club, not his personal preference in terms of SA club

Taking mature recycled players costs a role for a kid and even a late pick might be a star rather than a limited known quantity. We overestimated how close we were at the time. Being a bit shitter for a couple of years might have got us a couple more gun kids as well.
He came 2nd in our bnf and made the AA squad..... not bad for pick #50

Wowzers!

I'm not as both barrels as all that... but I do think the balance needs to be back away from players and towards clubs a bit.

I think players shouldn't be allowed to nominate specific clubs they want to be traded to.
They should be limited to only nominating a state.
I agree with that. I just can't wrap my head around these kids getting an opportunity of a lifetime, with the best of the best handed to them on a plate, but they still hold out their hand and cry for more. They've worked hard and are talented enough to get what they want, knowing full well that there are 18 clubs that have the opportunity to give them an opportunity....except that it isn't the exact opportunity that they wanted. It's just weird behaviour...and in the real world, incredibly unrealistic and spoiled.
Look, NAS will finish out his contract which is okay...and at least he didn't cry like a bitch in the same way his mate Horne-Francis did...but as a supporter it's hard to swallow. However as a supporter, I know that I'm meaningless to players with the ability to make a difference to our club.

I’m happy to stock up on draft picks if Ben King is an option post 2024 season. We’ll need three firsts to bring him in you’d think.

Would be a massive shame to lose Nas but if he doesn’t sign on the dotted line there’s not much we can do.

All in all our forward line needs a huge injection of talent so if he ends up being the sacrificial lamb so be it.

That's fair. My blood was up...I should've vented ages ago in incremental installments the way I usually do, but I kept telling myself that it didn't matter.
It did today 🤷🏼‍♂️
I like what the Steadier said about players not having the final say as to which club they go to. It messes with picks, swaps, and trades. It's hard to build, when players have too much say. Also, again...I think Mowman is ultimately correct. The club should have done it's homework better. NAS either lied, or the club hid it's head in the sand over homesickness.
Also, Christ... it's Adelaide. Half an hour on a plane...or a decent spin in the car. Does it even come under the umbrella of being homesick? Surely there's a prerequisite of distance required for the term to come into proper effect...and I'm not sure that Adelaide meets the criteria

He's a human being that's entitled to make the right choice for himself. If Nas leaves he'll have served out his contract, done a good job in his time here. We'll work out a deal that works for everyone and hope he isn't the gun that he looks like being.

Also, Christ... it's Adelaide. Half an hour on a plane...or a decent spin in the car. Does it even come under the umbrella of being homesick? Surely there's a prerequisite of distance required for the term to come into proper effect...and I'm not sure that Adelaide meets the criteria
j9XQccB.gif

For what it's worth, for supposedly already being the best kick on our list, NWM had 18 disposals last week, with 7 turnovers and 56% disposal efficiency. That kick inside 50 in the last quarter I think it was, was horrendous.

If he does decide to leave, I hope the hype surrounding his skills results in us obtaining significant draft capital/player swap.

For what it's worth, for supposedly already being the best kick on our list, NWM had 18 disposals last week, with 7 turnovers and 56% disposal efficiency. That kick inside 50 in the last quarter I think it was, was horrendous.

If he does decide to leave, I hope the hype surrounding his skills results in us obtaining significant draft capital/player swap
to be honest, his skills in games has been poor. I don’t buy this he is trying to take the game on excuse, he is not even looking half of the time, just rushing his kicks. Says to me he had not adjusted to the pace and physicality of the AFL game yet. After a full year in the AFL and another pre-season, it’s slightly concerning. Philippou on the other hand, much more assured, hardly turned over the football and he was playing in the guts some of the time, not running into space. Sorry don’t see the hype in the guy at all, wish he does better so we get a good draft pick for him though.

Don’t think that would make any difference tbh, the manager and player behind the scenes would just set huge wage demands on all the clubs they don’t want and still end up with the same result.

Nah, you can't be requesting different contracts from different clubs under this set up.

Would be as simple as this -

Nas wants to leave to go to SA.

Manager puts out contract requirements say 4 years, 2.8mil total.

Now both the Crows and Power can look at their list and their trade assets, and put forward offers to the club player X is leaving. If one club declines then the other gets a bargain, but it at least opens the door for a potential bidding war.

Imagine the fill up the Giants could have had with Taranto and Hopper last year if every Vic club could table trade offers? How quickly to they get to rebuild then after losing 2/3 of their starting midfield. Geelong, Collingwood, Essendon, St Kilda... Maybe even the Dogs after losing Dunkley... Would have been huge.

You can't tell me that Adelaide wouldn't look to rework their cap and list build and throw in a trade offer for Nas if the option was there?

As it stands though, he will nominate Port and we will have to cop whatever they put on the table, effectively making him a 20yo FA.

We aren't the first club to lose a home sick kid 2 years in. It is what it is, just need to make sure we are on the front foot now and getting something useful our of it

That's part of the problem. Port have nothing to trade with, no 2023 first round pick and wanting Kosi Pickett. Nas is lower priority to them. If he nominates Port we are ****ed unless they let us take a player like Bergman we are going to have to settle for a 2024 second round pick or something. Looking like a Jamie Cripps situation at this point.

I think we have to hope like hell that we can talk him round. Has all the hallmarks of putting 2 years into a player for someone else to get the benefits from.

We should be courting Bergman now just in case. They might let Sinn walk if he stays injured otherwise.

That's part of the problem. Port have nothing to trade with, no 2023 first round pick and wanting Kosi Pickett. Nas is lower priority to them. If he nominates Port we are ****ed unless they let us take a player like Bergman we are going to have to settle for a 2024 second round pick or something. Looking like a Jamie Cripps situation at this point.

I think we have to hope like hell that we can talk him round. Has all the hallmarks of putting 2 years into a player for someone else to get the benefits from.

We should be courting Bergman now just in case. They might let Sinn walk if he stays injured otherwise.
The only logical solution is to involve a third club. Port are going to have to pay up with a player, maybe a three way trade with one of the WA clubs for Georgiades could work.

We need good strong forwards going ahead. We were one of the lowest scoring teams last season, even with Max kicking over 50 goals. We had little or inconsistent input from flankers and crumbers. It was pretty obvious last week against Freo, and thankfully we played well defensively. Don't know who is out there in that category that we could go after.

The only logical solution is to involve a third club. Port are going to have to pay up with a player, maybe a three way trade with one of the WA clubs for Georgiades could work.

Georgiades would possibly get them enough for Pickett but they'd then need to trade out again to get Nas. I doubt he's their number one priority so might struggle to get anything meaningful out of it if they spend the whole trade period trying to get Pickett over the line. We need to hope Pickett signs up with the Dees.

Not sure trading Georgiades for Nas would be popular with their fans. I reckon Sinn or if Berg wants out is probably our best hope.