List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part I

Being serious for a minute, I reckon I'd try to hold on to Hotton. He was a bargain and adds something we don't have.
None of us has even seen him train let alone play.
He looks a likely type from his u18 videos, reckon he will be another surprise for us.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yeah, we need another quality small forward/mid

He has forward craft and run. I recon he'd make a great high half forward runner/wing type. I thought he'd go around picks 15 to 25. He looks a bargain at 35. I don't want to get too excited because I can't imagine a draft where we get multiple good players and we already look like we have some from 2022.

Have always heard Aust. nose beers aren't a patch on the foreign stuff sourced and enjoyed OS, can anyone qualify this?

There's cheap stuff overseas too, you want the stuff that the rock stars and hollywood actors get?
There is a reason why some of them keel over at 50
Its much easier to drive from Mexico to the USA with your natural produce , than it is to Australia , so you're probably right, Australia is more likely to have some toxic garbage that someone cooked in his basement.

Its probably easier to run a quality meth lab in Mexico than it is in the USA or Australia too.

Being serious for a minute, I reckon I'd try to hold on to Hotton. He was a bargain and adds something we don't have.
Can’t see Hotton going anywhere could be a very good player and if we do lose Gresham seems a good replacement

I really want Gold Coast to succeed and to hold onto their best players and build something as formidable as Matthews's Brisbane,

but selfishly, I'd also absolutely love to get Noah Anderson and Ben King home, particularly the former. Hope that Gubby is cooking something up with a certain Saints board member.

Please tell me how on earth we get Anderson …we would be selling the farm

The additions of Owens and Phillipou have hamstrung Sharman's chances as a forward.

All similar heights, 3rd tall forward-esque players with goal sense. But Owens and Phillipou are also dynamic mids.

Sharman no chance up forward behind King, Caminiti, Membrey, Owens, Phillipou.

On Pixel 6a using BigFooty.com mobile app
Owens and Phillipou are midfielders

I hope SOS/Ross make a dispassionate call on him. He'd be a nice addition but he's going to cost heaps in trade capital and cap space. He's still a player that is potential rather than a finished article. Joe Daniher looked like he was going to be one of the best forwards ever at the same age. Now you would find him frustrating more than exciting. You'd want to make a very calculated decision.

I want a list built to win a premiership rather than create a romantic one. Our history is littered with individuals over the team. Time to build a list.

There we plenty of examples of players that have started well and not went on as expected, just like there are plenty of examples of players that have started well and have continued on that trajectory.

Personality wise, King and Daniher couldn't he further apart. Daniher has never come across as a guy that does everything to get the best out of his footy.

To build a premiership list you need top end talent.

I think we are finally in a position where we have a fairly well balanced list. Having two quality key forwards like we have seen in 3 if the last premierships isn't going to hurt

It's not about romance for me, it's about talent.

Can’t see Hotton going anywhere could be a very good player and if we do lose Gresham seems a good replacement

Probably a big ask in the next couple of years but longer term. Probably more DMac type of mobile quick outside type IMO. But has a bit more forward craft.

There we plenty of examples of players that have started well and not went on as expected, just like there are plenty of examples of players that have started well and have continued on that trajectory.

Personality wise, King and Daniher couldn't he further apart. Daniher has never come across as a guy that does everything to get the best out of his footy.

To build a premiership list you need top end talent.

I think we are finally in a position where we have a fairly well balanced list. Having two quality key forwards like we have seen in 3 if the last premierships isn't going to hurt

It's not about romance for me, it's about talent.

Ben King is less special than Max. He’s much more straight lead up forward. I’m not against it but don’t think we need to sell the farm. Caminiti is working well and adds something different with his contested and defensive game. Getting more absolute top end around the mids or a quality rucking forward would be better use of capital. The list we have makes us competitive but at the pointy end you need stars.

Yep, he's a different player to Max, which is why I think they'd work well together. Ben could play up the ground more and pinch hit in the ruck. He is 204cm

Early days on Caminiti. We will know more about him by the time King becomes available. If he's tracking to be a star then that changes obviously.

Otherwise, Membrey is getting on so we are going to have to bring in forwards either way.

Think our list is looking pretty good.

We'd have 5 players that would be in All Australian discussions. Wilkie, Sinclair, Wood, Higgins, Battle.

That's without our captain

Crouch in career best form.

Agree that Crouch wouldn't be in AA discussions yet but if he improved just a little more I reckon he'd be close:

31.0 touches/game (7th in the comp)
13.6 contested/game (12th in the comp)
6.0 tackles/game (14th in the comp)
6.6 clearances/game (13th in the comp)

I guess the inside mids ahead of him are pretty good: Oliver, Cripps, Bont, Laird etc.