List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

Dev feels like another XON. I'm happy to pay peanuts in the hope he can get better if actually played on-ball.
They're different players. XON is an out and out mid who couldn't get the footy at AFL level. I don't see Dev being a top-line mid type.

Still don't understand the fascination with Deven Robertson.

He looks decidedly mediocre. The claim that he "plays a Jack Redden role" is complete bullshit. The only thing they have in common is that they both play/played for Brisbane.

IMHO, he would be marginal upgrade on Connor West. Marginal.

Let's be honest... if he wasnt Darren Glass' nephew, no-one here would give a shit.

If we can pick him up for a 4th rounder, I'd be happy to give him a 2-year deal. Otherwise, I'd rather save a spot for the mid-season draft.

He looks decidedly mediocre. The claim that he "plays a Jack Redden role" is complete bullshit. The only thing they have in common is that they both play/played for Brisbane.

Let's be honest... if he wasnt Darren Glass' nephew, no-one here would give a s**t.

If we can pick him up for a 4th rounder, I'd be happy to give him a 2-year deal. Otherwise, I'd rather save a spot for the mid-season draft.

Jesus couldn’t have said it better myself, crazy to think we’ve offered him a 4 year deal, he’s pretty average in a good team imagine him in the team we dished up from time to time this year.😂

I really don’t understand the hate for dev above. I thought he played his role didn’t make a mistake and put his head over the ball the entire game in probably not his most natural position.

He will easily be in our best 22 and get more true midfield minutes in which he will develop into a handy footballer along side our younger kids.

Let's be honest... if he wasnt Darren Glass' nephew, no-one here would give a s**t.

Totally different player to Connor West.

I really don’t understand the hate for dev above. I thought he played his role didn’t make a mistake and put his head over the ball the entire game in probably not his most natural position.

He will easily be in our best 22 and get more true midfield minutes in which he will develop into a handy footballer along side our younger kids.

The way our fan base turn on players that butcher the ball by foot I’ll love to see your stance on this by the end of next season if he comes over to us

Dev's main role would be as an enforcer to protect the Reid, Hewett, Ginbey young developing types.

I'm all for it, if it happens I reckon it'll get done pretty simply for a future 3rd or something (assuming Bris will need the points).

But hard to see him leaving Brisbane now tbh.

Nup. Would have him in my top 50 Eagles of all time. He was okay. Great running out of defence, but was unaccountable.

I think he’d be pretty stoked being in the top 50 eagles of all time, we’ve had some pretty good players over the years.

Dev's main role would be as an enforcer to protect the Reid, Hewett, Ginbey young developing types.

I'm all for it, if it happens I reckon it'll get done pretty simply for a future 3rd or something (assuming Bris will need the points).

But hard to see him leaving Brisbane now tbh.

Enforcer ? Just because he got his jumper ripped and threw it off on live tv doesn’t mean he is an enforcer, he ain’t no Maynard

Allow me to throw my two cents into this convo and point everyone to the zero centre bounces Robertson attended today. And yet he still wound up registering 13 disposals, 2 clearances and a goal playing primarily on what I presume was the half forward flank.

Brisbane are blatantly misusing DevRob. Trade him in on the cheap, play him mainly on ball and watch him surprise us all next year.

His disposal efficiency by foot is above afl average. I am comfortable with my call, he will be a great recruit.

Will wait and see , tbh I still don’t think he will come he will reject us like he did last time.

Yeah Langdon and SPS too😂
These guys are spuds. Add Collica, Taylor, Merenda, Prior......

Lots of them. But these guys average players at other clubs, and all had played plenty of footy.

Dev is 21. He's speculative. It's why he's a 3rd rounder. It's like a draft pick with 3 years in the system built it.

I have no idea if he will be a gun or not, but you guys seem to be convinced you already know. You're not saying, "pass, don't think he'll cut it", you're saying, "I can't see results now, therefore I know he's no good".

You know what would worry me about Dev? If he was getting 30 a game. That's a spud with his skillset.

He’s the one that could land anywhere between 3 and 10. Would be deck chair and popcorn material. Someone had a ripper gif for that.
Drama Popcorn GIF

These guys are spuds. Add Collica, Taylor, Merenda, Prior......

Lots of them. But these guys average players at other clubs, and all had played plenty of footy.

Dev is 21. He's speculative. It's why he's a 3rd rounder. It's like a draft pick with 3 years in the system built it.

I have no idea if he will be a gun or not, but you guys seem to be convinced you already know. You're not saying, "pass, don't think he'll cut it", you're saying, "I can't see results now, therefore I know he's no good".

You know what would worry me about Dev? If he was getting 30 a game. That's a spud with his skillset.

Is a bloke your trading in for a 3rd rounder worth a 4 year deal tho?, if we got him for a nothing pick and signed him to a 2 year deal I wouldn’t be bothered yeah no worries go for it nothing too lose, but a 4 year deal and trading a 2nd round draft pick for him ? Really?