List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

Why do the Lions have the power?
He'll be out of contract.

There's no way in the world we should be offering overs in terms of coin and length of contract.

If we want to get him out of Brisbane we need to be offering more to leave than they are for him to stay

It’s Robertson we have to convince

If we do that then the trade is a separate issue with Brisbane where we do have the negotiating power especially with pick 1 in the PSD (I doubt it would come to that though)

A lot of kids from the Dragons out there. Don't know how they have such powerful squads year after year.
Basically has a very broad reach of affluent suburbs from Coastal Melbourne, stretching from Port Melbourne to Beaumaris. Covers all major private schools, which also means it picks up more than other clubs school boarders like Chesser (Albury, Nsw) and Sanders (Tassie).

Affluent areas in Melbourne seem to get more footballers than non Affluent areas. Who knows why? Better opportunities?Good genes?

They do seem to get 5-7 draftees per year.

Had a good mate, who's business partners son should've been out there today but was pissed off as AFL made sure had equal weighting from all states. He's another Sandy Dragon.

Basically has a very broad reach of affluent suburbs from Coastal Melbourne, stretching from Port Melbourne to Beaumaris. Covers all major private schools, which also means it picks up more than other clubs school boarders like Chesser (Albury, Nsw) and Sanders (Tassie).

Affluent areas in Melbourne seem to get more footballers than non Affluent areas. Who knows why? Better opportunities?Good genes?

They do seem to get 5-7 draftees per year.

Had a good mate, who's business partners son should've been out there today but was pissed off as AFL made sure had equal weighting from all states. He's another Sandy Dragon.
I think they need to see how the kids from the Northern markets compare. These kids grow up in a bubble. They're playing in comps that are nowhere near the standard of the comps in footy states. I watched a couple of this kids go through juniors, and while my gut feel was they'd get drafted, you just never knew if they could cut it against the best kids from a vastly larger pool.

He was decent first half. We can do better
He is a best 22 player (just) in the second best team all year and had a decent first half in what is the most high pressure game against the highest quality opponent for the year. Are you really confident we can do better with pick 38 (about 45-50 in real terms) in the draft?

Noah Long is proof of that.

Phil says this draft is very deep in terms of players with draftable AFL characteristics. I'd take a crack at it

The unknown for Robertson is, he gets a dozen possessions with good players around him. How will he go with more opportunity perhaps but lesser players helping him?

Still late 30's early 40's would be ok. But i cant see Brisbane letting him go for that.

The unknown is, he gets a dozen possessions with good players around him. How will he go with more opportunity perhaps but lesser players helping him?

Still late 30's early 40's would be ok. But i cant see Brisbane letting him go for that.
He's played as a defensive forward and not a starting mid.

Kills it in the VFL, which is all we have to go off but it's more than any other developing mid we've had in the WAFL produce so it's worth giving him a shot if we can get him for areasonable rpice.

Personally, I'd rather just double-down on Culley and Trew(if he remains). Culley's got comparable stats to dev, despite only just over half a season in the AFL and Trew improved out of sight in the WAFL in the latter half of this year and should be given opportunity as an actual mid if he's retained.

The unknown for Robertson is, he gets a dozen possessions with good players around him. How will he go with more opportunity perhaps but lesser players helping him?

63% Time on ground. Playing as a defensive flaker and someone to use to interchange on and off.

Was used as a role player not in his prefered role.

Will he make way next season with improvement in others at the Lions? What sort of contract will they offer?

Allow me to throw my two cents into this convo and point everyone to the zero centre bounces Robertson attended today. And yet he still wound up registering 13 disposals, 2 clearances and a goal playing primarily on what I presume was the half forward flank.

Brisbane are blatantly misusing DevRob. Trade him in on the cheap, play him mainly on ball and watch him surprise us all next year.
And the irony was there midfield misfired all day. Apart from mccluggage the rest were ordinary. At VFL he is in the middle all day and dominates.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

So.. the club apparently having a fair crack at Oscar is Essendon. 7 year deal, $1.3 mill per year. Captaincy offered after 2 years. Not actually going to leave (obviously) but we’ll have to have a big offer on the table for him/hj’s franchise, which will chew up a bit of cap.
Thank god the season proper is over and we can revil in silly season again.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

yeo had his 30th at the Broken Hill today and only Eagle to rock up was Darling. Does this mean the rumours are true?

What rumours?

Shocked Episode 2 GIF by Friends
Oh My God Wow GIF by The Roku Channel
Season 18 Omg GIF by America's Got Talent

Noah Long is proof of that.

Phil says this draft is very deep in terms of players with draftable AFL characteristics. I'd take a crack at it
And Lachie Neale went in the 50s too. It’s still very rare. I’d happily give up a late 30s pick for a known quantity.

Reporting on the Dev thread that he's said he's already re-signed.

I know the quantity and I'd rather take a draft pick regardless

Reporting on the Dev thread that he's said he's already re-signed.

I know the quantity and I'd rather take a draft pick regardless
Saw that. Personally hope it’s not true, reckon he’s exactly the type of player that would complement Reid, Ginbey and Hewett and is far better than a late draft pick. But good for him if he wants to stay with his mates and try and stay in contention.