List Mgmt. Trade & Draft Discussion 2023 post season - Picks Reid,30,40,49,66 (Bush league)

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Hello Eagles fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Keys you may like to sticky this post & move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread if you have one.

Yep Darling to Nth makes zero sense for any of the 3 parties.

If he moves across the country I assume he would want to go to a contender to chase a flag (fair enough)

Nth need someone to develop next to Larkey, not a 1-2 year stopgap

WC - Darling is clearly liked, a very good player, and has a chance to do something very uncommon (300 games, and become our all time 2nd leading goal kicker).

Very odd rumour.

I get they're light on talls, but an undersized forward for a rebuilding side when they desperately need KPD is odd. If it was McGovern they wanted it would make more sense, but not from a salary dump.

Whole lot of wat here.

We already have the 1st pick in the 2nd Round. The NM compo pick is for the last pick in the 1st round.
I know. I’m not sure if you followed and understood my post if you are highlighting that.

You do end up with that NM PP. Hence having picks 20 (end of first round) & 21 (beginning of second round) and those picks have each moved back one spot, as I factored in NM receiving pick 3 as compo for losing McKay.

Who are you hearing the 3 top 20 picks from? Surely we wouldn't agree to such a crappy deal?

What's the noise around the eagles and their beliefs on Reid?

From what bond was saying months back it seemed we were going to demand a kings ransom at the very least and that Reid was incredibly highly rated by WC.

Maybe the Eagles consider 2, 14 and 20 as a very good offer for pick 1. I think whichever team can offer the Eagles the best multiple top 20 picks will likely get pick 1.

But the Eagles do want more picks in the top 30.

Maybe the Eagles consider 2, 14 and 20 as a very good offer for pick 1. I think whichever team can offer the Eagles the best multiple top 20 picks will likely get pick 1.

Really we should be taking that offer but by god don't take Curtin at 2. Good player. Seems a good dude. Will be a great player, just not at all what we need.

If that's the hand we're given, take the cheeseman and be done with it.

Really we should be taking that offer but by god don't take Curtin at 2. Good player. Seems a good dude. Will be a great player, just not at all what we need.

If that's the hand we're given, take the cheeseman and be done with it.

With all the academy etc picks that would give us 5 top 30 picks but I'd be shocked if we didn't take Curtin at 2.

With those picks blowing out due to nga bids it's flipping sad that we'd make a trade like that.

With those picks blowing out due to nga bids it's *ing sad that we'd make a trade like that.

The NGAs are all known though, still leaves all the available kids. No point worrying about players we never were able to get.

I hope ROB can be seen in the trade room on draft day wearing a "G'day from WA" tshirt, reading Hansard from the WA secession referendum era with his wang out.

I hope we turn up with a number 9 guernsey with Reid's name printed on the back.

Preferably a tailored fit just so Harley can rib Chesser and his draft night photo.;):tearsofjoy:

What is the traderadio content to advertising ratio, 1 to 3?
1/3 is ads, 2/3 is meant to be content but is filled with 30 secs of ads at the start of each "section".
A 2 hour show is probably 1 hour of actual footy talk

Not really sure why they would come out with the "very special" line in public if it's not going to involve a couple of top 10 picks. 2, 14 and 19 is a fair offer, sure, but wouldn't exactly excite the fan base.

I'd really love for Dees to get a top 5 pick for Oliver (hello Hawks), that would make them major players for pick 1.

That is huge unders for Oliver though.

Sure he seems a flog, and there are red flags to go with the hair, but is a 3xAA, 2xAFLCA champion, 4xB&F winner, premiership player and is only 26 (27 mid season next year).

Pick 3 (likely 4) shouldn’t cut it.

And if they then traded 4 + 6 for Reid (Oliver + 6) that is nuts.

That is huge unders for Oliver though.

Sure he seems a flog, and there are red flags to go with the hair, but is a 3xAA, 2xAFLCA champion, 4xB&F winner, premiership player and is only 26 (27 mid season next year).

Pick 3 (likely 4) shouldn’t cut it.

And if they then traded 4 + 6 for Reid (Oliver + 6) that is nuts.

If any of that happened it should be alarm bells for us as to how good they're projecting Reid to be. In which case we just take Reid.

I hope we turn up with a number 9 guernsey with Reid's name printed on the back.

Preferably a tailored fit just so Harley can rib Chesser and his draft night photo.;):tearsofjoy:
It'll fit Chess one day

It has been blindingly obvious for some time that that is exactly what is hapenning. It is being very clearly communicated to us behind closed doors that he doesn't want to come here. Look at the incredibly tepid statement his management released from him about the possibility of him coming here last week. And that wasn't an off the cuff statement, that was a carefully thought through and planned statement. They are being as clear as they can be (without being accused of draft tampering and saying things that will make life for difficult for him here if we do draft him) that he doesn't want to come here. How any posters on here are still ignorant of that is astounding.

3 year initial contract as opposed to 2 years doesn't change the calculus much. It gives us one extra year to get him settled in and change his mind about going. Thats a positive but a small one. The reality is if he leaves straight after his initial contract he will be an unrestricted free agent as he will not be one of the 10 highest paid players at the club (correct me if i am wrong about that Keys), and he will be going back to Victoria and thus likely be able to use PSD blackmail on us. We likely won't get fair value for him in a trade plus we will be back to square one after having invested 3 years of development into him.

The club wants to trade down and split the pick. The other clubs all know this. North are not going to make an offer unless and until another club makes a credible offer that we might actually accept first. They are going to hope we don't get a credible offer and we end up holding on to the pick and just take Curtin on the day leaving Reid for them at pick 2. They will likely take this ploy all the way (even though there is a risk that we do take Reid if we keep the pick) because there is a better than 50% chance we won't take him and the pay off for them if it works and things play out that way is pretty high. The other clubs are going to hold back offers until the last minute and see if they can come in with a last minute low ball offer that takes advantage of our enthusiasm to split the pick and it will leave limited time for North to consider their options and come in with another offer that trumps it.
Crap!!!!