Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

Good to hear we’ve started our new nga academy in Wyndham area

Who are some of the last talents from that area that have been draft that would have qualified nga/multicultural?

I’m assuming it’s none of late so we’ll need to buck the trend there

I find it interesting they say they have "officially restarted our NGA academy" without being specific of the area. We were certainly behind the 8-ball with the Tasmanian one and this kind of suggests it was dead.

Edit: the article on the North website says "North Melbourne has officially restarted its Next Generation Academy (NGA) after the program was put on hold during the Covid-19 pandemic" which is disappointing.

I asked PMBangers his thoughts in this thread somewhere sorry can’t find.

He is obviously objective and knows the draft class.

His take was a great result for WCE would be to try and get 2 top 10 picks.

For us it would be 2/15.

I reckon it will be somewhere in between that, it will come down to us finding another top 10 pick I think.

Talk of 2/3 is ludicrous and no one outside of supporters would think that is reasonable.

Hasn't he dropped!!! From top 3 to what, almost in the 30's or 40's?

To be fair, there are a lot a great young U17 midfielders...if you watched the futures game...not many 195+ KPP!!

Ashton Moir From potential 1 to outside 40.
Pat Weckert from potential top 10 to most likely not drafted
Will Lorenz from potential top 10 to most likely late ND or rookie
Alex Holt from potential first round to late ND or rookie

Even Archer Reid, early days he was talked about as a top 5 pick and it's not likely he won't be taken in the top 20.

A year is a long time in footy that's for sure.

Even Archer Reid, early days he was talked about as a top 5 pick and it's not likely he won't be taken in the top 20.

Yeah, I remember some talk we were happy to have a couple of first rounders as it was a KPP draft. I certainly remember Will Lorenz getting talked up.

For us it would be 2/15.

I reckon it will be somewhere in between that, it will come down to us finding another top 10 pick I think.

Talk of 2/3 is ludicrous and no one outside of supporters would think that is reasonable.
Say his name 3x times in the mirror with the lights off and he appears
Via our boy PMBangers

october-png.1831923

40 WHOLE players for what will likely be the last rankings update of the year, wowee!

I've gone back and watched a * tonne of footy the last 4 weeks for the RMC draft profiles, that are currently being uploaded to RMC daily so do make sure to check in (all the good ones are the ones I've done) for an in depth analysis of some of your favourite prospects! I'm pretty happy with where most of the players sit, the tiers have made themselves pretty obvious through the rewatchings, most of the difficulty came from actually ordering within them, so I'll go into depth here about the posts. Of course feel free to ask questions, make comments, leave admirations, etc. in response to this

Tier 1; Harley Reid, Jed Walter (Gold Coast)
Not much needs to be said, Reid is arguably the best junior prospect we've seen in a long time with a very well rounded game, if he can get his endurance to the standard of a full time AFL midfielder it'll be ******* scary regardless of where he ends up. Walter follows that high bar up by being one of the best and well rounded KPF prospects we've seen in a long time, there's not much he doesn't do offensively that guys like JUH, Kingx2, etc. did do, but Walter wipes the floor with them in regards to his defensive game. For a Ceiling description, I could see these two being the best player in the competition at some stage in their careers if all goes well

Tier 2; Colby McKercher, Ethan Read (Gold Coast), Zane Duursma, Daniel Curtin, Ryley Sanders (North Melbourne after 40), Connor O'Sullivan, Nick Watson, Nate Caddy
Pretty even group with a bunch of different strengths associated with all these guys and, in my view, very little bust potential, and the fact that a guy like Sanders is in discussion for Pick 5 and also the back end of this group pretty well highlights the evenness of it, although I did consider doing a Tier 2 (A) with the first 4 and a Tier 2 (B) with the latter 4, just because I see them all as having similar ceilings but do feel there's a slightly higher bust risk with Sanders, O'Sullivan, Watson and Caddy.
Ceiling Description; Multiple AA's/ Top 5 players on a list if all goes well

Tier 3; Darcy Wilson, James Leake, Caleb Windsor, Jake Rogers (Gold Coast), Ollie Murphy, Jordan Croft (Western Bulldogs), Mitchell Edwards (Fremantle after 40), Riley Hardeman, Harry DeMattia, Koltyn Tholstrup, Archie Roberts, Will Graham (Gold Coast), Luamon Lual (Western Bulldogs after 40), Will McCabe (Hawthorn), Lance Collard (West Coast after 40), Tew Jiath (Hawthorn after 40)
A lot of names in this tier and similar to Tier 2 I could've split it into Tier 3 A) with the guys placed 11-18 and Tier 3 (B) with the rest for the same reason.
Ceiling Description; AA selection/ Multiple AA Squad of 40's/ Top 10 players on a list

Tier 4; Will Green, Charlie Edwards, Angus Hastie, Taylor Goad, Harvey Johnston, Joel Freijah, Phoenix Gothard, Archer Reid, Zane Zakotelsky, Wil Dawson
Smaller tier than previous, but this is essentially the last of the group of players in this years crop that I think would be genuine National Draft contenders in most draft years, which pretty much sums up how I view the draft and why I think there's so many teams avoiding completely trading out of the top 35, and actively looking to get into the top 15, Green and Goad I still think end up pretty good Number 1 Rucks at AFL level though, which will present some value if they slip into the mid to late 30's/ rookie.
Ceiling Description; Top 15 players on a list

Tier 5; Koen Sanchez, Arie Schoenmaker, Billy Wilson, Lachlan Charleson, Oscar Ryan, Caiden Cleary (Sydney), Clay Hall, Jack Delean, Will Patton, Ashton Moir, Logan Morris, Kynan Brown (Melbourne), Vigo Visentini, Tarkyn O'Leary, Kade De La Rue, Geordie Payne, Jack Callinan, Ry Cantwell, Cooper Simpson
Weird tier to explain but I'll try so bear with me. There are some players in this tier like Moir, Sanchez, Wilson and Schoenmaker that I think have a ceiling that warrants being in tier 3, but have a lot more work to do to get there than the others in higher tiers so the risk wouldn't be worth it to me, and the rest are similar in the sense that I think they're all capable of becoming best 22 regulars or role players, but the potential to be in AA conversations or real difference makers each week just isn't there in my eyes, and if I'm being harsh a good chunk of this tier would be rookie's at best in stronger drafts.
Ceiling Description; Best 23 Player

Luke Trainor played in the futures....he's already 195 I think.....Doug Wade's grandson.
Yeah at first sight of him, I reckon he'll be a KPF by the end of next year...and l already hear the 'Bontempelli' phrase being thrown around for Smillie..what is he 193/4cm and 90+kg running around midfield,back & forward.
Tyler Welsh kicks like's his old man and is a solid unit...pity the dreaded 'homesickness' got his old man after we won the flag would've have been nice getting him under F/S.

Do you think Schoenmakers will be off the board by then?

Forgot about him - slot him in between Green and Windsor
Hey souup what’s your opinion of picking up Tew Jiath at one of our later picks?
watching highlights he certainly looks the goods and finding out he basically top the kicking stats throughout the carnival, makes me sit up and take notice, he’d be a slow burn but 18m into the system he could end up looking like Goater, same size shape.

I don't see him close to a top 30 prospect for a few reasons:

1. His disposal by foot is ok but there's a serious lack of creativity or versatility in his use by foot. 80%+ of his kicks go long to a contest, and the ones that go short are safe sideways/backwards kicks. Very rarely will he try to bite off a 45 through the corridor.

2. He doesn't provide a lot of rebound and is average when it comes to his intercept game.

3. His athletic testing numbers are again, just average. His brother is quite dynamic, flies well, rebounds with enthusiasm, tests well from an endurance point of view, whereas Tew hasn't shown that to this point and his athletic testing numbers suggest he needs to work hard if he's going to get there.

If his last name wasn't Jiath, I'm not sure he'd be considered a top 30 prospect by anyone. I like him as an option with a late selection or a rookie, but he's not a 1st or 2nd rounder for me.

Completely agree. That's why the whole “we should trade our F1 pick” is reckless given where we are at. Sure we're ‘stacked’ for mids and next year's draft might have some great mids coming through but so much can change in a year; form, injuries etc. both to the draftees and our list. We're still a few years away from even considering trading out an F1.

Forgot about him - slot him in between Green and Windsor

I don't see him close to a top 30 prospect for a few reasons:

1. His disposal by foot is ok but there's a serious lack of creativity or versatility in his use by foot. 80%+ of his kicks go long to a contest, and the ones that go short are safe sideways/backwards kicks. Very rarely will he try to bite off a 45 through the corridor.

2. He doesn't provide a lot of rebound and is average when it comes to his intercept game.

3. His athletic testing numbers are again, just average. His brother is quite dynamic, flies well, rebounds with enthusiasm, tests well from an endurance point of view, whereas Tew hasn't shown that to this point and his athletic testing numbers suggest he needs to work hard if he's going to get there.

If his last name wasn't Jiath, I'm not sure he'd be considered a top 30 prospect by anyone. I like him as an option with a late selection or a rookie, but he's not a 1st or 2nd rounder for me.
Thanks Souup, always the difference between watching a couple of highlights and actually watching the full game again.
By the sounds of it he’ll end up lucky hawks NGA pick again.

For us it would be 2/15.

If we can find another top 10 pick, surely we keep it and use it. That's like saying Roughead, Franklin, and Lewis? Yeah nah, let's trade a couple out so we can get Deledio.

Schoenmaker, Edwards, Hastie, Jiath, Lual, Freijah, Green, Roberts, Dawson, Archer Reid and Zakostelsky would still be on the board if the draft went like image. Options for rucks, half-backs, wingers and even a tall forward. I don't think we'll be disappointed on the night.

I think some of us might be disappointed by what we decide not to select from that bounty.

I find it interesting they say they have "officially restarted our NGA academy" without being specific of the area. We were certainly behind the 8-ball with the Tasmanian one and this kind of suggests it was dead.

Edit: the article on the North website says "North Melbourne has officially restarted its Next Generation Academy (NGA) after the program was put on hold during the Covid-19 pandemic" which is disappointing.

Should read, it was put on hold during Covid-19 and not restarted to save costs and potentially cost us priority access to Jack Callinan.

West Coast are trying to find a way of picking McKersher but not lose face with their supporters.

If they keep pick #1 and dont pick Reid there will be an uproar so if they can save face by trading it out for pick#2 and something else from North they then will have a wayout of saving facing and getting McKersher who they really want...Unless North pick Mckersher first...:laughing:

l'm thinking North will get pick #1 and WC #2

NM: Reid
WC: Mckersher
NM: Duurmsa/Sanders/ Curtin or Watson..
I can't help but think we want both Tassie boys who have some synergy and relationship as well as Sander's relationship with Sheez. Reckon. Season gone when Wardlaw was playing time and again he and Sheez dishing it off to one another. Expand that circle to include those boys, I think goes a long way to building a tightly knit group. No coincidence our team in the 90's mostly came through U 19 together.

Good to hear we’ve started our new nga academy in Wyndham area

Who are some of the last talents from that area that have been draft that would have qualified nga/multicultural?

I’m assuming it’s none of late so we’ll need to buck the trend there

12-16 yo hey,,,,,please tell me this fella is 12!!!

1697590702726.png

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]