West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)

Yes, you shouldn't get any assistance for 10 years. Freo hasn't got any and it's been 10 years since we were in a grand final. We also got raided for players regularly, the same that saw Brisbane & Gold Coast get assistance in the past.

When we were struggling no one came to help and they shouldn't be helping the richest club in the land with the most resources. It's your time to be at the bottom.
Crazy how many people still don't understand what priority picks are for. They aren't given out to teams who haven't played in grand finals or won flags they're given to teams who are exceptionally uncompetitive. We should be giving the saints priority picks every year based on your logic, they haven't won a flag in 58 years.

You were raided for players and you were well compensated in exchange, and ended up better off in several instances. If we're going to start using the amount of cash reserves a club has as an argument then get rid of the all of the salary caps in place that stop us actually using it.

no. 3rd rounders have 0 value. Late 2nd rounders have 0 value. A pick around 19 or 20 (maybe 23-24 with f/s picks, academy picks etc.) for a top 5 pick. no chance
It’s the same rort that gc and gws do though

I just can’t get my head around copping decades of shit for being irrelevant, flagless and recieved 0 priority pics.
But the most successful non vic club on and off the field who won a flag 6 years ago and has had 3 years without finals “deserves” priority pics.
PATHETIC, as much credibility as the umps.

How are we getting pick 1 and 2? And why would we pay such an insane price for someone who's a free agent next year?
Isn't this thread about a PP?

A PP could possibly get you 1 and 2?

And he's a RFA so you'd need to outbid GWS. So that price isn't all that unrealistic. It's very realistic. His next contract will be well over a million a year regardless.

I just can’t get my head around copping decades of s**t for being irrelevant, flagless and recieved 0 priority pics.
But the most successful non vic club on and off the field who won a flag 6 years ago and has had 3 years without finals “deserves” priority pics.
Agree. Maybe consider it in 2026.

But boy the Eagles are shit. Shittest side in the AFL era.

Isn't this thread about a PP?

A PP could possibly get you 1 and 2?

And he's a RFA so you'd need to outbid GWS. So that price isn't all that unrealistic. It's very realistic. His next contract will be well over a million a year regardless.
Less than 0 chance we get a start of first round pick, we'll be lucky to get half of what north has gotten.

If we did by some miracle and we decided to trade that and pick 1 for a guy who's an rfa next year then the club should be folded, there's no way GWS could match our bid if we wanted him that badly, we will have more spare cap space than any team in the competition over the next few years.

I just can’t get my head around copping decades of s**t for being irrelevant, flagless and recieved 0 priority pics.
Winning a flag 6 years ago doesn't mean we haven't endured an unprecedented injury run over the last few years coinciding with short sighted soft cap cuts that hit our club harder than most, as well as early retirements of several talented players including 2 first rounders due to concussion, and then to top it off trying to rebuild in the drafts with the most bloated amount of FA compo/priority picks/academies/FS we've ever seen leading to our 2nd and 3rd rounders being pushed out nearly a round. Meanwhile the team finishing above us last season gets 5 priority picks and a fudged pick 3 because the AFL conveniently forgot to scale the FA compo against the new salary cap.

I understand that you're salty about your lack of team success but take the purple tinted glasses off and understand that priority picks are to help a team be competitive, not to gift them flags. If west coast have another terrible season and just like last year their post first round picks are going to be decimated by the assortment of benefits the AFL have been handing out lately to other clubs, many of whom play finals, then why shouldn't they receive some form of assistance, even similar to that north received in 2022 to trade in some senior players to fill list gaps?

Winning a flag 6 years ago doesn't mean we haven't endured an unprecedented injury run over the last few years coinciding with short sighted soft cap cuts that hit our club harder than most, as well as early retirements of several talented players including 2 first rounders due to concussion, and then to top it off trying to rebuild in the drafts with the most bloated amount of FA compo/priority picks/academies/FS we've ever seen leading to our 2nd and 3rd rounders being pushed out nearly a round. Meanwhile the team finishing above us last season gets 5 priority picks and a fudged pick 3 because the AFL conveniently forgot to scale the FA compo against the new salary cap.

I understand that you're salty about your lack of team success but take the purple tinted glasses off and understand that priority picks are to help a team be competitive, not to gift them flags. If west coast have another terrible season and just like last year their post first round picks are going to be decimated by the assortment of benefits the AFL have been handing out lately to other clubs, many of whom play finals, then why shouldn't they receive some form of assistance, even similar to that north received in 2022 to trade in some senior players to fill list gaps?
"Unprecedented injury run."

Seriously delusional and why you shouldn't get a PP.

Some humility and self awareness is needed here and you need to acknowledge your list management strategy has been absolutely horrendous.

The injury thing is complete bullshit and been debunked many times.

Half your list isn't AFL standard and Injuries have nothing to do with it.

You're senior stars or either unfit or shit.

Add to the on field effort, defence, chase and tackle is absolutely appalling. Which is a coaching issue.

The only bloke who has fronted up every week and been professional is Tim Kelly.

That's the whole point though. You have only been pathetic due to injury according to the club, media and fans. The coach has survived due to this and the backroom people are only slowly starting to change. Therefore it's only really this year of being bad that needs addressing, so you have three years to go before you get the North B package.

Spare me two lost to injury. Sheppard was old anyway and any games post 30 is a bonus still. Venables wasn't exactly looking like a decent player and would have been a role player at best if he made it. Those two players would barely help your current side. It's your drafting 2015-2021, player development, WAFL setup and Management that has caused all the issues. You still haven't fixed a lot of them or even started. No free picks to you sort them all out.

Suns shouldn't have received anything for stuffing up their initial list and development so the AFL comped them
North shouldn't have received anything for cutting their list too hard but the AFL comped them
Eagles shouldn't get anything for hanging on to their premiership players too long but the AFL wil comp them

Rich clubs dont = success. Look at the Dallas Cowboys and New York Knicks - BASKET CASES bereft of success yet worth billions

Some humility and self awareness is needed here and you need to acknowledge your list management strategy has been absolutely horrendous.

You're senior stars or either unfit or s**t.

Add to the on field effort, defence, chase and tackle is absolutely appalling. Which is a coaching issue.

The only bloke who has fronted up every week and been professional is Tim Kelly.
Sorry when was it debunked? I must've missed it. The injuries on a whole are a lot better this year so far but the reality is no club has had their key players miss as much football as west coast has over the past 3 seasons. I don't remember any team ever requiring state league top ups like we did in 2022.

You admit the senior players have been unfit but fail to understand that missing months or even seasons of football is obviously going to result in subpar fitness. Kelly came across at the exact same time that Yeo developed osteitis pubis and Shuey's body began to break down with a series of hamstring and calf injuries, which has put an unfair burden in the midfield on his shoulders. This all coincides with the covid soft cap cuts which hurt our club more than most as we have the greatest travel burden so the players need a greater recovery focus than teams that don't travel as much, as well as the simple fact that we have a smaller pool of potential medical and recovery staff to hire from and generally have to pay them more if we want to bring anyone across from the eastern states.

There are many reasons we have been as poor as we have, some of those self inflicted but several out of our control as well, but name me a team that received priority picks that weren't poor for mostly self inflicted reasons. Is it anyone elses fault that North have been as poor as they have, yet they've received 5 priority picks and a rubbish compo pick 3.

That's the whole point though. You have only been pathetic due to injury according to the club, media and fans. The coach has survived due to this and the backroom people are only slowly starting to change. Therefore it's only really this year of being bad that needs addressing, so you have three years to go before you get the North B package.

Spare me two lost to injury. Sheppard was old anyway and any games post 30 is a bonus still. Venables wasn't exactly looking like a decent player and would have been a role player at best if he made it. Those two players would barely help your current side. It's your drafting 2015-2021, player development, WAFL setup and Management that has caused all the issues. You still haven't fixed a lot of them or even started. No free picks to you sort them all out.
Nobody said that's the only one, it's just a significant one. There has been massive staff turnover over the last couple of years, not "slowly" as you suggest.

North have only been terrible since 2020, and received priority picks in 2022, we have been terrible since 2022 and if it continues this year then that would lineup with the same timeline as north receiving a start of 2nd and 3rd round pick in 2022, which is all I'd be arguing for this year.

Sheppard was approaching 30 but he was all australian the season prior to retirement and he wasn't getting battered in the midfield or key positions so no reason we couldn't have gotten several more seasons out of him, he was still playing at his all australian level before the head knock.

Venables was tracking well for a player who missed a lot of junior footy as well as his entire first season due to foot injuries. He turned the corner in 2018 and played in a winning grand final side, his production was low but that would've improved with continuity, he used the ball well and offered a lot defensively and a lot of his team mates think he would've transitioned to the midfield and become a great player. Disregarding a first round draft pick who had to retire after his first full season of footy doesn't make your argument any stronger.

The poor wafl arrangement is our fault now? You keep proving you don't know anything about what you're trying to talk about.

Nobody said that's the only one, it's just a significant one. There has been massive staff turnover over the last couple of years, not "slowly" as you suggest.

North have only been terrible since 2020, and received priority picks in 2022, we have been terrible since 2022 and if it continues this year then that would lineup with the same timeline as north receiving a start of 2nd and 3rd round pick in 2022, which is all I'd be arguing for this year.

Sheppard was approaching 30 but he was all australian the season prior to retirement and he wasn't getting battered in the midfield or key positions so no reason we couldn't have gotten several more seasons out of him, he was still playing at his all australian level before the head knock.

Venables was tracking well for a player who missed a lot of junior footy as well as his entire first season due to foot injuries. He turned the corner in 2018 and played in a winning grand final side, his production was low but that would've improved with continuity, he used the ball well and offered a lot defensively and a lot of his team mates think he would've transitioned to the midfield and become a great player. Disregarding a first round draft pick who had to retire after his first full season of footy doesn't make your argument any stronger.

The poor wafl arrangement is our fault now? You keep proving you don't know anything about what you're trying to talk about.
Following what North got can't be the only criteria though, the balancing is to address the inequities within the system. WC has many, many advantages that they have squandered in the pursuit of another flag and due to the ego of the dictators in charge. The club has also have blamed injuries, not an uncompetitive team on their woes so they can't get free picks based on a temporary problem.

Venables got 4 disposals in the GF. He was set to make it as big as other grand finals stars like Mitch Morton or Billy Frampton.

And yes, the WAFL arrangement is WC's fault. How is anybody else to blame when they made the decision to go ahead with their own stand alone club? WC are not victims of anything but their own stupidity. Freo has gone with a different model which has been highly successful and one of the reasons why we are developing so many good young players.

You're senior stars or either unfit or s**t.

i mean it was a pretty wild outlier
GameslosttoBest22.png

Following what North got can't be the only criteria though, the balancing is to address the inequities within the system. WC has many, many advantages that they have squandered in the pursuit of another flag and due to the ego of the dictators in charge.
What many advantages do WC have and squander? Money we can't spend?

Chasing another flag isn't due to the "ego of the dictators in charge", that's what you do when you win flags. It didn't work out and that's footy, but north going the other way and selling off all of their mature players before they went to shit got them in the same place that chasing a 2nd flag got us.

The club has also have blamed injuries, not an uncompetitive team on their woes so they can't get free picks based on a temporary problem.

Venables got 4 disposals in the GF. He was set to make it as big as other grand finals stars like Mitch Morton or Billy Frampton.

And yes, the WAFL arrangement is WC's fault. How is anybody else to blame when they made the decision to go ahead with their own stand alone club? WC are not victims of anything but their own stupidity. Freo has gone with a different model which has been highly successful and one of the reasons why we are developing so many good young players.

Injuries are a massive part of the blame, but what the hell does "not an uncompetitive team" mean? You aren't making any sense.
It's not a temporary problem when you have early retirements, you have young guys also playing through injury who would've normally been developing in the WAFL or resting who then further damage their bodies which has knock on effects in future seasons.

Since when does a poor grand final performance in a young player mean they can't go on to have a successful career? Elliot Yeo only had 5 disposals in 2015, he then went on to win b2b best and fairests in a flag year 2018 and 2019. I'll back in the opinions of people who played football with him over that of a bitter fremantle supporter.

Freo aligned with peel who weren't a traditional WAFL side and were much easier to work with, East Perth weren't happy with the alignment as it meant they couldn't play their non WC affiliated players whenever they wanted, and that was a big reason for the split. The WAFL then hamstrung us by only allowing a minimal amount of WAFL top ups which meant half the team were ammos players which meant the bottom half of the team is of a far lower skill level than other WAFL sides. Then when the injury crisis struck it meant we had a handful of first and 2nd year players alongside an ammos team, it's no wonder it has been a shitshow.

You need to stop getting your regurgitated opinions from fox footy and ******ed radio hosts.

What many advantages do WC have and squander? Money we can't spend?

Chasing another flag isn't due to the "ego of the dictators in charge", that's what you do when you win flags. It didn't work out and that's footy, but north going the other way and selling off all of their mature players before they went to s**t got them in the same place that chasing a 2nd flag got us.

Injuries are a massive part of the blame, but what the hell does "not an uncompetitive team" mean? You aren't making any sense.
It's not a temporary problem when you have early retirements, you have young guys also playing through injury who would've normally been developing in the WAFL or resting who then further damage their bodies which has knock on effects in future seasons.

Since when does a poor grand final performance in a young player mean they can't go on to have a successful career? Elliot Yeo only had 5 disposals in 2015, he then went on to win b2b best and fairests in a flag year 2018 and 2019. I'll back in the opinions of people who played football with him over that of a bitter fremantle supporter.

Freo aligned with peel who weren't a traditional WAFL side and were much easier to work with, East Perth weren't happy with the alignment as it meant they couldn't play their non WC affiliated players whenever they wanted, and that was a big reason for the split. The WAFL then hamstrung us by only allowing a minimal amount of WAFL top ups which meant half the team were ammos players which meant the bottom half of the team is of a far lower skill level than other WAFL sides. Then when the injury crisis struck it meant we had a handful of first and 2nd year players alongside an ammos team, it's no wonder it has been a shitshow.

You need to stop getting your regurgitated opinions from fox footy and *ed radio hosts.
I'm saying I believe that your team was already cooked in 2022 because its age demographic was shocking and all your old players were your best players besides Allen. Most of them were 30-35 and the few who were under 30 had been injured for years. The club still made excuses about injury's being the main cause which the fans have run with so if it was injury and WC were really an 8-10 win team in 2022 + 2023 then the club should not be getting priority picks.

What has the age of the WAFL club got to do with alignment? It's all about negotiating with the WAFL club on what the benefits you can bring them and the agreement around the players. Instead of negotiating with East Perth or even shifting to Perth who would have been far more receptive to WC, the ego's running the club decided to go it along with their massive bank balance and agreed to fielding ammo's along side their AFL players. It's been a disaster from the start that was a predicable outcome based on the concessions the WAFL allowed and WC agreed too.

Following what North got can't be the only criteria though, the balancing is to address the inequities within the system. WC has many, many advantages that they have squandered in the pursuit of another flag and due to the ego of the dictators in charge. The club has also have blamed injuries, not an uncompetitive team on their woes so they can't get free picks based on a temporary problem.

"Following what North got can't be the only criteria though..."

No its not, but the AFL has an option of stepping in now in a lesser way, or having to step up later with at least a North 2023 level assistance package or greater.

Its all very well to say leave it to 2026/28, but WC is historically bad now (percentages don't lie) and it is simply impossible to rebuild from the basement up with yearly picks of 1, 30, 52 etc.

May beat Tiggers this week, but won't change the fact that two end of 1st rounders this year that have to be traded may just do the trick of reversing a basket case.

Otherwise imagine the whining from Sydney supporters (who make entitled Karen's seem perfectly rational) and Freo supporters (who I can accept being rampantly anti assistance, because we hate them back) when WC end up with multi season high end PP's just as Tassie come in.

Interesting also that the AFL is about to be hit with a shitestorm over the drop in indigenous recruiting (with this and next years drafts, looking at having the lowest ever AFL indigenous participation, whilst indigenous player numbers in the AFL simultaneously plummet).

WC and Freo Next Gen academies are the key to turning this around and I am not sure the AFL can continue to expect the WA clubs shoulder the financial burden of growing indigenous representation without giving them greater access to the kids they are training up and educating on what is expected at a professional level.

Particularly when you can jump into a car to say Bendigo and offer support to indigenous footy development:

1712817939183.png

Whilst in WA you have:

1712818184581.png

Would rather fix the Next Gen access than PP's, but will take both :)

"Following what North got can't be the only criteria though..."

No its not, but the AFL has an option of stepping in now in a lesser way, or having to step up later with at least a North 2023 level assistance package or greater.

Its all very well to say leave it to 2026/28, but WC is historically bad now (percentages don't lie) and it is simply impossible to rebuild from the basement up with yearly picks of 1, 30, 52 etc.

May beat Tiggers this week, but won't change the fact that two end of 1st rounders this year that have to be traded may just do the trick of reversing a basket case.

Otherwise imagine the whining from Sydney supporters (who make entitled Karen's seem perfectly rational) and Freo supporters (who I can accept being rampantly anti assistance, because we hate them back) when WC end up with multi season high end PP's just as Tassie come in.

Interesting also that the AFL is about to be hit with a shitestorm over the drop in indigenous recruiting (with this and next years drafts, looking at having the lowest ever AFL indigenous participation, whilst indigenous player numbers in the AFL simultaneously plummet).

WC and Freo Next Gen academies are the key to turning this around and I am not sure the AFL can continue to expect the WA clubs shoulder the financial burden of growing indigenous representation without giving them greater access to the kids they are training up and educating on what is expected at a professional level.

Particularly when you can jump into a car to say Bendigo and offer support to indigenous footy development:

View attachment 1956201

Whilst in WA you have:

View attachment 1956206

Would rather fix the Next Gen access than PP's, but will take both :)
I think some of the reason WC has also been hamstrung is the back ending of contracts. You were basically were maxed out with cap last year from the reports I heard and haven't been able to recruit some fringe best 22 players or free agents to help support the youth. Hopefully that will change this year, get a new coach, get some enthusiasm into the club. If you are still historically bad after that in 2025 then sure get the priority picks like Norths two packages. 2024 is just too soon when you have not tried everything like North had for no result.

I like how you say 'have not tried everything' when the only thing you are referring to is sacking the coach. As if that ever just fixes everything automatically. I suspect the coach not being sacked is tactical, to ensure the worst performances are under Simpson and not the new coach, whose career is then over before it starts.

And I reckon Simmo is well aware of that fact, the man has class.

No team should be receiving PP's or assistance (outside of starting up packages new sides to the comp like Tasmania will get).

Additionally top teams should not have access to top talent in the draft via Academies or F/S. The purpose of the draft is to help the worst teams bring in the best young talent, to improve their list and rise from the bottom. But that's all been compromised, and teams are gaming the system.

So, scrap it all, at least for the first round at the minimum.

It doesn't need to be a complicated system.
  • No F/S or Academy bid matching for all teams across the 1st round. If teams want them, trade up for them.
  • No discounts for bid matching from round 2 onwards.
  • No compensation for Free Agents. Teams either have to cough up picks (the value of which is dependent on the contract value) or work a trade agreeable to both sides if they're an RFA.
This is spot on. The first round should not have academy, father son or priority picks. Doesn't have to be done immediately, but an overview is needed. When Tasmania comes in, if the current system is still in place, a team might not get their first pick until 30+.