Geelong to go undefeated for the rest of 2024??

No

I’m going to love the outcome of this season for Geelong. Looks better and better each week.
It's a pathetic existence to death ride another club.

I'd rather literally any club win the premiership if it meant the one I support is competitive rather than awful.

It must suck to start from the position of worrying what happens to another club and working back from there.

Chris Scott deserves his own thread to be honest.

Where is he at?

300 game at 75% ?

It's pretty incredible.

He'd be leading the votes for coach of the year award so far.
To get us in this position with a starting centre square trio of Atkins, Bruhn and Parfitt is nothing short of incredible.
He's annoyed me at times over the years but absoluteoy coaching as well as ever right now. I don't think anyone else is getting as much out of what they have and having players in the absolute best role for the team to win.

I just love how the main board focuses on the two FA in JC and Danger and one F/S who took years to become good and then apply that to whole list, while ignoring all the players that have developed under Scott using late picks like the Guthries brothers, Blitz and Stewart, Close, Miers et al

Just never ceases to amaze me
It's the role players I'm referring to not the stars. They are better than most role players at other clubs and can have significant impact on a weekly basis. Miers, Close, Blicavs, Zac Guthrie etc. There's no way in the world these players develop the same way anywhere else. These are the guys that are keeping Geelong relevant and it's a credit to them.

He's annoyed me at times over the years but absoluteoy coaching as well as ever right now. I don't think anyone else is getting as much out of what they have and having players in the absolute best role for the team to win.
Coaching at the top of his game.
It's the role players I'm referring to not the stars. They are better than most role players at other clubs and can have significant impact on a weekly basis. Miers, Close, Blicavs, Zac Guthrie etc. There's no way in the world these players develop the same way anywhere else. These are the guys that are keeping Geelong relevant and it's a credit to them.
Agreed.
Look at how role players have gone at other clubs after leaving Geelong eg. Lang, Murdoch, Fogarty, Christensen, Smedts, Kersten, Walker, Fort, Ratugolea, Horlin-Smith etc.
All were far better players at Geelong.

Fair play to the cats, they somehow keep on bucking the conventional wisdom of needing to rebuild and stock piling top end talent. They have also managed aging stars expertly, seeming to extract the maximum out of veterans for like Hawkins, Selwood*, Duncan, Tuohy, Blicavs, Dangefield etc. They sit 6:0 in a year where 8 teams realistically can win it. The worry for them is 10 players on their list being over 30. A rush of injuries like what happened to West Coast in 2021/2022, themselves in 2023 and Richmond this year, may expose them. Keep a relatively fit side heading into september and they are as good as anyone.

Is that the same "role player" that's won a couple of B+F's??

I said it at the time and I'll say it again.. the AFL using their Gold Coast franchise to hand Geelong pick 7 after winning the flag in 2022 was an absolute disgrace! The draft is supposed to be an equalisation measure, and this goes against its purpose!!

As a cats fan I didn’t like it either. But the cats played within the current rules, which should be reviewed, as it was not brought into do that and was not the original intention of the rule. However, under the current rule, every other club would have done the same. So the AFL has some explaining to do and should be altered to not happen again.

I don’t see anything wrong with it. To get that pick, Geelong had to take on Jack Bowes sizeable contract (which they were able, with Bowes agreement to restructure).
Gold Coast were desperate to find some salary cap relief so made a deal to get what they wanted.
Win/win.

Cats are smart club. Just keep staying competitive and then strike when there's not a dominant team around. Never bought into this fall off a cliff stuff, much like Sydney. They have a homeground they just know how to play well on, they just look for players who fill a need and they keep a structure and gamestyle that is always competitive.

You'd take a flag every decade and your club always competing, as a dynasty era is just a megastar player away. They rode out the Hawks era, rode out the Richmond era, snagged a flag (no surprise it was against the other club that does things the same way), and if no one steps up to be the side of 2024, the Cats will just take that spot no worries.
Very professional destination club, Geelong. They're everything I want Essendon to be.

David King predicted us to finish bottom 4 this year.
Montagna had us in the 8. He was also big on us in 2022. Love that Joey isn’t a salty flog even when he could be about 2009. He’s a pro.

David King on the other hand can’t be unbiased. Been calling for a Cats downfall for years. Only gave respect by the end of 2022 when his stats told him Cats were first in attack, defence and transition scoring.

Damo Barrett had us for Premiers but even I think that’s a bit OTT.

With everyone else having lost a game in 2024.. the question must be asked, can Geelong go undefeated?? I don't see why not! All the leg ups from the government and AFL have made them far too strong!!

I said it at the time and I'll say it again.. the AFL using their Gold Coast franchise to hand Geelong pick 7 after winning the flag in 2022 was an absolute disgrace! The draft is supposed to be an equalisation measure, and this goes against its purpose!!

Move this to bay13

If it benefits the two clubs and they have a mutual agreement then what is the issue??? It has nothing to do with the feelings of the 16 other clubs.

They have the best coach in the business and has been near the top for a decade. Whilst he has still got his sharp mind for the game there not going to bottom out at all even with a few retirees. That's not being a smart Alex as a Hawks fan it's begrudging respect. What he is doing with a decent list but not the best talent wise is remarkable. The big tests will come when they play the teams around them but I doubt it will worry them.
If you listen to him speak in the media and pressers, he is an intelligence level above most others in the industry.. a very deep thinker and analytical mindset with a ferociously high standard and competitive streak.

The most hated coach votes also says it all on big footy (Aussie tall poppy syndrome).

I don’t think he will fall away. He is not one of those coaches who comes up with something revolutionary and then once it’s worked out he has no more tricks up his sleeve.

Scott has adapted many times geelongs way of playing and is just an incredibly intelligent footy mind.

As long as he wants to coach geelong he can stay including any rebuilds imo. Give him tenure

Never been coach of the year which is just nuts.

Yeah he should have at least one.

But coach of the year generally means the team that has “most improved” from last year.

Geelong has been consistently good since Scott took over so his superb coaching abilities have been hidden a bit due to this imo.

If you listen to him speak in the media and pressers, he is an intelligence level above most others in the industry.. a very deep thinker and analytical mindset with a ferociously high standard and competitive streak.

The most hated coach votes also says it all on big footy (Aussie tall poppy syndrome).

I don’t think he will fall away. He is not one of those coaches who comes up with something revolutionary and then once it’s worked out he has no more tricks up his sleeve.

Scott has adapted many times geelongs way of playing and is just an incredibly intelligent footy mind.

As long as he wants to coach geelong he can stay including any rebuilds imo. Give him tenure

Extremely smart man.

I believe sometimes too smart in where he can overcomplicate the game a little. Dangerfield forward in the 2019 prelim wasn’t a great move for example.

Did you ever get that vibe 2012-2021?

Do you think he'll stay for longer than Sheedy did as coach of Essendon?
I remember when Sheedy was the most hated coach by opposition fans because of how successful Essendon were under him, right now it feels similar when it comes to us and opposition fans hating Chris Scott.

Scott is still relatively young too, so age certainly isn't going to be an issue.

Geelong to go undefeated for the rest of 2024??