EDFL Premier Discussion 2024

• Thread starter Thread starter Localblues

I went to a bit of the EK game...I can't see the boss sticking it out. Seems very sad. Poor fella.

Heard DS put the foot down on AH and it was a landslide late.

DP struggling or tough draw?

PV going well. Apparently dominated the ruck and in key spots?
EDS are well coached and have some talented players, would expect them to keep improving in what is tough comp

Might pay to watch a full 9 rounds before making bold predictions. Abers will surprise most teams and likely to bounce back big time in 2024!
No need...seen enough,
Might pay to watch a full 9 rounds before making bold predictions. Abers will surprise most teams and likely to bounce back big time in 2024!
No need....PV's pace and list very impressive, especially the young guys...the game plan is at infancy stage, once that's down pat theyre the contender next to Keilor...very impressed with Tudor's relationship with this group, he's got them onboard.

Pat unbackable to be gone by R6 if not sooner. I can see some forfeits coming from East Keillor from then on. No Pat = no match payments = no players. There will then be an exodus of EK players to Deer Park.
DP are playing on max points as is, this would be an unusual move.

Entertaining certainly isn’t the way my source saw him. Nor did a strong contingent of the GV faithful. Certainly sounds like he needs to make it known to everyone how important he (thinks he) is
Wow. I was at the match and didn't notice much going on other than the Greenvale runner is a show pony.

Are you one of these people who spend their whole lives looking for drama?

lol. Having heard about what happened from a few people, you must have been the other side of the ground, blind and/or deaf to claim that not much went down. Mark was creating and looking for drama all throughout. Was apparently pissed as a nit too.

The runner in question got hounded by that campaigner for no good reason the whole day.

You can actually hear it in the footage. Some good responses from the GV crowd - even had the cameraman laughing!

lol. Having heard about what happened from a few people, you must have been the other side of the ground, blind and/or deaf to claim that not much went down. Mark was creating and looking for drama all throughout. Was apparently pissed as a nit too.

The runner in question got hounded by that campaigner for no good reason the whole day.

You can actually hear it in the footage. Some good responses from the GV crowd - even had the cameraman laughing!
Congratulations to Greenvale on providing a first class facility, a game played in good spirit and outstanding sausages with onion and dead horse.

After Round 2 you can book the Grand Final in now, Pascoe Vale in the home rooms, Keilor in the away as per usual, the rest of the league is not even in the race. Tudor v McGuane, will be a great contest.

Strathmore finished with 17 and have a dozen or so best 22 missing right now… I wouldn’t call it too soon.

Well this round left things to be desired. The whisp was hit by a haymaker by a couple of clubs.

1. The stars have shined in places where they shouldn’t. Great performance from them. Avondale showing last week was a flash in the pan.
2. Abers did what they had to do. EK flipping the crowd off while they’re down 40. Very EK of them. Someone check on Pat, he’s gonna jump off the sinking ship or should I say sinking Yacht.
3. The Jets flew in a shape of a W, downing the woeful DP. Deer park need Daw ASAP. Deer Park playing like a warm beer.
4. Keilor March onwards. What a team. What a club. League of their own.
5. Anticlimactic. Pascoe Vale have shown Terrific Tudor and co are eyeing of Mighty Mick and his men. Disappointing from Strathmore. Outplayed, outcoached, outhunted. They have the bye this week so soul searching will be done to find their griff groove again.
Settle down Marty, you couldn’t have coached that any better. A dozen or so of the best 22 out and injuries all day long. Just need to be healthy when it matters

Strathmore have overcome injuries and slow starts many times in recent years. Anyone dismissing them is crazy at this time of the year. When (if), Vavra & McKernan play in the same game they will be a vastly different team.

Vavra, McKernan, Jones, Jarrad, guys at VFL, their bnf winner all missing.. then a bunch on injuries during the game. I think full strength sides need to be seen before we call the GF teams lol.

Not sure about a doz or so out mate.

On Pacco I just read the local leader article on Tudor. Good read. Pacco development of there young group is the key to any surge upwards. They have put time into the juniors and it’s now starting to show. Good on them and probably a model a club like EK need to look at. Although yes it’s easier said than done, but need to invest heavily in juniors. Give up 1 senior player at say 1000 and give that to a junior footy director each week to build a program. Avondale appears to be trying to build from below as well after struggling for juniors a few years back.

Clubs like Marby will be back in premier within 1-3 years. Yet a club like Keilor Park will always struggle just due to the area and just no kids around. Area around East Keilor is older as well so it’s a tough gig but it’s doable to get a program up I reckon, especially with the facilities which can help.

Back onto the article and Tudor did say Strathmore had injuries and ran out of legs a bit. I know i follow Pacco but it would be great to see them reach a GF as it’s different to seeing SM or Abers vs Keilor. 😄

On Pacco I just read the local leader article on Tudor. Good read. Pacco development of there young group is the key to any surge upwards. They have put time into the juniors and it’s now starting to show. Good on them and probably a model a club like EK need to look at. Although yes it’s easier said than done, but need to invest heavily in juniors. Give up 1 senior player at say 1000 and give that to a junior footy director each week to build a program. Avondale appears to be trying to build from below as well after struggling for juniors a few years back.

Clubs like Marby will be back in premier within 1-3 years. Yet a club like Keilor Park will always struggle just due to the area and just no kids around. Area around East Keilor is older as well so it’s a tough gig but it’s doable to get a program up I reckon, especially with the facilities which can help.

Back onto the article and Tudor did say Strathmore had injuries and ran out of legs a bit. I know i follow Pacco but it would be great to see them reach a GF as it’s different to seeing SM or Abers vs Keilor. 😄
From what I seen Rd.1, Abers will be right in the mix as well. Loads of talent and have quality in all the key positions. Anyone of 4 right now. With the other 6 being reasonably close and should see plenty of good games between them. Relegation battle already looks a raffle, injuries and form could be telling. The bottom 6 team that can cause an upset to the top 4 might be the team that seals up 5th.

Abers over AH by 50
Airport West over EDS by 12
Pascoe Vale over DP by 70
Greenvale over Ek by 6

Yes he has publicly came out and said he has done all he can at EK and that he is out at years end.

That is simply not true and i am holding you to account on that statement!
Pascoe Vale had 7 of the clubs own juniors in that team on the weekend (and a couple being listed could be argued)
  1. Matthew Watson
  2. Paul Ahern
  3. Ben Allan
  4. Sebastian Carta (played in 18s flag last year)
  5. Lachlan Stredwick
  6. Aaron Hilton
  7. Charles Bolmat
Round 1 vs Doutta played on max 46 / 46 points
Round 2 vs Strathmore played on 42/45 points

Good balanced team, good coach and good recruiting but dont play the development of the young group as the improvement

That is simply not true and i am holding you to account on that statement!
Pascoe Vale had 7 of the clubs own juniors in that team on the weekend (and a couple being listed could be argued)
  1. Matthew Watson
  2. Paul Ahern
  3. Ben Allan
  4. Sebastian Carta (played in 18s flag last year)
  5. Lachlan Stredwick
  6. Aaron Hilton
  7. Charles Bolmat
Round 1 vs Doutta played on max 46 / 46 points
Round 2 vs Strathmore played on 42/45 points

Good balanced team, good coach and good recruiting but dont play the development of the young group as the improvement
Not sure you’re really up with things Torp. However the Torp was overtaken by the drop punt a long time ago 😄

Pacco had a lot of kids in that side as stated by Tudor if you read the article ( yes it will cost you) and they all came through Pacco 18s. Granted some came from playing lower level at neighbouring clubs, but not all did.

Noah Scott 18 year old
Dylan Exposto
Carled El Khoder 18 or 19 year old
Noah Hijazi 18 or 19 year old

All played on the weekend as well as the names you mentioned so makes 11 half the side.

Torp do you just enjoy watching Keilor v Strathmore / Abers. This competition needs to get better and help from league officials and AFL vic would help.

Points wise did they go over 46? So not sure if your problem there. Even if they do go over the league would allow it as they have before. 👍😂

The issue - maybe the biggest issue - is the stories of big premier div clubs chasing high level 15 year olds.

Have a family friends boy who plays Western Jets who gets calls weekly from two massive premier clubs I will not name. Unsustainable stuff.