Why is there a Fitzroy board?

• Thread starter Thread starter JoffaMan

Yes, I believe that is what he is asking. The AFL after the last game against Fremantle in 96.

Well nothing really. The club had arranged for drinks at the Brisbane Hotel for players and visiting supporters after game but nothing at all from the AFL. All of the music and special tribute after the game was organised by Fremantle God Bless Them.

A few of us trainers whom paid our own way over to Perth had to get on the next flight home as we couldn't fly with the team on Ansett but had to fly QANTAS back and we joined the players for the wake the next day.

All of the music and special tribute after the game was organised by Fremantle God Bless Them.

That's one of the two reasons I have a soft spot for Fremantle. The other is that they kindly provided us with our one and only win in 1996.

A few of us trainers whom paid our own way over to Perth had to get on the next flight home as we couldn't fly with the team on Ansett but had to fly QANTAS back and we joined the players for the wake the next day.

The AFL's lack of effort for our last game in the competition after 100 years was a disgrace. Another reason why I have nothing but contempt for those on the AFL commission at that time. Graeme Samuel and Ross Oakley may have been the public face of the commission in its' treatment of Fitzroy, but others such as John Kennedy senior, Ron Evans, Terry O'Connor, Colin Carter, Wayne Jackson and Ian Collins were complicit as well. John Kennedy senior and Ron Evans in particular played VFL games against Fitzroy and one would have thought that they at least would have wanted us to exit the competition with some sort of significant tribute/fanfare/commemoration.

I think Brisbane should have always worn the traditional Fitzroy jumper for away games in Melbourne, would have been a great nod to the the old supporters.

Of course they should have, but that effwit Noel Gordon would have put a stop to that..

I for one might have even got on the Brisbane/Fitzroy "merge" if that happened...and I reckon a whole lot of Royboys would have done the same...
Clearly they should not have worn it. Two teams merged why give one favouritism over the other?

Why is there a Fitzroy Board??

Clearly very few people go on it so it seems pointless to me that there is a whole board on a club that doesn't exist

Re: Why is there a Fitzroy Board??

Mobbs, do your stuff and remove this gnat to the right place. PLEASE!

haha, a thread like this comes up every few months.

get ready, fitzroy fans are going to bring up many facts about how the lions are still a club and still exist....

Clearly very few people go on it so it seems pointless to me that there is a whole board on a club that doesn't exist

Mate, very few people is better than none so obviously people are going on it and if it is just one person going on it then keep it, does it really bother you okay, if you don't like it just ignore it:thumbsd:

Its great that you guys have a board for Fitzroy still. Don't listen to the idiots who are bagging this thread. The thing about our great game is that it brings out passion of supporters and people want to be true to a team that gave them a lot of enjoyment, even it it was 10 or more years ago. Only AFL can do that. How many forums are there for other defunct(not sure what the correct word here is as Fitzroy still exist) for teams like the Newtown Jets, Gold Coast Giants/Chargers, Western Reds, Adelaide Rams, Hunter Mariners, etc...

That's one of the two reasons I have a soft spot for Fremantle. The other is that they kindly provided us with our one and only win in 1996.

You guys also provided us with our first win in the AFL in 1995. Cheers:thumbsu:

I was at the last ever Fitzroy game, at subiaco. It was a sad day really. I remember the game itself was pretty average and we won pretty easily, but in the crowd there was a lot, and i mean heaps of "older" people, those from a generation when Fitzroy were quite strong and a threat in the VFL. Probably people who were watching them in the 1960's-80's. It was really packed that day at Subi, they had a ceremony after the game and no one left, not even the Freo fans, and someone sang auld lang sine over the loudspeaker. It was kind of a bizzare funeral kind of feeling. Shame it was in Perth when it would have meant so much more to those in Melbourne

You guys also provided us with our first win in the AFL in 1995. Cheers:thumbsu:

I was at the last ever Fitzroy game, at subiaco. It was a sad day really. I remember the game itself was pretty average and we won pretty easily, but in the crowd there was a lot, and i mean heaps of "older" people, those from a generation when Fitzroy were quite strong and a threat in the VFL. Probably people who were watching them in the 1960's-80's. It was really packed that day at Subi, they had a ceremony after the game and no one left, not even the Freo fans, and someone sang auld lang sine over the loudspeaker. It was kind of a bizzare funeral kind of feeling. Shame it was in Perth when it would have meant so much more to those in Melbourne

Nah, I think it was quite appropriate we played our last game against your mob. In with the new (your mob), out with the old (us). It was indicative of the way the game would inevitably head. Brutal I know, but the way I feel.

Also, knowing Freo people as I do, I much preferred them to be hosting us, at least they are 'real footy people'. You did us proud that day. I still can't type that last sentence without tearing up, mostly in recognition of the respect you showed us.

If we'd played our last game against a Melbourne team, I'm afraid all of the crocodile tears the opposition supporters shed would have stuck in my craw. There were so many teams who were part of the VFL/AFL who did nothing but strip the bones of the carcass that was Fitzroy, over its last thirty years. The second-last game against Richmond was bad enough from this perspective.

Just have to say I love the idea of the Fitzroy board. :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Great to see the clun hasn't disappeared into the minds of everyone.
As far as I am concerned, it is the Brisbane and Fitzroy FC and I hope that the idea of playing in the Fitzroy guernsey for Melbourne games come in to fruition. I thought it looked great to see the Hawks v Fitzroy jumper this year.