Review Rozee's Port adelaide respond with a loss

For five of their past 6 Showdown wins stretching back to 2019.

It’s genuinely insane.

They've been efficient up forward since Sanderson was in charge. Him, Walsh, Pyke, Nicks - it doesn't matter who is coaching them, they can score and we can't.
We know who the common denominator is.
Frustrating doesn't even begin to describe.

I decided to look at some stats comparing this week's game to last week against the dogs.

Last week:
-7 for contested ball (taking free kicks and contested marks out of the equation)
-14 clearances
-26 inside 50
+16 clangers
-90 on the scoreboard.

This week:
+22 contested ball (taking out contested marks and free kicks)
+27 clearances
+21 inside 50
+6 clangers
-5 on the scoreboard.

Port essentially dominated last night as much as the dogs dominated Port last week. But because of Ports fücking useless and inefficient gameplan, it's all for nought.

The only silver linings I'm finding is that they're moving the magnets around and finding out that a few players look like they'll have a future in their new roles. Ie Rozee to half back, Moraes on the wing, Bergman in the guts and Visentini in the ruck.

The biggest concern though was in the final quarter they reverted to type bombing it in long, after all season legitimately looking for a target in the forward 50 on the lead. Training that Hinkley ball out of them when the pressure is on is going to be a herculean task for Carr straight out of the gate.
Great post Chewy.The stats say it all.
On a normal day in a normal world.
Port should win this showdown by at least 5 goals.
Erratic inside 50's.Its the coaches job to come up with a solution during the game.
Rioli was allways a risky recruit.Given the history at the coasters.Cost us the match last night.
Goodbuy 2025

IMO no Port supporter can blame other supporters who have switched off to this absolute waste of a season that for some completely unknown reason was gifted to a coach by a house wife tv `star' who knows as much about football as a canary knew why it was being taken into a coal mine.

I absolutely f****** hate losing and particularly to the mob down the road, but I had the best sleep I've ever had after a showdown loss and I wouldn't have thought that was possible after a game we should have won even with the non contributors like Lord and McEntee, but to paraphrase Power Lil, it's another day closer to never having to see daddy donuts or hear any more of his `it's a tough game and someone has to lose' defeatist BS ever again!
Yes understand this totally. Its more an annoyance with the lack of them acknowledging the role the Special Ks have played in our repeated failures. They are not open to a conversation on this which frustrates me.

****ing Farrell, don't get me started. A player who literally NEVER wins a 1-on-1 marking contest. If they are gonna keep playing him off a HBF, get him in the ****ing gym. You need to be able to at least halve a contest.
Could be said about most of our listed players. And how long have we been saying it! God I hope Josh doesn't think like these idiots in charge now!

Was driving back from the country ,last night.Listening to ABC radio.Despite the closeness of the Showdown.Allways thought we,would find a way to lose.
On a posotive note.A number of key players stepped up for the match.
Dont know what happens for the rest of 2025.No finals,end of a coaches 12 year reign.
Would like to thank Ken for his time rebuilding the club.But think he should walk away and hand over to Josh,this week.If 2025 doesnt improve under,Josh.
We look elsewhere for 2026.
Cmon Ken its time to go.Its the club interests over any one person.

Apart from thilthorpe who is a contested marking beast, this is largely down to game style. There are 30 players in our forward line at all times. Adelaide’s slingshot game style has been our kryptonite for years. It’s why we have so many more inside 50’s but still can’t kick a winning score.
You need wings to fly above the huge packs in our forward line! Disgraceful game plan. Please go now loser. We can't stand anymore of this garbage football!

Yep

Burgoyne I have some hope for, but it feels like he needs a constant kick up the ass to perform at his best.
Burgoyne is a very talented player who has way more to offer the team than his current output. Imo he's decided he doesnt need to work hard anymore & just swans around waiting for the ball to be dished out to him. Hes been a non-event since he played those 2 excellent games where he featured high in coaches votes. He makes more of an effort last night we also win. Culture at the club is so stuffed.

They don't waste shots on goal a lot , it's why they are decent ladder wise because apart from the Clarko Hawks team and some cats teams the entire competition waste so many chances on goal for over 15 years now
Screenshot_20250511_114411_AFL.jpg

That accuracy difference was huge. They just didn't miss the chances we did.

Its such a depressing thing to come away from last night. We deserved to win, we were clearly the better team in most facets, other than they converted and we didn't. If we had a half decent strategy for ball movement we should've win comfortably.

+27 clearances is the sort of stat you see in a 10 goal smashing.
+21 inside 50s, is just prime Hinkleyball.

JHF kicks that goal in the 3rd, we go 3 up and deservingly probably run away with it. Instead they have a 20 min hot patch where they go from 2 goals down to 4 up.

This fact that we have to play out of our skins to win is such a huge worry. The Hawks final, absolutely creamed them in play but still only just fell over the line, this Crows game dominated play but lost, the Saints game controlled play but lost, the Hawks this year up by 70 then let them get back to 22, North up by 5+ goals only to let them back, Geelong last year up by 50 only to win by 6.

We're just so bipolar. Actually probably tri polar, we have God mode, absolute tank mode and the usual work hardery for longer mode. The gaps between them all is just phenomenal, from 100 point losses on one end of the scale to 100 point wins, depending on which side of bed we got out of.

The umps missed an opportunity for the most dramatic of finishes. When Keane took that mark, Worrall gave Finlayson a little nudge in the back as he was about to contest the ball. Not enough that I would expect to be paid, it was pretty much perfectly done. But imagine if the ump paid the free. Crows' fans would be howling and we would terrified because it was the distance out where Finlayson is totally unreliable. Would have been the greatest of moments.

Apart from thilthorpe who is a contested marking beast, this is largely down to game style. There are 30 players in our forward line at all times. Adelaide’s slingshot game style has been our kryptonite for years. It’s why we have so many more inside 50’s but still can’t kick a winning score.
Its so frustrating that no matter how many years we see it, the same continues to happen. I was explaining to my German mate pre game, watch how we'll fight and scrap and struggle to score and they'll just go down the other end and bang.

We ran out the game well for a change, but anyone with half a brain can see our forwards aren’t up to it and neither are our backs. Unless we do something to address this we are in for some more pain over the next few years.
We have a midfield that can be equal to any going around and Bergman in there gives another dimension but it goes to waste when you don’t have the players or the system forward to take advantage. How can you get two inside 50s in the last minute and not at least halve the contest?
Allir and Ratu aren’t the answer either down back. They just don’t have enough footy nous including positioning, skills nor mongrel to trouble the likes of Thilthorpe, Fogarty or Walker.

That was the first thing close to a captain’s knock I’ve seen from Rozee last night and Butters was a beast.
Drew to me has always been overrated on here. On last night I’d prefer giving Bergman the same role with his attacking flair.

View attachment 2311094

That accuracy difference was huge. They just didn't miss the chances we did.

Its such a depressing thing to come away from last night. We deserved to win, we were clearly the better team in most facets, other than they converted and we didn't. If we had a half decent strategy for ball movement we should've win comfortably.

+27 clearances is the sort of stat you see in a 10 goal smashing.
+21 inside 50s, is just prime Hinkleyball.

JHF kicks that goal in the 3rd, we go 3 up and deservingly probably run away with it. Instead they have a 20 min hot patch where they go from 2 goals down to 4 up.

This fact that we have to play out of our skins to win is such a huge worry. The Hawks final, absolutely creamed them in play but still only just fell over the line, this Crows game dominated play but lost, the Saints game controlled play but lost, the Hawks this year up by 70 then let them get back to 22, North up by 5+ goals only to let them back, Geelong last year up by 50 only to win by 6.

We're just so bipolar. Actually probably tri polar, we have God mode, absolute tank mode and the usual work hardery for longer mode. The gaps between them all is just phenomenal, from 100 point losses on one end of the scale to 100 point wins, depending on which side of bed we got out of.
Screenshot_20250511_115423_X.jpg

Real missed opportunity

Burgoyne is a very talented player who has way more to offer the team than his current output. Imo he's decided he doesnt need to work hard anymore & just swans around waiting for the ball to be dished out to him. Hes been a non-event since he played those 2 excellent games where he featured high in coaches votes. He makes more of an effort last night we also win. Culture at the club is so stuffed.
He's improved his output on last year quite comprehensively.

I decided to look at some stats comparing this week's game to last week against the dogs.

Last week:
-7 for contested ball (taking free kicks and contested marks out of the equation)
-14 clearances
-26 inside 50
+16 clangers
-90 on the scoreboard.

This week:
+22 contested ball (taking out contested marks and free kicks)
+27 clearances
+21 inside 50
+6 clangers
-5 on the scoreboard.

Port essentially dominated last night as much as the dogs dominated Port last week. But because of Ports fücking useless and inefficient gameplan, it's all for nought.

The only silver linings I'm finding is that they're moving the magnets around and finding out that a few players look like they'll have a future in their new roles. Ie Rozee to half back, Moraes on the wing, Bergman in the guts and Visentini in the ruck.

The biggest concern though was in the final quarter they reverted to type bombing it in long, after all season legitimately looking for a target in the forward 50 on the lead. Training that Hinkley ball out of them when the pressure is on is going to be a herculean task for Carr straight out of the gate.
I'll give you a hint: That sign the Crom put up on the bench, the one with the T and the Bicep.......It was all about being tight (I think), they had at least two third men up at all defensive contests. Did you see the Keane mark. They went all out defense to stop the game and nearly lost it as a result. The reality is it wouldn't have mattered how hard we tried to hit a lead, it wasn't going to happen the way they were defensively structured.

Yes it was frustrating but go back and watch the last quarter. We were living in hope for a miracle. Look, it was a tough game, and they played better on the night. We exposed them more than they exposed us.

They've been efficient up forward since Sanderson was in charge. Him, Walsh, Pyke, Nicks - it doesn't matter who is coaching them, they can score and we can't.
We know who the common denominator is.
Frustrating doesn't even begin to describe.
I'll say something that will get me blacklisted on this site. Walker is the common denominator he's lead that forward line for the last decade like a true leader. You can see it in the development of both the talls and smalls and how well they work together. He's also a better kick than our own Jay Schulz. I would honestly pay him a motza to be our Forwards coach at the end of the year.

The pivotal point was where we could've gone three goal up, JHF misses & Hinkley then has Rozee, Butters, Bergman all on the bench at the same time it's like self sabotage.

Refer to my previous comments. The hint as to who is responsible is the guy who is holding the magnet board.

Disappointed with the loss but can't fault the effort.

FWIW the most to take out of that game as a whole was how badly we exposed the Crows. Walker might look good some nights, but I reckon he's cooked. We exposed their midfield, but whether it's due to Adelaide's tight defense, or our inability to attack, we couldn't win the game. I thought we had our chances, but they also missed theirs too. What people don't realize is the shots we missed, we got back shortly after. Ultimately Thilthorpe won it for the Crows, and without him they're ****ed. I expect teams with better matchups to shut them down.

Since keeping stats on the team, I've come to realize how much we rely on 4-5 players, and then we have a heap of players who are 50/50 for a good game. Our bottom tier are below average. I refuse to pour all responsibility on coaches. Our list simply isn't up to scratch. Even if we won last night, there are some major issues that are going to expose us throughout the season.

I think in previous seasons we overperformed for various reasons. Yes we could have made the most of our opportunities like the Bulldogs in 16 but we didn't.

I thought Connor's game was everything we ask for last night. Threw everything at it. His speach at the end. Precise. Thank the charity, good game Crows. Walk off.

FWIW, a lot of our supporters here were talking about losing by 10 goals, or not even bothering to watch the game. The same as the Sydney game.

This board and a lot of supporters have this weird fear of the Crows even in their wooden spoon season.

Perhaps the trauma of all the showdowns we've lost under Hinkley where all of them except for last night we are favoured to win.

****ing Farrell, don't get me started. A player who literally NEVER wins a 1-on-1 marking contest. If they are gonna keep playing him off a HBF, get him in the ****ing gym. You need to be able to at least halve a contest.
To be fair he was mismatched one on one on Fogarty and Fog beats guys bigger than him.

Review Rozee's Port adelaide respond with a loss