Autopsy 2024 Rd 11 Leaders let Blues down in season defining loss to Giants

Who played well for the Blues in Round 11 vs the Giants? Blues supporters only.

For how talented he is, he has become incredibly easy to defend against. He's been figured out since his Coleman years and he doesn't have the resilience/ fortitude/ footy IQ to combat it.

We (rightly) get angry at our F50 entries due to consistently bombing it i. But I never see him (nor McKay) attempt to get separation and lead up at the player with ball in hand.

Our players just lack any natural IQ. Everything is so mechanical because it needs to be taught to them. We can never rely on them doing the right thing in the moment, based solely on their natural ability.

This statement is not solely at Curnow but across the entire playing list We need to get aggressive this off season. If we think this current crop is enough and top-ups will suffice, it simply won't. And I'm genuinely scared that nobody at the club has the gaul to realise it and, more importantly, act upon it
Agree 💯, no composure, no game smarts by Carlton's senior players. How many times do Carlton players get dragged into the play. This also a coaching problem, needs to be addressed.

Big call re Cripps.

Somewhat agree that like Judd, he isnt a team lifter. More of a "f it i'll do it myself".

Good Captain, maybe just not the right type. He inspires players to watch him, not follow him.

Nup. That’s on the players, not Cripps.

If we’d run through a brick wall for Cripps, frankly, it says a lot about his teammates (and probably not much that we don’t already know. The MK trade is looking so bad now)

First order of business would be to clear the coaching staff then.

I remember both Mitchell and McRae emphasising the importance of the basics, and how they regularly drill their players with it. No surprise with the skill gap then.

What are they doing in training instead? Corralling?

Maybe choral singing

I was at a Grand Final in the stinking mud at the MCG & we hadn’t kicked a goal going into time on in the 2nd quarter.

30 odd points down.

Wakkity whack.

Harmes, Bomba, Sellers & Jimmy had us in front 4 minutes later.

We were never headed.

I love this club.
Living in the past bro … I love this club as much as you but I am a realist … talking about something that happened 46 years ago …sound like my old man talking about 1970

Good & bad culture is such a crock.
You win and the culture is 1st class.
Lose and there’s a poor culture. Losing vs winning is the ingredient of culture.

Sure no club has a bad culture at AFL level but searching for ingredient to boost their form on the paddock (other than HFC who are full of smart a* flogs).

Unless you’ve got players (or staff) undermining the program, clubs aren’t imploding on bad culture.

Melbourne Football Club: “Hold my beer”

Living in the past bro … I love this club as much as you but I am a realist … talking about something that happened 46 years ago …sound like my old man talking about 1970
Yeah unfortunately it’s totally different these days…

Back then we were a power house club

Nowadays we’re just making up the numbers

I was at a Grand Final in the stinking mud at the MCG & we hadn’t kicked a goal going into time on in the 2nd quarter.

30 odd points down.

Wakkity whack.

Harmes, Bomba, Sellers & Jimmy had us in front 4 minutes later.

We were never headed.

I love this club.
Great times and when Collingwood lost 3 GF's in a row
Speaking of drinking places, Sellers, Jimmy, the Dominator used to come back to Boro in the early 80's as Sellers brother was playing with us

Yeah unfortunately it’s totally different these days…

Back then we were a power house club

Nowadays we’re just making up the numbers
Mate I was brought up on it … my old man saw 6 premierships and we went to princess park weekly to watch the under 19- reserves and seniors weekly , from Witten oval to Waverley and nowadays I head up to up watch interstate games becaue I love this club but people bringing up 1979 is irrelevant now .. seems odd to me…

Hammer of the Gods.

Your virginal skateboards & silly bitcoin offer me nothing of substance.

To the Mothership.

Hammer of the Gods.

Your skateboards & silly bitcoin offer me nothing of substance.

To the Mothership.
What are you on about … probably as old as you but your referencing 1979 …my point was we need to move on from that and be better , be more ruthless like the pies go put on a VHS of back to the future have a sherry and go to be bed mate

Weits is pretty happy to spray team mates when they make a mistake and he was an absolute disgrace today, can take his medicine.
Fair point.

I also don't like Weitering whinging about Young being down back. Like dude, back him in, he's your team mate. Until JSOS gets back, you're stuck with him so suck it up. Reminds me of those Thornton spats from yesteryear, doesn't help team morale one bit. Save the spray during the breaks or after the game.

Mate I was brought up on it … my old man saw 6 premierships and we went to princess park weekly to watch the under 19- reserves and seniors weekly , from Witten oval to Waverley and nowadays I head up to up watch interstate games becaue I love this club but people bringing up 1979 is irrelevant now .. seems odd to me…
Seems odd? A bit of relief maybe?
Next you will suggesting that football prior to your time is irrelevant o_O

(Maybe to this thread BUT we have done this game to death now)

Sincerely though, and without naming any names, what do the lads think of their performance?
Given the way some of these blokes have been playing I get the feeling that they wouldn’t be interested in any deep discussions about their on field problems. It would be more of an “im on holiday now, don’t want to talk about work” kind of attitude. I hope that’s not the case. I’d love for some hard convos be had and they return from the bye ready to fight for their season. I will not be holding my breath though.

Autopsy 2024 Rd 11 Leaders let Blues down in season defining loss to Giants