Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 13 - Cats v Suns Sat June 7th 4:15pm AEST (GMHBA)

Who will win and by how much?

• Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 1 2.7%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 17 45.9%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 11 29.7%
  • Suns by a goal or less

Votes: 3 8.1%
  • Suns by 7 - 20

Votes: 3 8.1%
  • Suns by a lot

Votes: 2 5.4%
  • Draw

Votes: 0 0.0%

If you're going to troll Suns supporters, you might want to at least change your AFL team on this forum to a team other than the Suns. Do better and someone might bother to bite at your obvious attempt to troll.
So what do we conclude about using previous season Northern Territory games as form guides? I still don't think we should put too much weight in them. Especially around mental scarring etc.

That grading would mean that the 3aw commentators are thinking it is intentional and severe impact. The only way a hit to the body can get 3 weeks.

If that is intentional and severe, god help the sport.

It sounds to me like the commentators are speaking rubbish.

I guess because Anderson is near the ball and Stewart is making up the ground at pace from a long way away and only slows down when he braces for impact his intention to bump seems clear, no matter how much anyone approves if it being a classic taking the body hit, IF the result is a concussion then the impact is severe.

I guess because Anderson is near the ball and Stewart is making up the ground at pace from a long way away and only slows down when he braces for impact his intentions to bump seem clear, no matter how much anyone approves if it being a classic taking the body hit, IF the result is a concussion then the impact is severe.
Based on this..... Any sort of football incident moving forward where a player is concussed is severe. Therefore 3 or more matches, even if assessed as careless.

Jump for a mark, knee in the shoulder of an opponent, they fall down and get concussed.... Minimum 3 weeks!

So what do we conclude about using previous season Northern Territory games as form guides? I still don't think we should put too much weight in them. Especially around mental scarring etc.
Yeah, clearly not mentally scarred. If anything, they learnt their lesson from the Darwin game in which they were scored heavily against by realising that if they take away the Suns' time and space then it just turns into a hard + congested + low scoring slog for four quarters. The Cats obviously backed themselves to score more than the Suns in a highly congested game and they turned out to be right. Not sure that's going to work forever, but it works against this young Suns team for now.

Best player in the comp is out.

Suns a huge chance now.
Think his hacking it forward wouldn't have been as egregious this game given the conditions.

Just joking.

Congrats on the business like win.

Didn't get to see much of the game but when I saw the awful conditions I was just grateful my family left Geelong for the Sunshine state when I was a youngster.

Yeah, clearly not mentally scarred. If anything, they learnt their lesson from the Darwin game in which they were scored heavily against by realising that if they take away the Suns' time and space then it just turns into a hard + congested + low scoring slog for four quarters. The Cats obviously backed themselves to score more than the Suns in a highly congested game and they turned out to be right. Not sure that's going to work forever, but it works against this young Suns team for now.
You'll find a few finals have that similar lack of time and space. Geelong's pressure was heavy. Winning in ugly games is the next step for the ultra polished Suns.

Is all the Geelong v Richmond fighting going on here because of the Grand Final at the Gabba ?

Got to go to that one since it was in Brisvegas. Was neat to go to a Grand Final. Cats and Tigers played well too !!

Thank you Geelong for loaning us Gazza for a few years to help the Sun's get started !!

He got smashed in that GF though by the Richmond boys though, when headed back to Cattery.

It’s because of the Stewart hit on Prestia that they haven’t gotten over yet

Based on this..... Any sort of football incident moving forward where a player is concussed is severe. Therefore 3 or more matches, even if assessed as careless.

Jump for a mark, knee in the shoulder of an opponent, they fall down and get concussed.... Minimum 3 weeks!

I've heard commentators make that argument about marking contests but I don't think the AFL have made videos instructing players about the risk involved in those situations whereas they have with these kinds of contests where players choose to bump.

Eg... captain selection in fantasy footy.

Either way, the clubs were told to not play games with the weekly Injury lists.

Well it comes down to the same thing, if he's your star player or whatever, he's said that he felt touch and go for a game two weeks ago and got through with pain killers. He wasn't making it to the bye (still three weeks away) without a rest.

Regardless of what the AFL has said (the article you've posted is mainly old David 'Punter' King having a sook), Chris Scott could hardly have been more emphatic: He doesn't care anyone thinks and especially not people whose bets have been affected.

And I'll add a third point to the two that Scott made: if they were to haul Geelong in for the old 'please explain', they'd have a very hard time proving that they've done anything wrong. And, while I'm at it, a fourth: if a club had been found/proven to be deliberately playing funny buggers with its injury lists/reports, the penalty would be the epitome of the traditional wet lettuce leaf treatment. Because it obviously doesn't warrant anything more than the most token punishment possible.

Good solid contest in the wet. Holmes 40, Atkins and Gryan did well. Cameron and Paddy quiet ones and no Baz, so good to get the win! 9-4 and into the top 4 ! Keep going before the bye and my pre season prediction of cats fighting for bottom half of the 8, a wrong call! Get it done raging bull!

I'll put my hand up and say I was also firmly of the opinion that last year was the final chance for this Geelong group and that we'd be mid-table at best.

Such a strange call given we had so many young players in team who were only going to get better and we were only a Holmes non-injury from winning granny. Then we had the inclusion of Bailey Smith who was going to be a huge in, just what we needed. In fact, I wrote before season commencement that I thought Smith and Holmes would become the most dynamic duo in the league and were more suited to the MCG where finals are played more-so than any other two players in the game and I still stand by that.... so wait until finals as those two collectively are going to 'dynamite'.

Well it comes down to the same thing, if he's your star player or whatever, he's said that he felt touch and go for a game two weeks ago and got through with pain killers. He wasn't making it to the bye (still three weeks away) without a rest.

Regardless of what the AFL has said (the article you've posted is mainly old David 'Punter' King having a sook), Chris Scott could hardly have been more emphatic: He doesn't care anyone thinks and especially not people whose bets have been affected.

And I'll add a third point to the two that Scott made: if they were to haul Geelong in for the old 'please explain', they'd have a very hard time proving that they've done anything wrong. And, while I'm at it, a fourth: if a club had been found/proven to be deliberately playing funny buggers with its injury lists/reports, the penalty would be the epitome of the traditional wet lettuce leaf treatment. Because it obviously doesn't warrant anything more than the most token punishment possible.

My club was playing silly buggers with our team injury list last year (or was it the year before?) with TBC constantly listed. Not that it helped us.

They finally stopped it as our club Members/fans complained about it.

I agree the AFL will do little about it despite the stern warning they issued. I suspect they might get the ex-Geelong CEO to investigate 😜

And I am sure Geelong won't care.

Obviously they think they get some sort of advantage out of it or they wouldn't repeatedly use it as a tactic - a minor fine would just be considered a cost of doing business.

The AFL probably just trying to be seen to do the right thing by people betting and fantasy footy players.

I guess because Anderson is near the ball and Stewart is making up the ground at pace from a long way away and only slows down when he braces for impact his intention to bump seems clear, no matter how much anyone approves if it being a classic taking the body hit, IF the result is a concussion then the impact is severe.
Looked like Anderson was caught in two minds - bending down to play the ball with his hand, which he missed and ended up getting crunched, and distracted by the incoming Stewart missile, not being able to brace himself for the hit which turned him into a rag doll.

Such a strange call given we had so many young players in team who were only going to get better and we were only a Holmes non-injury from winning granny. Then we had the inclusion of Bailey Smith who was going to be a huge in, just what we needed. In fact, I wrote before season commencement that I thought Smith and Holmes would become the most dynamic duo in the league and were more suited to the MCG where finals are played more-so than any other two players in the game and I still stand by that.... so wait until finals as those two collectively are going to 'dynamite'.

Well, it was probably a combination of:

1. The feeling that last year everything almost seemed to fall perfectly into place for us, despite us being (in my opinion) nowhere near as good as the 2022 premiership side.

2. The naturally tougher draw that teams who finish 3rd in (2024) tend to be given, compared to teams who finish 12th (in 2023).

3. The we removed an abundance of depth and quality VFL players at the end of last year. In 2024 we had a great VFL team; in 2025 I was banking on us having a poor VFL team and zero proven depth in a number of key areas.

Well, it was probably a combination of:

1. The feeling that last year everything almost seemed to fall perfectly into place for us, despite us being (in my opinion) nowhere near as good as the 2022 premiership side.

2. The naturally tougher draw that teams who finish 3rd in (2024) tend to be given, compared to teams who finish 12th (in 2023).

3. The we removed an abundance of depth and quality VFL players at the end of last year. In 2024 we had a great VFL team; in 2025 I was banking on us having a poor VFL team and zero proven depth in a number of key areas.

Fair enough MC Extra Dollop: as there's no guarantees no matter what we think but the good thing for all us Cat supporters is that we're real chance once again for 2025 which is bloody awesome, what a great club.... and GO CATS !!!

Looked like Anderson was caught in two minds - bending down to play the ball with his hand, which he missed and ended up getting crunched, and distracted by the incoming Stewart missile, not being able to brace himself for the hit which turned him into a rag doll.

Hardwick said after the match that they think it is a chest injury rather than concussion.

Autopsy AFL 2025 Round 13 - Cats v Suns Sat June 7th 4:15pm AEST (GMHBA)