Preview R16: Changes vs. Richmond Tigers (after the bye)

Which of these players will be out of the 23 vs Richmond?

Just a quick one, how many games did Danger play in his first year at the club......
You may want to delete this

Or check his history when drafted

You may want to delete this

Or check his history when drafted
Its exactly my point though, the kid didnt even live in the state in his first year. Didn't hamper him at all.

To me the biggest issue around Draper is the messaging to the fans. Why isnt he playing AFL footy ?? If its because he had a very limited prep then just say so, dont skirt around the issue.

I want to see him play more in the 2nd half of the year, but labelling it a disaster is classic Crows fan behaviour.

Its exactly my point though, the kid didnt even live in the state in his first year. Didn't hamper him at all.

To me the biggest issue around Draper is the messaging to the fans. Why isnt he playing AFL footy ?? If its because he had a very limited prep then just say so, dont skirt around the issue.

I want to see him play more in the 2nd half of the year, but labelling it a disaster is classic Crows fan behaviour.
The point being comparing him to someone who lived interstate in his first year and getting 2 games late in the year was of Dangerfields choosing

He played 21 the next year

Do you think Draper plays 21 games next year?

The point being comparing him to someone who lived interstate in his first year and getting 2 games late in the year was of Dangerfields choosing

He played 21 the next year

Do you think Draper plays 21 games next year?
With a full pre season yeah I do actually.

Again, how weve managed him isnt ideal but its far from a disaster.

I was hoping the SANFL would actually play this week....Nope its winter solstice round or some rubbish.

No ideal but to be fair to the SANFL it is the AFL that direct the State comps to only have 18 games per season. The WAFL and VFL is the same so the 18 games have to be spread out over the AFL season. Us and Port generally choose when we want the weeks off.

This isn't the Nicks thread, but for comparison he played zero games in his first year and six in his second. I think that influences his own rationale about playing the youth
How many games did any of our juniors get in their first years? And how much time on ground?

Our top 4 pick having only played 2 full games up to the end of round 15, because of our management, is a disaster of a year
WTF?

If someone told me before the season that our focus on Draper's first year was to give him a taste of it and keep his body in good shape, I would have thought that was absolutely fine. It's certainly not a disaster, FFS. His doing a back injury might have been that, but getting a sense of what's required certainly isn't.

I feel like people are just needing something to overreact to.

A team we have not beaten at the MCG since a Andrew McLeod masterpiece back in 2001 (Tigers were a top 4 side that year). We cannot underestimate Richmond no matter where they are on the ladder.

I want the coach to bring in Draper and start him. His time is now.

In: Peatling, Draper
Out: Murphy, Butts or Smith.

WTF?

If someone told me before the season that our focus on Draper's first year was to give him a taste of it and keep his body in good shape, I would have thought that was absolutely fine. It's certainly not a disaster, FFS. His doing a back injury might have been that, but getting a sense of what's required certainly isn't.

Like this response?

How many games did any of our juniors get in their first years? And how much time on ground?
McAsey 10 games Pick 6
Roo 19 games
Hart 22 games
Gallucci 1 game
Phil Davis 0 games
Brad Crouch not permitted to play 1st year played 14 games when eligible
Matt Crouch 8 games
Chayce Jones 8 games
Ned McHenry 0 games

A team we have not beaten at the MCG since a Andrew McLeod masterpiece back in 2001 (Tigers were a top 4 side that year). We cannot underestimate Richmond no matter where they are on the ladder.

I want the coach to bring in Draper and start him. His time is now.

In: Peatling, Draper
Out: Murphy, Butts or Smith.
Really?

Did Thommo kick 5 vs Richmond at the MCG once or am I imagining that?

Or was it at Etihad?
Or did we still lose?

McAsey 10 games Pick 6
Roo 19 games
Hart 22 games
Gallucci 1 game
Phil Davis 0 games
Brad Crouch not permitted to play 1st year played 14 games when eligible
Matt Crouch 8 games
Chayce Jones 8 games
Ned McHenry 0 games
I suppose they didn't have game time back then? I reckon Tex didn't play any in his first year either, and had 14 in the second.

This isn't the Nicks thread, but for comparison he played zero games in his first year and six in his second. I think that influences his own rationale about playing the youth

That's just seeing ghosts. There is only one thing that influences Nicks playing youth or not, which is are they a genuine best 22 player at this point in time?

Someone like Michaelanny, Rachele and Soligo have barely missed a game since they were drafted because they were a best 22 player from day dot (and in Michaelanny case, we loved him so much we were willing to sacrifice one of Doedee/Worrell career for him). Someone like Taylor/Cook has have struggled for game time in the four-five years they've been on a list because they've rarely been at a point where they were genuinely able to compete for a best 22 spot.

We will not play a speculative kid for the sake of getting games into them (after all, we already know about what they're capable of), unless any chance to make finals is dead and buried. If we're not playing a kid, it's because we believe someone else is the better player.

Effectively perceived player quality is all we care about.

We are heading down for this one... I bought a really warm jumper yesterday that I reckon will get a good run! lol
My recommendation. If GA, then try to get a spot in the Shane Warne stand up near the goals to take advantage of any late afternoon sun. I was there on Saturday, and it was 12.2deg, but pleasant enough in the sun - do not sit in the shade, unless it's in a Corporate box!

Effectively, player quality trumps every other decision.
Which means development is stagnant

Given your observations on Taylor/Cook : should we delist them?

WTF?

The injury thing is a bit of a furphy though isn't it? Reminds me of Soligo at the start of 2024 being the sub and the excuse being an injury from months prior.

The club has repeatedly referred to Draper being the sub as it being by design as he's an "impact player". Not about managing an injury. In fact I think he's been named to play every game and hasn't been managed once? Right now those games are in the SANFL.

If he has legitimately been injured in a way that would limit his game time - which I think is not the case, but let's say it is - then why are we naming a player that can't play a full game in a position where he might be required to play a full game? And further, why is he playing full SANFL games?

Managing an injury is an excuse to justify our poor treatment and use of him this year. His back injury was at least 9 months ago and given he's playing full SANFL games it's irrelevant

That's just seeing ghosts. There is only one thing that influences Nicks playing youth or not, which is are they a genuine best 22 player at this point in time?

Someone like Michaelanny, Rachele and Soligo have barely missed a game since they were drafted because they were a best 22 player from day dot (and in Michaelanny case, we loved him so much we were willing to sacrifice one of Doedee/Worrell career for him). Someone like Taylor/Cook has have struggled for game time in the four-five years they've been on a list because they've rarely been at a point where they were genuinely able to compete for a best 22 spot.

We will not play a speculative kid for the sake of getting games into them (after all, we already know about what they're capable of), unless any chance to make finals is dead and buried. If we're not playing a kid, it's because we believe someone else is the better player.

Effectively perceived player quality is all we care about.

We only perceive players like Murphy are better due to their experience.

Which means the younger players can't ever attain what they need to be selected

WTF?

Welcome to society.

WTF?

"If someone told me the club did something I'd have endorsed it fully".

Yeah, we know.

Preview R16: Changes vs. Richmond Tigers (after the bye)