Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
As per the Bluemour File OP, this is a thread for discussing Carlton related rumours.
Rumour - Bluemour File rumours only - NO DISCUSSION

Rumour posters should post their rumours in both threads for those that like just to read rumours and for those that like to have get lost in their rumour files.

Remember ... #Bluemour

Continued from here ...

Last edited by a moderator:
Sunday-Tuesday said I’m never going to another game again…

Wednesday brought parking to Carlton vs Collingwood.

I think deep down, I must like causing myself pain 🤦
I do the same thing … got tickets to Carlton / Brisbane and Carlton Melbourne this week but at the pub last sat I was never going again haha. As my mate says to me , your going to watch it anyway you might well go

I’m very confident we won’t be going through a rebuild. Talk is Wright thinks we can rebound quickly and has identified several off field weaknesses
'Rebound Quickly' either means 'Sticking with Voss', or else have Proven Coach in sights, because getting a new coach will mean a few years at least. I dont think we can 'do a McRae' with our list or off field issues.

I watched the Blue Abroad Teams stream tonight.

One poster named El-S asked who the next woof would be next season. Terry challenged him and asked what he knew about Saad not being at the club next season because the guy has too good a success rate to be saying things like that.

Another viewer then messaged and said that Saad is retiring.

El-S then said that Wright has already got a coach in his sights.

Read into all that however you'd like.
WOW! - Literally 20 mins after I surmised that was likely... :oops:

Saad rumour is interesting. Wouldn't surprise me too much but odd that he did a contract extension earlier in the year.

There was a poster who mentioned he's weighing up retirement a few months ago too

Saad clearly has lost some yards in pace - there was one stage when I think Nick Larkey ran past him.

Considering how good overhead he is (especially since his shoulders are shagged) and how often he drifts forward, why not play him as HF.
Coz OOBOTF does help us tick the scoreboard over. The prick is utterly useless in front of goal. A few games ago when he kicked that goal on the run from the boundary, I swear he was dead set going for the top of the square and missed (through the big sticks).

Took me a while but I was finally able to uncover the many obscure layers in this guarded comment.
Would be a great relief if you could just say it as it is... 🤣

Saad's hamstrings are cooked and to his credit he puts in a load of work just to get onto the park each week apparently.

If we're not looking like contenders it doesn't surprise me if he pulls the plug.

Still a very frustrating player.

It'd be bold and in line with moves Wright has made before. Could be the best thing for both Walshy and the club although I don't want to see any good players leave.

Monogram on the front over the number on the back.

Has to be that way. If hard moves are what it takes to get us back on track towards premierships over being a 'nice club', great.

Sidenote: I directed some very honest feedback to the membership team, who have informed me that they've grouped my points and will be forwarding it directly to the players/coaching/footy dept/board respectively. Maybe it was my comment around "I know this won't make it to those involved", but I hope they do read all of the feedback (save for the personal/abusive) that they receive. They are playing/working for us, after all (well, they should be).

Matty, it's adorable that you think there is even the slightest chance that any of that feedback is going anywhere except the Membership team's wall of fame :p

"We'll pass this on to the players/coaching/footy dept/board" would have been accompanied by some dramatic eye-rolling and a chorus of "what a w***er" once you hung up. Nothing anyone says to anyone outside the footy department is ever getting to the footy department, simple as that.

Good on you for speaking your piece, but it's a futile exercise.

Saad rumour is interesting. Wouldn't surprise me too much but odd that he did a contract extension earlier in the year.

There was a poster who mentioned he's weighing up retirement a few months ago too
I would be almost ecstatic if Saady chooses to pull the pin. Was amazed when he received an early extension. Too much discussion regarding being cooked physically as well as general questions on his tank. Would be pragmatic for our list progression.

I would prefer Newman as last man standing among our ageing “general/medium” backs. He is the mentor of the group and barring his current injury has been in career best form. We will form a very effective defensive group from Weitering, Silvagni, Haynes (1 more year), maybe Gov (better forward), HOF, maybe Young, and youngsters Hollands, Cowan, Carroll, Wilson along with a couple more less ready options. I would like to think Doc is seriously questioning his future, but have a feeling he will have to be pushed which would be uncomfortable for a great clubman

Matty, it's adorable that you think there is even the slightest chance that any of that feedback is going anywhere except the Membership team's wall of fame :p

"We'll pass this on to the players/coaching/footy dept/board" would have been accompanied by some dramatic eye-rolling and a chorus of "what a w***er" once you hung up. Nothing anyone says to anyone outside the footy department is ever getting to the footy department, simple as that.

Good on you for speaking your piece, but it's a futile exercise.
Haha that's what I had thought but the guy did a good job trying to convince me otherwise. Cant wait for the changes next month onwards.

Timing of the Wilson debut is also intriguing. Wonder if Saad has made it known internally and the MC have realised they need to get his likely successor a head start before next season.

Hope we retire the woof until we’re successful and have a deserving player to receive it.
Saad is 100% unwoofworthy it was never Ange's to hand over, it was the outer's. I was on the Gardener Stand flank when someone started Woofing for Val. It's more a Billy Wilson or Flynn Young thing, and we'll decide who gets it, and it won't be some half arsed version like it is now. Which pretty much sums up this club......

Timing of the Wilson debut is also intriguing. Wonder if Saad has made it known internally and the MC have realised they need to get his likely successor a head start before next season.

Doubly so given that it's paired with Boyd's inclusion as well.

Weiters - SOS - Haynes - Boyd - Wilson

Just add Newman and Cowan and there's your primary 2026 backline mix.

O'Farrell, Carroll, etc. get experience too

Hope we retire the woof until we’re successful and have a deserving player to receive it.
I know Ang wanted Saad to have the woof, but I’ve never felt his game warranted it. Mainly because I don’t believe his kicking is “woof” like. I thought it demeaned the call to assign it to him. There’s nobody currently on the list who I think deserves it.

agree. 2-4 year quick rebuild, which requires keeping our good youth and core together, improving tactics, trading and bringing in pace and good kicking.
Let’s assume you’re right and we go through a mini reset and challenge in 2028, the 3rd year.

Why would we keep these guys next year and the year after?

Gov
Newman
Saad
Haynes
Acres
Doch
Fantasia
Cripps (33 in 2028)
Pittonet (32 in 2028)

If we know we aren’t contending the next two years, wouldn’t you bring in a heap of kids?

Wouldn’t be surprised if Saad retires. What is he 32 and think he has plenty to keep him occupied post footy.

Almost 31, but his game is entirely pace based. He doesn't other parts to his game to enable him to play elsewhere.

I hope the next woof we anoint is a player that actually kicks the ball 55m+ regularly

Let’s assume you’re right and we go through a mini reset and challenge in 2028, the 3rd year.

Why would we keep these guys next year and the year after?

Gov
Newman
Saad
Haynes
Acres
Doch
Fantasia
Cripps (33 in 2028)
Pittonet (32 in 2028)

If we know we aren’t contending the next two years, wouldn’t you bring in a heap of kids?

Better to bring in the right kids. And then develop them properly.

Newman is still a solid footballer and an excellent senior mentor. Need to see how he goes post-injury - I don't think he'll get an early extension if Wright has any say in the matter, but if he shows he can still play at the level then he'll get a year. I reckon he'd love the idea of training someone to the point they overtake him. I think Haynes falls into this category too - has been playing well enough to warrant another year, and I think another season of him playing alongside and helping to develop guys like HOF and Dean will be worthwhile.

Gov's also still got plenty to offer, and I think his move forward has been a good one. Versatile and capable, the only issue is his durability (even then, it's more a week here or there rather than missing big blocks of games). Year on year contracts til he's been supplanted and he'll probably call time himself then. Acres similar here - handy, versatile, could probably use him sparingly with a few young wing options rotating through too.

Saad we're now hearing may retire. I sincerely hope Doc does too, as I don't really want him in the seniors, but I also would hate to see him spend most of his final year in the ressies.

I still like Fanta, but the body has to be a concern and we're gonna need some list spots this offseason so I think he'll be cut. If he's flying, he's what we need, but I'm confident in saying he's unlikely to reach that level again, and even if he does he's almost zero chance of sustaining it for any meaningful length of time.

Pitto is dependent on TDK and whether we go shopping for an alternative. TDK stays, Pitto should go with HOK trusted to be next man up. TDK goes, we either chase a replacement and Pitto still goes, or we give HOK the mantle and retain Pitto as mature depth so HOK can be managed.

Cripps won't be moved on. Up to him if he wants to chase a flag elsewhere, thanks and good luck if he does. Otherwise, I still want to see him hand the captaincy over to the next generation ASAP. New leadership, new start.

I hope the next woof we anoint is a player that actually kicks the ball 55m+ regularly
There are prospects coming. Flynn Young absolutely possesses the kicking range to fill the bill. Matt Carroll let off the chain would be close but probably not quite.

The draft will present us with Harry Dean and Jack Ison, both possessing a more than decent boot, but perhaps both are a little circumspect in their use to consistently fit the brief.

Just quietly, I am loving the number of lefties we are accumulating. Lucas C., and Will White join Harry, Newy, TDK and Saady to boost the numbers. We also have growing number of righties who are more than proficient on their left Moir leads the list, Lord has joined Gov and JSOS as reliable, with Fantasia, Cez and Cinc along with Elijah when available are very proficient.

We are upskilling our ball use, making our abysmal forward entries absolutely unforgivable.