- Sep 15, 2011
- AFL Club
- West Coast
West Perth have a bunch of assistants available if we're interested.

BigFooty AFLW Notice Img
AFLW 2025 - AFLW Trade and Draft - All the player moves
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
At this junction, it's over to the players to step up and claim it for themselves.With the talk of Mini possibly adding some players to the senior group this year with Allen, Gov and Waterman all out for the year, who would we add? Hough, Ginbey? cant think of too many others
maybe Darcy Cameron captainWith the talk of Mini possibly adding some players to the senior group this year with Allen, Gov and Waterman all out for the year, who would we add? Hough, Ginbey? cant think of too many others
Vossy as an assistant in 2026...doable? Is he what we need? I wonder how hard he could throw a Gatorade bottle...
Yeah but he has puny weak armsThink I'd rather have Jacob Brennan.
agree, think we have got a ripper in McQualterI like that we’re playing some of our best footy against the best sides :
Brisbane - we trailed by just 4 points at the 12min mark of the last quarter before conceding 3 of the last 4 goals to lose by 19. Led by 3 points at 3/4 time
Geelong - we trailed by just 6 points at the 6min mark of the last quarter before conceding 7 of the last 8 goals to lose by 43. Trailed by 11 points at 3/4 time
Collingwood - we trailed by just 4 points inside the last minute of the third quarter before conceding the last 4 goals. Trailed by 10 points at 3/4 time
To be in a competitive position inside the last quarter against the three best sides, two away from home, is a sign the game plan stacks up against the best. At times in all three games we’ve had patches of control where we’ve looked the better side
Yes, we’ve fallen away in all three as they hit another gear we couldn’t match - part of that is a lack of fitness that only comes with banking cumulative preseasons that as a young side we don’t yet have
The signs are there that something is building and we’re on the right track under McQualter
Seems to have turned it around a lot? That’s what a coach is suppose to do. If that’s him or Mini who knows.![]()
Great player, but based on form literally anyone else would be a better stoppage coach.
I like that we’re playing some of our best footy against the best sides :
Brisbane - we trailed by just 4 points at the 12min mark of the last quarter before conceding 3 of the last 4 goals to lose by 19. Led by 3 points at 3/4 time
Geelong - we trailed by just 6 points at the 6min mark of the last quarter before conceding 7 of the last 8 goals to lose by 43. Trailed by 11 points at 3/4 time
Collingwood - we trailed by just 4 points inside the last minute of the third quarter before conceding the last 4 goals. Trailed by 10 points at 3/4 time
To be in a competitive position inside the last quarter against the three best sides, two away from home, is a sign the game plan stacks up against the best. At times in all three games we’ve had patches of control where we’ve looked the better side
Yes, we’ve fallen away in all three as they hit another gear we couldn’t match - part of that is a lack of fitness that only comes with banking cumulative preseasons that as a young side we don’t yet have
The signs are there that something is building and we’re on the right track under McQualter

2010 draftLast month or so reminds me of 2010. Competitive for a half to three quarters, then fade.
Keen to smash the shit out of this year's draft so next year can be like 2011![]()
2010 draft
Stuff Hansen, he wasn't interested in the coaches job, so we shouldn't be interested in him.Pick the carcass of the blues and chase ash Hanson or luke power.
Hansen stayed because his wife's Victorian and she didn't want to move.Stuff Hansen, he wasn't interested in the coaches job, so we shouldn't be interested in him.
Hansen wanted to stay at that steaming pile of dogshit called Carlton rather than apply for our job.
If they sack Michael Voss a lot of the assistants will be gone as well. Hansen can join the queue at Centrelink.
Scott Selwood would be a sensational replacement for both Shuey and Schofield. Not giving the senior role to Schofield and appointing Mini was the correct decision.Always really hard to judge the impact of assistant coaches from outside the club. So much of what they do is done away from the public gaze and building relationships with players is a massive part of what they do. Essentially, we have no idea
We could do with a further refresh of our coaching staff and, in the case of someone like Shuey who may get poached by another club, that refresh might be forced rather than by design
There’s also Jarrad Schofield who may decide to move on a year after being overlooked for the senior position
Marco Bello has only been at the club this year as forwards coach and it’d be unlikely he gets moved on after a solitary year
Leaves Luke Webster, our current backline coach and longest serving member of the coaching panel, as the most vulnerable looking from the outside. Particularly with Hurn in the wings as the backline development coach who would appear an almost ready made replacement
Now McQualter has the job he will also have had time to sound out previous assistants he’s worked with to gauge any interest in coming across to join him
Would love to poach someone from Collingwood, Geelong or Brisbane to bring across some much needed IP and experience- someone like Scott Selwood would be sensational
They had no problem living here when Hansen played for the Eagles.Hansen stayed because his wife's Victorian and she didn't want to move.
Scott Selwood would be a sensational replacement for both Shuey and Schofield. Not giving the senior role to Schofield and appointing Mini was the correct decision.
Hurn, Gov and Harry Taylor would do a better job as backline / assistant coaches as they played over 800 games at the highest level.
Webster played about 30 games at the Dockers and none of them in the backline at a time when the Dockers were really crap.

Very dry sheets post from you hereLast month or so reminds me of 2010. Competitive for a half to three quarters, then fade.
Keen to smash the shit out of this year's draft so next year can be like 2011![]()
They had no problem living here when Hansen played for the Eagles.
She can join him in the Centrelink queue along with Voss.