List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

So they are paying 14 million over 7 years.
Fair dinkum you reckon I make shit up.

They have offered long term deals front ended. So have the Saints, but over 7 years it is not 2 million a year.

You are hilarious when it comes to numbers.

They are offering $2 million a year for the next 2 years and we are $1.2 less over 2 years than them. If he does a permanent injury in his second year and never plays again he's just thrown away a house. You are being deliberately dishonest.

Offer 2026 1st round draft pick for Jase Burgoyne, pay him double what he's on.

Suddenly NAS wants to stay

Think About It GIF by Identity
Have you seen Jase play

Hes actually doing what he thinks is best for the club in his own way.

AGAIN, i seriously doubt hes being pig headed but as weve seen in this thread people have very different views of how to get things done and different interpretations of information.

If it turns out that we didnt budge from $1.4m for 2 years and we lose him for that, ill be filthy cause thats not at all looking after the club.
And if that does happen he should be walked out the door that day

Cmon saints supporters, there’s too many positive ppl around here and it’s uncomfortable. Just setting us up for a fall.

This is my prediction:

NAS signs a 10 year deal with Port, marries JHF sister, they have 5 children (all boys), who all grow up to become father-son silky bulls and dominate the competition.

Where was it filmed?
Did you see the news?
Had a stupid little cartoon visual of each person popping up at the table.
Not sure what you are actually asking , wasn't it shown on the news ?

They are offering $2 million a year for the next 2 years and we are $1.2 less over 2 years than them. If he does a permanent injury in his second year and never plays again he's just thrown away a house. You are being deliberately dishonest.
Mate, don't be a fool. The op was regarding Riley Beveridge saying 'other clubs' were saying NAZ was a 2 million dollar a year player.
It has FA to do with supposed offers from any club but what other clubs are pushing to what he is worth yearly.

If you can't understand those simple facts, you should not comment.

Terry was with us for 3 years, yet rarely garners more than a cursory mention in the rare media pieces Nas does. No interviews or photo shoots. I know he's not a birth father so the idea of inheriting traits is less interesting, but Nas did spend time around the club during the years Terry was a Saint, you'd think he'd want to talk about how proud he was of his son's career at the club he played at, or something. Anything?
He played 30 games, maybe he’s just not that interested in being in the spotlight
Stay or go I’m pretty pissed at nas for dragging it out like this.
It’s the biggest decision of his life, and one that will affect him for the rest of his life.
Especially if he’s torn on where he wants to live next year.

If it turns out that we didnt budge from $1.4m for 2 years and we lose him for that, ill be filthy cause thats not at all looking after the club.

Agree. I think the club has to move higher (probably have). I think they should understand that it is about more than losing a generational player - it will devastate supporters and drive home the vibe to AFL playing group that St Kilda is not serious football club.

For me, if they can afford it they should be matching the PA offer over next 2 years despite the fact that it is probably overs for the player. Need to invest in the brand.

Mate, don't be a fool. The op was regarding Riley Beveridge saying 'other clubs' were saying NAZ was a 2 million dollar a year player.
It has FA to do with supposed offers from any club but what other clubs are pushing to what he is worth yearly.

If you can't understand those simple facts, you should not comment.
I think he specifically noted Port were "all in" and commented that they were of the belief that its not just $2m front ended but for the life of the deal.

Now granted that doesnt specifically say thats what they are offering him but its very very clear (if you believe the media reports) that at the very least any deal Port offers Nas will be for $2m for the first two years. If we havent budged from $1.4m for two years then thats $1.2m LESS for a shorter contract.

If what we have heard is true, he wants 2 years from us to assess etc.
He wants longer from SA clubs cause if he moves home hes sure its permanent.

At this point, with his perceved value, not at least matching the first two years of their deals for our own 2 year offer is absolutely idiotic. No ifs ands or buts, no softening of it.

2 years at 2m for us is a no lose situation,

Best case, we start winning, playing finals, he wins a Brownlow, all the boys re sign, its ****ing party time and in 2 years he stays on a reduced salary (to keep his boys around) and were contending for flags.

Worst case, we stay relatively shit, 2 years time he requests the trade home, Port and Adelaide have prepped their trade deals and we get a much better return with players and picks with Tassie available too.

Ive read millions of words on this at this point and none of them advocating for keeping a lower offer to him make any ****ing sense.

With all due respect (and im singling two out of a stack) this is such a shit take.

Hes a 22 year old kid, at the absolute peak of his powers, listening to a manager and taking his managers advice to hold off on making a decision and you know what... his manager has been proven right. If hed signed 6 weeks ago hed have left probably $500k a year on the table.

Nas owes us and the saints absolutely nothing, hes not some roughy we pulled from the clouds, he was a first round drfat pick with a pedigree and his only responsbility in terms of his contract is to himself and his family, this is his job after all.

I get it, we are all antsy at wanting our best player in a decade at least to sign on but thats not modern sports and he is doing whats best for him. Im sure he doesnt care what big footy posters think but this whole vibe from some that hes being evil and making us wait is, respectuflly, really immature.
👍

AGAIN, i seriously doubt hes being pig headed but as weve seen in this thread people have very different views of how to get things done and different interpretations of information.

2 x 2 million if that's what he wants. The club is setting contracts for 2027 expiry has offered a good but not great ruck from another club the same if not more money ( admittedly over a much longer contract length), I can't see why we would not match it for two years, maybe with a trigger for another two on big coin.

Can you now do a year by year comparison beyond year 2 of these hypothetical deals?

Caro said our offer had lifted significantly from that for the 2 years.

Ports offer is front loaded for the first 2 years, which means a reduction on the back end.
And someone here reported that wasnt true.

TO be clear, i cant imagine we havent lifted out offer substantially. Nobody, even SOS would be stupid enough to low ball this kid.

I also dont care if their offer is front ended, i really dont. Match the two year period, at the end of that were either good enough to then negotiate it with the sell of "were pretty good now, to stay good we gotta pay others" or let him walk cause were still shit and take the bounty of picks hell get us for the next rebuild cause Ross is gone, Sincs, Wilkie, Roma, Hill, Macrae etc are all done then anyway.

Evidently he has budged because the first offers we heard were around $1.2m.

But simultaneously it’s a negotiation and the club needs to get a commitment out of it. You and I have done this to death.

Ben Williams might win the fight and still lose the war.

People are incredibly short sighted to think this is just SOS wielding his **** around here. If the club was under that impression - he would have been sacked and someone would have a deal agreed.

There is far more at play.

Literally a week ago, posters were carrying on about SOS can’t even get a deal done for our players.

We have since had Hall 2 years confirmed. Pous 2030 extension. Windy 2 year deal getting worked on and are just waiting for Nas.

Evidently he has budged because the first offers we heard were around $1.2m.

But simultaneously it’s a negotiation and the club needs to get a commitment out of it. You and I have done this to death.

Ben Williams might win the fight and still lose the war.

People are incredibly short sighted to think this is just SOS wielding his **** around here. If the club was under that impression - he would have been sacked and someone would have a deal agreed.

There is far more at play.

Literally a week ago, posters were carrying on about SOS can’t even get a deal done for our players.

We have since had Hall 2 years confirmed. Pous 2030 extension. Windy 2 year deal getting worked on and are just waiting for Nas.
I stand to be corrected but im pretty sure, over and over, ive noted that i dont think SOS and co are doing that.

You and i dont agree on what the ceiling of the two years is, thats fine (albeit i think youve got zero logic to your reasoning at all).

Im simply pointing out that what you think is best for the club may not be what others do, same with SOS.

I stand to be corrected but im pretty sure, over and over, ive noted that i dont think SOS and co are doing that.

You and i dont agree on what the ceiling of the two years is, thats fine (albeit i think youve got zero logic to your reasoning at all).

Im simply pointing out that what you think is best for the club may not be what others do, same with SOS.
What do you think he isn’t doing? Trying to get deals done? Trying to get long term commitments?

Yes zero logic, whilst Nas is represented by Williams your $2m a season is a nice base point to start talking a new deal in 2027.

What a great position to talk a bloke down from 😂

SOS playing hardball is giving everyone anxiety attacks. He needs to start getting shit done and not putting his foot on throats to look tough.
SOS has offered Nas the biggest contract of any current saint in the history of our club. He’s not the one playing hardball here, we are bent over on all fours.

I think he specifically noted Port were "all in" and commented that they were of the belief that its not just $2m front ended but for the life of the deal.

Now granted that doesnt specifically say thats what they are offering him but its very very clear (if you believe the media reports) that at the very least any deal Port offers Nas will be for $2m for the first two years. If we havent budged from $1.4m for two years then thats $1.2m LESS for a shorter contract.

If what we have heard is true, he wants 2 years from us to assess etc.
He wants longer from SA clubs cause if he moves home hes sure its permanent.

At this point, with his perceved value, not at least matching the first two years of their deals for our own 2 year offer is absolutely idiotic. No ifs ands or buts, no softening of it.

2 years at 2m for us is a no lose situation,

Best case, we start winning, playing finals, he wins a Brownlow, all the boys re sign, its ****ing party time and in 2 years he stays on a reduced salary (to keep his boys around) and were contending for flags.

Worst case, we stay relatively shit, 2 years time he requests the trade home, Port and Adelaide have prepped their trade deals and we get a much better return with players and picks with Tassie available too.

Ive read millions of words on this at this point and none of them advocating for keeping a lower offer to him make any ****ing sense.
In furious agreement. Ricmel said above ot was about club brand and what it will do to the support base. They need to read the room.
I am going to my second game this week as it might be the last time I see NAZ live in a Saints jersey.
I have said if they lose NAZ, that will be it for me. The best player since Riewoldt we can't keep?
I would still support the Saints but that would be the end of my membership. And that's not some hairy chested threat, my financial involvement has reduced from $800 to $150 a year, I would just have lost hope that we could ever have the players to compete for a flag and we are just a feeder club.

IF THIS IS ACCURATE ***

We literally have the majority of our best players and future out of contract at the end of 2027. Including Ross himself & now Hall with rumours Windy is signing a 2 year deal and potentially Nas 🤮

The money is going up that's why.