Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
Premiership coach with experience just became available.

Cmon down Goody!!
I'm no expert but would the existing players react well to his style of leadership/culture? Seems night and day compared to Voss (despite his tactical deficiencies) Voss doesn't seem to draw the same sort of culture concerns.

I want to go for a next gen coach. A tried and tested assistant please. Just remembering that Bolton and Teague previously weren't exactly considered the next cabs off the rank. Bolton interviewed well, and Teague had a half season audition.

Bolton wasn't doing too bad until we lost Craig...

Do you want a senior mentor to go with the appointment, ODN? Or are you happy to let them stand on their own feet?

I wouldn't sell it as a mentor, if we went that way. The coach has to feel they have the autonomy to do things their way. If it's a coach who doesn't have a ready made senior assistant to come with them, a coaching director like Ken Hinkley might be okay. However, if we got Jimmy Bartel as a footy manager, he'd be just as handy to bounce things off. We saw a rumour about Corey Enright too ... senior coach or senior assistant. I see some fresh and vibrant ideas there.

A tried and tested assistant like who?

Some would argue Hansen is tried and tested. Not sure we’d want him to continue though.

Hayden Skipworth (42), Jaymie Graham (42), Nathan van Berlo (39)

However, we may have a senior coach in our ranks. Luke Power is 45. Assistant coach at GWS for 5 years, AFL Academy coach for 3 years, Head of Development at Carlton for 2 and a half years (2019-2021), Stoppages coach for the rest of the year and won the Assistant Coach of the year at the AFLCA awards. Then starting coaching the twos. If there is something to take out of this season, the coming on of Moir, O'Farrell, Carroll, White, Cowan is it. Power has not been an assistant to Voss. He was shifted to the VFL team at the same time Voss started. He has degrees of separation from the mess our senior team became. It is interesting to me that Power has largely gone away from portions of the senior game plan, and we have benefitted as a result.

Scott Burns a lesser chance for me, but he has some pedigree. Just hasn't been around the ultimate success.

So, the high end 6, Front end Salary Cap, that caused division through the entire playing list, are looking at options.

**** ‘em.

You’re horseflesh.

That's how I feel too. Take all of the money for potential results, rather than actual results, and then look to get out because their lack of standards have wasted years of their careers.

**** 'em indeed my friend. I'm insulted.

There's nothing like the rush of seeing a new post in the Bluemour File Rumours Only - NO DISCUSSION
It is fantastic for the lack of rhythm, and the contradictory emotions.

When things are good, and we're a tight ship, disciplined, well-run, why am I so sad when there's barely a Bluemour a month?

And why do these late-season dumpster-fires make me so happy, despite our lack of achievement? I think it's because even when the rumour mill is in overdrive, the pearls of wisdom drop with such delicious irregularity. I don't use the alerts - you have to refresh the Carlton homepage and see NO DISCUSSION lit up big, bold and black - anything else is dirty pool!

It is 100% about the journey, and I thank every single person who shares what they hear and interpret. I don't mind if it's wrong - I just like to roll the possibilities around the palate for a while. The destination will look after itself.

I wouldn't sell it as a mentor, if we went that way. The coach has to feel they have the autonomy to do things their way. If it's a coach who doesn't have a ready made senior assistant to come with them, a coaching director like Ken Hinkley might be okay. However, if we got Jimmy Bartel as a footy manager, he'd be just as handy to bounce things off. We saw a rumour about Corey Enright too ... senior coach or senior assistant. I see some fresh and vibrant ideas there.

Hayden Skipworth (42), Jaymie Graham (42), Nathan van Berlo (39)

However, we may have a senior coach in our ranks. Luke Power is 45. Assistant coach at GWS for 5 years, AFL Academy coach for 3 years, Head of Development at Carlton for 2 and a half years (2019-2021), Stoppages coach for the rest of the year and won the Assistant Coach of the year at the AFLCA awards. Then starting coaching the twos. If there is something to take out of this season, the coming on of Moir, O'Farrell, Carroll, White, Cowan is it. Power has not been an assistant to Voss. He was shifted to the VFL team at the same time Voss started. He has degrees of separation from the mess our senior team became. It is interesting to me that Power has largely gone away from portions of the senior game plan, and we have benefitted as a result.

Scott Burns a lesser chance for me, but he has some pedigree. Just hasn't been around the ultimate success.

I know as much the next numpty on this board, but I rate Power.

Reckon he'll make it to senior coach somewhere

JSOS should’ve known that TDK’s decision had a huge bearing on the salary cap abd egst we can offer.
Sounds like too many outside influences (eg. Manager and the like) are pushing him in other directions

It's not about money, but it could be about being the last one to get a contract each time it comes up, because he is waiting for the prima donnas worth $500k to cop their $1m+ paydays based on potential.

Having said that, Jack should recognise he has been injured an awful lot, and if he is being dealt with as a player, not a Silvagni, there are multiple factors to be taken into account. I believe we should respect the Silvagni legacy in the way we make Jack feel like it is important to the club, but I don't believe that Jack should feel entitled because of that legacy.

I always felt Goodwin was a complete disastercase coach who happened to have a few really good years.

Rather than a great premiership winning coach who had a couple of bad years.

Not sure if that's fair.
Think it's reasonably fair. He seems to have had a long and blessed involvement in the game at the top level, for a bloke who gambled on AFL in his playing days and then, as if to emphasise that his lack of judgement was no fluke, got into the Hexarelin while on the coaching staff at Essendon.

After all that, I'm not sure what's weirder: Paul Roos saying yep, this is definitely the bloke who should be Melbourne's senior coach when I finish up... or the fact that Goodwin did win that 2021 flag, vindicating the entire sequence of events. I guess that does speak to his talent.

JSOS should’ve known that TDK’s decision had a huge bearing on the salary cap abd egst we can offer.
Sounds like too many outside influences (eg. Manager and the like) are pushing him in other directions

The fact that TDK's performances haven't come anywhere near justifying the dollars being offered up for him didn't help matters either...

It is fantastic for the lack of rhythm, and the contradictory emotions.

When things are good, and we're a tight ship, disciplined, well-run, why am I so sad when there's barely a Bluemour a month?

And why do these late-season dumpster-fires make me so happy, despite our lack of achievement? I think it's because even when the rumour mill is in overdrive, the pearls of wisdom drop with such delicious irregularity. I don't use the alerts - you have to refresh the Carlton homepage and see NO DISCUSSION lit up big, bold and black - anything else is dirty pool!

It is 100% about the journey, and I thank every single person who shares what they hear and interpret. I don't mind if it's wrong - I just like to roll the possibilities around the palate for a while. The destination will look after itself.

A week is an age in footy, and when finals are gone, waiting for the trade/draft periods and then the next season to being, it's a life time. While we need a circuit breaker in terms of the club doing something real and tangible to address our issues, Bluemours are life sustaining waiting for that to happen. We get to dream, we get to post about something with passion, we get to think that we are somehow brainstorming the right fix going forward. Sure, they don't usually come off, but boy ... wasn't it a fun ride for a while.

Long live the Bluemour!

He was dealt with so unfairly...

Funnily enough, Ratt's style would be almost perfect for the modern game...

Don't ... I think I still can summon up a tear remembering that press conference.

That's how I feel too. Take all of the money for potential results, rather than actual results, and then look to get out because their lack of standards have wasted years of their careers.

Mate.

Pre-season, we had the new boy in the draft, booked up as a member.

Week before Round Zero - Newman does a knee, The First rounder has done a knee, the President is in the mood for dick picks.

Round Zero - half time - into the oysters & happy beers

Round Zero - Post Game / Holy Christ, it’s a massacre

Last 3 months - Ozzie dead, Hulk - dead

You know what the leading cause of death is???

Death.

I love Norm McDonald

A week is an age in footy, and when finals are gone, waiting for the trade/draft periods and then the next season to being, it's a life time. While we need a circuit breaker in terms of the club doing something real and tangible to address our issues, Bluemours are life sustaining waiting for that to happen. We get to dream, we get to post about something with passion, we get to think that we are somehow brainstorming the right fix going forward. Sure, they don't usually come off, but boy ... wasn't it a fun ride for a while.

Long live the Bluemour!
Sometimes I wish all the rumours were true, and sometimes I wish they all weren't.

But then, I think... you know what? How about we fling the whole lot up into the air, make 10% of them be true, the rest false, and let the chips fall where they may? That way (when in real life, this is pretty much exactly what happens), I feel like I have orchestrated it!

Sometimes I wish all the rumours were true, and sometimes I wish they all weren't.

But then, I think... you know what? How about we fling the whole lot up into the air, make 10% of them be true, the rest false, and let the chips fall where they may? That way (when in real life, this is pretty much exactly what happens), I feel like I have orchestrated it!

Throwing Bluemours into the air should be our whole of club strategy. Let fate decide.

Not trying to claim it is wrong but with regards to the JSOS rumour it was reported that we have had our contract offer on the table for 6-8 weeks at similar terms to Pies. So seems like he was one of the first out of our uncontracted players to receive a contract offer

6-8 weeks ago would be early to mid-June - so about halfway through the season.

According to this article from the 5th of June, https://www.afl.com.au/news/1335572...n the team has got,be ringing at some stage." - “CARLTON expects to begin contract talks with free agent defender Jack Silvagni in the coming weeks following his impressive start to the season down back.”

Impossible to know how long we really had an offer similar to the Pies one on the table. What if, for example, our initial offer was only 2-3 years, or on lower money when JSOS already had an offer of 4 x 650k in front of him at the time? - we could have turned around quickly to match but by then would the damage have already been done? (In terms of whether the player felt valued by the club)

Who are we talking about about ?

According to this article from the 5th of June, https://www.afl.com.au/news/1335572...n the team has got,be ringing at some stage." - “CARLTON expects to begin contract talks with free agent defender Jack Silvagni in the coming weeks following his impressive start to the season down back.”

Impossible to know how long we really had an offer similar to the Pies one on the table. What if, for example, our initial offer was only 2-3 years, or on lower money when JSOS already had an offer of 4 x 650k in front of him at the time? - we could have turned around quickly to match but by then would the damage have already been done? (In terms of whether the player felt valued by the club)
The 6-8 weeks comment I think came from Caroline Wilson. But Sam Edmund here (https://www.sen.com.au/news/2025/07...al-silvagni-is-weighing-up-amid-pies-interest) also says we had the contract in front of Silvagni for "months". I guess different people have heard different things

According to this article from the 5th of June, https://www.afl.com.au/news/1335572/inside-trading-dees-stars-options-blues-new-deal-hawks-gun-in-talks#:~:text=BLUES LOOK TO 'JSOS' TALKS,the eve of the season.&text=He is coming towards the,.com.au this week.&text="When the team has got,be ringing at some stage." - “CARLTON expects to begin contract talks with free agent defender Jack Silvagni in the coming weeks following his impressive start to the season down back.”

In light of the timeline and other factors discussed, he quite clearly has put his own interests and ego ahead of the collective which he is entitled to do. I can't see how this is a poor reflection on the club.