Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
Voss is being backed as a 20-1 to keep his job for all of 2026. Perform or go is SOP for a new CEO with no ready made replacements he can back. Regime change was never going to be "everyone out" - impossible logistics.
wouldn’t look good for Wright to need to sack a coach mid season after the club had 4 years of intel to make a decision.

Agree you can’t cut everyone but I would have thought a new coach and coaching set up gives more flexibility, go in to 2026 with the focus being on youth and adapting to the new game plan and to sort out our cap.

We keep Voss, so what’s the expectation next year? It only makes sense to me if we think he’s the man long term and if we have decided our poor performances are list related.

I see this as a lose lose situation and we have just kicked the can down the road.

Think GW is being very strategic

Happy to let the “tail waggers” present themselves and exit them accordingly

Re-set the standards and club culture

Bring some fresh ideas (assistants) and a new head of football to set up the footy department

Use the picks from exited players according to bring in some new talent

Once all this is in place then we can make a final call on his coaching
Perfect summation mate.
We are all not used to this approach.
But this is a good start by wright.
Players/assistants/other key people at the club not use to having the blowtorch pointing there way!
Who can handle it and who can’t will be very interesting.
The new angle of attack is refreshing

What are the odds that we lose the first 9 or 10 games next year, have a mid year camp out. Finish with a flurry, then extend his contract for another 2 years?
Do we have high expectations for on-field success next year, regardless of who the coach is going to be? We will have a fair number of inexperienced players continuing to find their feet.

I'll be more interested in seeing the changes that are made around the club generally. If we have some on-field success, it'll be a bonus.

wouldn’t look good for Wright to need to sack a coach mid season after the club had 4 years of intel to make a decision.

Agree you can’t cut everyone but I would have thought a new coach and coaching set up gives more flexibility, go in to 2026 with the focus being on youth and adapting to the new game plan and to sort out our cap.

We keep Voss, so what’s the expectation next year? It only makes sense to me if we think he’s the man long term and if we have decided our poor performances are list related.

I see this as a lose lose situation and we have just kicked the can down the road.
What if we had changed the footy department and the coach, but not the list, and we had started the year 0-4 next year? At least it seems like we are putting the heat on something that isn’t just the head coach for the first time in 25 years

No easy choice better replacement available would be my call.

We put down the bad year to an unsettled club with the Sayers thing kicking off a spiral.

Easy story sell to the media as a stable club off field performs better and we've all heard it before ours and other clubs.

Expectation is that he returns us to finals or his contract isn't renewed. Get us to finals and we extend for 1-2 years WHEN we're locked in.

What are the odds that we lose the first 9 or 10 games next year, have a mid year camp out. Finish with a flurry, then extend his contract for another 2 years?
let me run it through the Jabacus and I'll get back to you :p

So let me get this straight, according to some, yesterday Wright was a genuis footy brain because he was going to turf Vossy into Royal Parade. Today, after recommending to the board Vossy should in fact coach us in 2026, he knows nothing and makes poor decisions.
Confused Hanna Barbera GIF by Warner Archive

If they are unsure with Voss in 2026 they will need a fall back plan. It’s not good going for an interim in week 10 as there are no decent coaches available outside retired ones.

I foresee an experienced HOF that can step in if it doesn’t work. But I can also see the club 100% backing him in and starting again with 4-5 new targeted assistants that all have strengths for Voss weaknesses.

Game plan and innovative tactics - Hayden Skipworth
Development - Luke Power
Defence - Aaron Hamill
Midfield - Adrian Hickmott
Forward - Matthew Egan
Head of Football - Ashley Hansen
Ruck - Steven King

What if we had changed the footy department and the coach, but not the list, and we had started the year 0-4 next year? At least it seems like we are putting the heat on something that isn’t just the head coach for the first time in 25 years
I expect a list refresh of some sort regardless and I’m expecting another down year, I don’t see Voss surviving another down year but a new coach would

So let me get this straight, according to some, yesterday Wright was a genuis footy brain because he was going to turf Vossy into Royal Parade. Today, after recommending to the board Vossy should in fact coach us in 2026, he knows nothing and makes poor decisions.
Don’t you think the wording is weird.
Not our coach for the 2026 season.
Just our coach into the 2026 season

Wording might be a bit strange but looking any deeper into it is pointless imo.

The club isn’t going to come out with a definitive statement to members saying he’s our coach and that he and GW are aligned on what is required for success moving forward only to sack him as we move ‘into’ the 2026 season.

It might not be the outcome some wanted, but it’s the outcome nonetheless.

We've heard all year how GW is an experienced operator (which he is), but when he makes a decision that doesn't agree with some people's biases, we no longer trust him?

No one except Graham Wright knows if Voss is doing a good job or could be doing better.

We wait and see what he decides, personally I'll be happy with whatever he and whoever decides is best. I can't possibly blame Michael Voss without knowing the full picture.

I wish he was a bit less loyal with selections though

I said this 4 weeks ago, looks like there is something going on internally that we don't know about. We can't keep letting these players get away with knifing coaches. Bring it on, hopefully we get fair dinkum and I will back Vossy and GW in.

Jordan Russell can be the first assistant coach to GTFO

We've heard all year how GW is an experienced operator (which he is), but when he makes decision that doesn't agree with some people's biases, we no longer trust him?
He had a good run....everyone loved him until he made his first decision, welcome to Carlton, GW :tearsofjoy: