Autopsy Round 22 = Hawthorn 110-46 Collingwood

I’m not sure how many of you were at the game but the Howe knockout was horrific and resulted in 5 mins of agonising silence from the crowd. I found it very upsetting and I don’t know the guy personally, just know what he’s been through.

I think if it was another player other than Howe then we may have reacted a bit differently, but we’ve seen this before with him and we know, the players know, how devastating it was for him.

In my opinion, the trauma of this incident just knocked the stuffing out of our players and took them mentally out of the game. You could just feel it.

The fact that it happened in the first minute of the game made it so much worse too.

I’m not sure how many of you were at the game but the Howe knockout was horrific and resulted in 5 mins of agonising silence from the crowd. I found it very upsetting and I don’t know the guy personally, just know what he’s been through.

I think if it was another player other than Howe then we may have reacted a bit differently, but we’ve seen this before with him and we know, the players know, how devastating it was for him.

In my opinion, the trauma of this incident just knocked the stuffing out of our players and took them mentally out of the game. You could just feel it.

The fact that it happened in the first minute of the game made it so much worse too.
Contextually even more so - coming back from injury and with that interview recently aired where he detailed the graphic violence of when he snapped his arm, it was just brutal.

Is 9am too early for hard alcohol?

Many people don't get this. It also left a gaping hole in the backline which was the same problem we had the week before against Brisbane, hence all these unknown spuds kicking bags of goals the past 2 weeks.

Things will get better, but a few bad weeks all the negative Nancies come out of the woodwork.

Collingwood - 3 games in 11 days including Brisbane and Hawthorn.
Geelong- 3 games in 21 days against bottom 3 sides then a 5 day break into Essendon.

AFL fixed the draw helping them. It's a rort and Geelong rorting the system. Easiest ride to the flag for them with a first final at home vs Gold Coast and a prelim vs Brisbane. When will the AFL step in?

100% agree. The signal for the stretcher was almost instant and you could hear a pin drop where I was sitting.

Yes, we were sluggish but people shouldn't underestimate the impact this could have on the players mentality. Watson kicked a goal about 10 seconds after play resumed so we were playing catch up while having to revisit our defensive structure straight away.

Not making excuses though you could feel the energy get sucked out of the G and it never came back.

Wise words Kirbs

Don’t normally read them from you - but got to acknowledge when they arrive

We can pile up the excuses and some may even be valid-but missing handballs from 5 metres and dropping marks a primary school kid would take has nothing to do with Howe being hurt or too many games without a decent break. We have also been told by Fly that we have known the draw for some time and have rested players and trained accordingly with the "best in the business".

If seeing a much-loved teammate get knocked out because he refused to short step in spite of who was charging in his direction doesn't inspire you to lift and do the same, then nothing will. Contrary to the idea his collision would have caused us to drop our bundle, I think it should have instilled an iron will to do him (and another much loved leader) proud and play in the same manner.

So many thoughts on a variety of topics, just going to brain dump.

• Where has this come from? Had everything clicking and the train has come to a grinding halt. Clunky and disorganised, can’t defend, can’t score, midfield doesn’t bat deep enough. From flag favourites to the worst team still in contention within a month,
  • Darcy Moore - Lacks so much confidence and on-field aura right now. We laud him when he speaks and represents us well, but I just don’t see him really put the team (or at least the defence) on his back and lead by his actions enough.
  • Long/Mitchell - it’s an issue. Neither is playing well, neither can play in any other position.
  • Frampton is low hanging fruit, he was very rusty and his form was good pre-injury. So many bigger problems than him right now.
  • May as well dump everyone else into the same boat, not a single player is meeting or exceeding where they should be at 3 weeks out from a finals campaign.
  • We had the break glass in case of emergency again. McStay to the backline (like the GC game). Tbh, I don’t mind him there. I don’t know how you swing it with him as a pinch hitting ruck & defender but I’d almost try it.
  • This whole ‘Nick Daicos-centric’ theory has some merit but I think it’s largely nonsense. We are reliant on him but the player with the ball also needs to take some responsibility and not just give it to Nick because he’s there if he’s not the best option.
  • Absolutely agree with the claims that we flirted with form and have upset the apple cart by resting players. I understand it’s the luxury you have when you’re 2 games clear on top, but those who sit on the side of the fence that claim sports science and “managing loads” is a stain on footy would be laughing right now. Membrey, Mihocek, Pendles, Sidey, Howe - their form has dropped off and/or they’ve got injured.
  • Can’t stand the 24 hours after a loss, so many shit takes.
  • **** Hawthorn, they’ve handed us some of our worse losses under Fly. Once a year for at least the last 3 years.
  • Opening Round was our worst performance of the year until last week. Last week was our worst performance of the year until this week. I don’t think there’s enough time to turn it around now. It’s going to take an all time effort to kick the slump, beat Adelaide at home and still make the top 4. We are rapidly closing in on a wasted year.

Pull your finger out Collingwood, I’m mad because I care. I do wish I had hindsight on my side when deciding to book accomodation and travel to Adelaide next week lol. Call me naive, but I hope I’ll be witnessing one of those classic backs against the wall, on the road wins that gets our season back on track!

So... how is everyone doing this morning?

Angry Inside Out GIF by Disney Pixar

Sad Anthony Anderson GIF

Darcy Moore's tap to the Wizard was the perfect assist - to the wrong team.
Can't recall seeing the Pies butcher the ball use so much this year.
Handballs to no one, directly to opposition players or just not near the correct target.
So sad they are wrecking the chance of a GF appearance in 2025.
Not sure they will win another game this year if the pattern continues.

If we can fix our midfield would go a long way to rectifying a lot of issues, like other posters I am confused especially regarding Perryman. I thought one of the reasons he came across was to get more midfield time, we also need to find some speed for the midfield not sure where that comes from. It was the same in the Brisbane game the midfield is broken even though stats may not show it, watching the games at the ground you can 100% see it.

Collingwood - 3 games in 11 days including Brisbane and Hawthorn.
Geelong- 3 games in 21 days against bottom 3 sides then a 5 day break into Essendon.

AFL fixed the draw helping them. It's a rort and Geelong rorting the system. Easiest ride to the flag for them with a first final at home vs Gold Coast and a prelim vs Brisbane. When will the AFL step in?
They can't step in because Geelong have to have 10 games at home. The whole draw is comprised as is the draft.

I knew we were in trouble straight away when Jezza went down, then Moore tapped the ball directly to Watson, instead of punching it as far as possible.

It was by far our worst performance of the year - hard to draw any positives from it at all.
There's still time to do something, but hard to see, given the way we are playing.
Very disappointing is a huge understatement.

They can't step in because Geelong have to have 10 games at home. The whole draw is comprised as is the draft.
Game is good as gone now. Considering walking away from the game. Next they'll schedule a Geelong home final at their cheat code ground

In a text book world they're just playing what they've been d3alt but in reality, their draw is the most favourable one in the game. I don't GAF what anyone says. They get a leg up every year

Hey! Misery loves company so here I am.

I am still bewildered by the past month. Even the 'win' against Tigers was awful.

I've not seen such a consistent drop across a whole team in some time. It is definitely effort, and if the effort is not there then neither are their heads.

• Houston needs to be dropped. Pure and simple has no heart right now. Desire to tackle non-existent.
  • Crisp needs to be dropped. Sorry mate, you hit the milestone and have just been awful last month.
  • Not sure what to say about Moore. Dropped marks, panicky, bruise-free footy.
  • Lowest tackle count for god knows how long means we just did not want to win the footy back.
  • Allowing Hawks to run free through middle of ground, no-one being accountable for their man.

You hate to see it. I hate to say it. But we are a shadow of ourselves from the first half of the year.

I actually think I'll give finals a miss this year, we're just nowhere near it.

For the most part I've admired Fly's approach and the results he has achieved with this team. But

1/ If you are attacking last night's contest with ferocity and trying to arrest a form slide, you simply don't send your best player to start the game on the bench. It's a poor signal.....yet somehow he describes it as 'pretty cool' or something of that ilk in his press conference. The move seems reactive to those commentators who are suggesting we are Nick-centric. We needed leg speed to be a feature of how we won the centre square battle for the evening and we left our best runner on the bench.

2/ When you know that you've selected 3 talls in defence and they've got 4 tall forwards (and a ruck who is drifting forward), you should pretty quickly consider shifting McStay down back to cover when Howe goes down, knowing also that we still have Mihocek and Membrey as tall targets to offer up forward. Allowing the Hawks to go on a run in the 2nd quarter with Darcy Moore at times sitting on the bench and having Billy Frampton, who has missed weeks of AFL-level footy as your only defender > 190cm on the field is staggering blindness to the situation. He talks a lot about process, but seems to have forgotten that obvious process-driven response to a key injury down back.

I can see the merit in the resting policy, but given our injuries in addition, i suspect it may have taken some of the hardness out of our team's approach. I think we've flirted a bit too much with winning form. The lack of spirit that we are playing with now is hard to watch. When your captain is so down on form and confidence, its perhaps not surprising that some of that is seemingly permeating more broadly across this group. I hope that unfulfilled contracts for senior players aren't also have an impact on the team and individuals psyche. There is time and enough available personnel to arrest this, but the road to premiership 17 now looks like a very difficult one to ride in 2025 given how deep we are in the season and the current trajectory of our performances.

For the most part I've admired Fly's approach and the results he has achieved with this team. But

1/ If you are attacking last night's contest with ferocity and trying to arrest a form slide, you simply don't send your best player to start the game on the bench. It's a poor signal.....yet somehow he describes it as 'pretty cool' or something of that ilk in his press conference. The move seems reactive to those commentators who are suggesting we are Nick-centric. We needed leg speed to be a feature of how we won the centre square battle for the evening and we left our best runner on the bench.

2/ When you know that you've selected 3 talls in defence and they've got 4 tall forwards (and a ruck who is drifting forward), you should pretty quickly consider shifting McStay down back to cover when Howe goes down, knowing also that we still have Mihocek and Membrey as tall targets to offer up forward. Allowing the Hawks to go on a run in the 2nd quarter with Darcy Moore at times sitting on the bench and having Billy Frampton, who has missed weeks of AFL-level footy as your only defender > 190cm on the field is staggering blindness to the situation. He talks a lot about process, but seems to have forgotten that obvious process-driven response to a key injury down back.

I can see the merit in the resting policy, but given our injuries in addition, i suspect it may have taken some of the hardness out of our team's approach. I think we've flirted a bit too much with winning form. The lack of spirit that we are playing with now is hard to watch. When your captain is so down on form and confidence, its perhaps not surprising that some of that is seemingly permeating more broadly across this group. I hope that unfulfilled contracts for senior players aren't also have an impact on the team and individuals psyche. There is time and enough available personnel to arrest this, but the road to premiership 17 now looks like a very difficult one to ride in 2025 given how deep we are in the season and the current trajectory of our performances.
If the senior players want contracts a good starting point would be to play like you deserve one…

Autopsy Round 22 = Hawthorn 110-46 Collingwood