List Mgmt. End of Year List Changes

Senior-listed players out of contract: Dow, Kosi, Lynch, KMac, Smith, Sonsie, Young.

We'd need to delist at least three, given Campbell's elevation. Plus one for every player we trade in.

You'd think Kozi and Smith would be done.

You'd think Young and Gray would get new deals.

We probably have a decent exodus of rookies - Bauer, Colina, one or both of Blight and OHB.

KMac and Lynch maybe get another year,
Dow and Sonsie maybe get another year, or maybe rookie-listed.

Can't imagine we will be too drastic this year.
KMac is 100% gone end of the year. Just a matter of whether anyone else picks him up, or he retires.

Senior-listed players out of contract: Dow, Kosi, Lynch, KMac, Smith, Sonsie, Young.

We'd need to delist at least three, given Campbell's elevation. Plus one for every player we trade in.

You'd think Kozi and Smith would be done.

You'd think Young and Gray would get new deals.

We probably have a decent exodus of rookies - Bauer, Colina, one or both of Blight and OHB.

KMac and Lynch maybe get another year,
Dow and Sonsie maybe get another year, or maybe rookie-listed.

Can't imagine we will be too drastic this year.
Have to work backwards via how many players we would want in the draft will be available. From the sounds of it the two early picks and the later one on kellaway? So 3 delistings, and one for Campbells upgrade. So 4 delistings.

Kmac is a clear one. Kozi really offers nothing and neither does Samson. Would anyone want them for a nothing pick? Then between dow, smith, sonsie and young with that player maybe being rookied if they are interested? Is there any rumours on anyone else wanting to retire or go home?

On the bright side that means a good chunk of our rebuild has been completed with the 21 and 24 drafts, and most players will be together to have a good preseason. Quite a bit of growth to come next year.

Pretty sure you can't delist a rookie and think it takes a spot from one of the 3 mandatory changes.

Reckon McIntosh retires, Smith is delisted (have a feeling he might be offered a rookie spot). Could explain his absence for a few weeks after returning home as he mulls over his future he came back yesterday but had one of his worst impactful games in the VFL. Young probably moved off Rookie to the main squad.

Bauer, Blight & Gray are on the rookie list so we are still going to need 1 more change to make the minimum 3 changes. Colina's & OBH spots also won't count.

With Lynch & Prestia playing on, it really only leaves Sonsie & Dow. I have a feeling Gray is re-rookied.

Starting to worry that the 2021 draft lot is average or even a fail. Still worried about Banks and Brown ceiling. Clarke probably can’t ever live up to his potential and Gibcus maybe same given injuries to date. Sonsie looks about Jake Batchelor level at best. Need to trade them all now for 5 second rounders
just been hit with some crap luck with the 21' draft class...
gibcus and Clarke have both hurt us, both talented and both smacked with the injury stick.
Sonsie slow start to the career.
Brown and banks are both pass marks with a future of improvement

Some of the suggestions in here have us delisting 8-10 players :sadv1:

****n tops, cant wait to replace them with picks 796 onwards FFS

We will make a few changes but nothing crazy IMO.

Blight to WC
Bauer delisted
Colina delisted
SMith probably delisted
Kmac probably retire
Kosi delisted

The above is maximum IMO.

Kozi - Pay out remaining year (we have ample cap space to do it)
Ryan - Dumb re-contract, see if any other club will take him on, we part pay and offer future 4th as a sweeter to just offload the liability
Bauer - Delist
Mcintsh - retire
Blight - retain or consider trade
Smith - delist, but train-on for SSP spot in pre-season

Non-consequence list management:
Colina - delist

Kozi - Pay out remaining year (we have ample cap space to do it)
Ryan - Dumb re-contract, see if any other club will take him on, we part pay and offer future 4th as a sweeter to just offload the liability
Bauer - Delist
Mcintsh - retire
Blight - retain or consider trade
Smith - delist, but train-on for SSP spot in pre-season

Non-consequence list management:
Colina - delist
Wait til Tassie are in and offload him to them for a juicy pick? ;)

My guess is the following:

• Blight delist/ trade (don’t think he’ll net much capital, so may be as a delisted free agent to make it easier for him).
  • Bauer delisted
  • Colina delisted
  • Campbell elevated
  • McIntosh retired
  • Smith and Dow straight to rookie list
  • Will keep Clarke and likely put him on the LTIL (or modern equivalent) and open up a MSD selection. This will be the most likely chance to nab Harry Scott imo.

Not sure the maths works out, but we should then have four open list spots if we keep five rookies (we’ve traditionally had six) and 37 on the main list (traditionally had 36).
About what good will. think if we can get blight to the club he wants it always is a good turn for all players.

Blight to WC
Bauer delisted
Colina delisted
SMith probably delisted
Kmac probably retire
Kosi delisted

Can't believe I agree with you morro. ****!

Blight to WC
Bauer delisted
Colina delisted
SMith probably delisted
Kmac probably retire
Kosi delisted

Add Dow IMO. We don't need him if we draft 3 mids this year (pick 2, 3 + Kellaway (who you think is better than Sharp)), plus Prestia staying on. Ross and Sonsie will get squeezed out soon enough. How many B/C grade mids do we need in the reserves?

Taranto
Hopper
Prestia
Mcauliffe
Ross
Sonsie
Lalor
Hotton
Smillie
Pick 2
Pick 3
Kellaway

Surely that's enough mids....

I hope Kmac can do a retirement speech.
I'd pay to hear it haha.
ha I was thinking about this just yesterday. Will be hilarious no doubt.

Add Dow IMO. We don't need him if we draft 3 mids this year (pick 2, 3 + Kellaway (who you think is better than Sharp)), plus Prestia staying on. Ross and Sonsie will get squeezed out soon enough. How many B/C grade mids do we need in the reserves?

Taranto
Hopper
Prestia
Mcauliffe
Ross
Sonsie
Lalor
Hotton
Smillie
Pick 2
Pick 3
Kellaway

Silly lil campaigner.

We cant get rid of all of them this year though and the reason I didn't add Dow, the MC clearly rate him ahead of a few and he was playing good footy before injury.

Taranto
Hopper
Prestia
Mcauliffe
Ross
Sonsie
Lalor
Hotton
Smillie
Pick 2
Pick 3
Kellaway

I reckon before his injury Dow gave us as much or more than Prestia other than GWS game so prefer another year to Dow and move on Prestia who cant get better and is probably slower than Dow

Silly lil campaigner.

We cant get rid of all of them this year though and the reason I didn't add Dow, the MC clearly rate him ahead of a few and he was playing good footy before injury.
I've told you already campaigner he wasn't playing good footy, he just wasn't playing the horrendous footy we were accustomed to. Nothing player. Can't mark, can't kick, can't run. All he can do is be nimble and fire out quick handball (mostly direct to the opposition).
I reckon before his injury Dow gave us as much or more than Prestia other than GWS game so prefer another year to Dow and move on Prestia who cant get better and is probably slower than Dow
We've already put a contract extension to Prestia. We shouldn't keep both on IMO, so bye bye Dow.

I've told you already campaigner he wasn't playing good footy, he just wasn't playing the horrendous footy we were accustomed to. Nothing player. Can't mark, can't kick, can't run. All he can do is be nimble and fire out quick handball (mostly direct to the opposition).

We've already put a contract extension to Prestia. We shouldn't keep both on IMO, so bye bye Dow.
Yes campaigner I know, I ignored your tripe then, I am ignoring it now.

Angry Benedict Cumberbatch GIF

Yes appreciate Prestia has but I don’t agree with it. Another year of playing a midfield mainly of TT, Hopper, Prestia. I suppose we need another couple of good draft picks in 2026.

Prestia is a good insurance policy and on-field midfield coach. IMO, it’s a no brainer to keep him.

It won’t necessarily be another year of playing a midfield of Taranto, Hopper and Prestia. In the 5 games McAuliffe played this season his lowest CBA was 44% (Ross, Dow and Lalor covered the gap) and in the two games he played with Prestia in the team he had 60 and 68%. Since he was injured Ross has played a higher midfield %.

We haven’t seen what will happen when Lalor, Hotton, Smillie and McAuliffe are all fit and in the same team. 1st years (and to a lesser extend 2nd years) don’t play as much midfield time. In effect Prestia will cover injuries and bridge the gap while our young players build up to playing full midfield minutes.

Prestia is a good insurance policy and on-field midfield coach. IMO, it’s a no brainer to keep him.

It won’t necessarily be another year of playing a midfield of Taranto, Hopper and Prestia. In the 5 games McAuliffe played this season his lowest CBA was 44% (Ross, Dow and Lalor covered the gap) and in the two games he played with Prestia in the team he had 60 and 68%. Since he was injured Ross has played a higher midfield %.

We haven’t seen what will happen when Lalor, Hotton, Smillie and McAuliffe are all fit and in the same team. 1st years (and to a lesser extend 2nd years) don’t play as much midfield time. In effect Prestia will cover injuries and bridge the gap while our young players build up to playing full midfield minutes.

Personally I hope we 'underplay' the young guys in the guts until about 2027. So Prestia will be a good addition next year. Also if we do get some injuries to TT, Hopper, Prestia we need the extra old guys to take the hits.

It's about development first, wins second. If we can do both then :heavycheck:

List Mgmt. End of Year List Changes