Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

Reidy strikes me as a stop-gap rather than a long-term ruck solution.

Can manage at an AFL level, but he's not going to be first choice

Treloar would be picked to help us cover the developing mid cohort.

If Cripps, Walsh, Hewett and Cerra play weekly, we need someone in the VFL who can set standards and protect the kids. This year that job was Cincotta's and at best he was a make-shift AFL mid.

Motlop, well I am torn on. I think he has some AFL attributes, and when. He is playing on instinct, is very dangerous around goal.

But his problem is that he second guesses a lot and panics into bad decisions regularly. Needs some strong mentorship IMO.

Would like to land Flanders, but he will want midfield time, and we aren't really in a position to offer it. He doesn't offer enough of a POD to displace any of our current mods. Unless Cerra is given a new role, or Cripps is committed to being a 70% forward I don't see it

As an aside... We heard how much disharmony was at the Dogs last year. Then they traded out the likes of Caleb Daniel, Macrae, etc.

I'm sure they are trained better at the Dogs. However, it doesn't mean that their situation is perfect.

It also helps when you don't blow a half-decade's worth of drafts. Not only did GWS have all of those concessions but when they were trading back into drafts they've hit more often than they've missed. 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020, 2021 drafts have given us not much of anything.

Perhaps if we'd gotten those drafts right things would be different as they've proven to be at GWS.
(To criticize my own self a little here) It's easy to identify the culture issues at a club that has gone backwards like we have. They're often masked over significantly at clubs that are performing better like GWS. For example, it turned out that Hawthorn had a boatload of cultural issues at their peak and it only really came to light after they went backwards.

I'll get back to the rest of your post after my medical appointment.

However, oo be clear, almost none of my information comes from the relative I had at the club. Lots of people associated with him (such as former teammates, etc.) but not directly from him.

They’ve been training better/smarter/harder since Simon Beaumont went to Hawthorn.

Loving the diminishing number of conditional players on the list and the increasing number of childhood Blues and absolutely heart and soul types committed to the cause.

In 12 months time our defence will have Jacob Weitering joined by Harry O’Farrell, Harry Dean, Lachie Cowan. Matt Carroll and Ollie Hollands, all who have grown up as Blues supporters. They are not alone in the playing group, but this is a massive leg up around commitment and ownership.
Hoping OH is out of defence by the start of next season.
And he’s done a power of work on his disposal (and got a decent pair of boots as well + smashed the weights & also got a haircut along with shaving off the mo).

Gettable reporting a few Carlton related things:
  • JSOS leaning towards Saints on a deal worth upwards of 4M over 5 years. Cal has it at 800K-850K/year. Thinks we would get Band 2 compensation (end of first round pick) rather than Band 1.
  • Carlton have shown interested in Rosas as well as a number of other clubs but Richmond and Sydney lead the race.
  • Nothing really new on Curnow but Cal thinks with 6 weeks left to trade deadline plenty can happen and Carlton could still relent on their position. Did also say that Carlton would need to look like winners if they were to trade him.
  • Reeves looking like extending at Hawks but has Reidy coming to Carlton.
  • Nothing concrete but Cal raised the possibility of us potentially making a play for Treloar
  • Cal intrigued by Motlop situation who remains un-signed. Contract talks had been going on for a bit but still no decision on his future.
  • Carlton have also shown interest in Flanders as well as a few other clubs but they aren't sure if he will stay or leave and also what club he would go to if he left.
GCFC looking for a small forward
Could Motlop interest them..?

Flog McClure’s trade idea for Charlie if we trade him on the tradies podcast.

Charlie to the Swans for Papley, Hayward and their first pick. We then flip that pick and the TDK pick to port for Butters.

Said Chris Davies also has a very good relationship with Butters.

Also a little tidbit that flog revealed he’s an assistant coach at Old Xavs with Paul Connors as the coach. Take it that’s where he gets all his info from, Connors and co leaking all this shit about Charlie etc.

Charlie to the Swans for Papley, Hayward and their first pick. We then flip that pick and the TDK pick to port for Butters.

Also a little tidbit that flog revealed he’s an assistant coach at Old Xavs with Paul Connors as the coach. Take it that’s where he gets all his info from, Connors and co leaking all this shit about Charlie etc.
Don't think that would be enough for Butters.

I'm tempted to sue Wickzki for wearing out my Like button, but I guess you take the good with the bad
Same here ... often tempted to 'like' and only allow the odd one to slip through cause I don't want to see him end up with a big head like Charlie and start thinkin he's super important around the place and worth a $million bucks .. or 2

Unfortunately, he’s not the droid we’re looking for..
But surely he has more to his game than the Fogarty/Durdin types. We can't be going into next year banking on Evans to continue his GOAT form and those types contributing significantly. After Williams who is a lock in the team when fit Motlop is our next best small forward imo and is only 21

Could we do a 4 for 1..?
Out: Charlie
In: Hayward - Roberts - McInerney - Campbell

But surely he has more to his game than the Fogarty/Durdin types. We can't be going into next year banking on Evans to continue his GOAT form and those types contributing significantly. After Williams who is a lock in the team when fit Motlop is our next best small forward imo and is only 21
All about contracts and timing.

The likely loss of EH hurts more across HF.

Not so much a bluemour, but I live in a bayside suburb and have a myriad of saints and a couple pies who are regulars at my local coffee shop and much to my surprise G Hewitt walks in this morning. This location is a long way from home for George from what I understand. I tried to see who he was meeting, but didn’t want to verge on stalking and his presence could have been completely unrelated to footy matters (he’s rock solid for us), but a little part of me was actually hoping he was there on a bloody reverse raid mission of st Kilda and trying to sell the fruits of ikon park to a saint who is disgruntled by the crazy salaries being offered to TDK and Sos. Maybe Im dreaming, but I would love for this to be the case deep in Saints territory.
Agree, maybe TDK Pick plus our first next year + Durdin as the steak knife. Get it done Austin!

What would Port get if they lost him to FA next year for compo?

Probably a pick around 3 or 4? They will be bottom 4-6, you'd think.
Yeh band 1 compo if he left and they didn't match. But as an RFA they could match whatever deal Butters gets in 2026 and force a trade.

Heard this as well. Explains why McClure is going so hard on the Charlie rumours - he’s a useful idiot

Agreed - the best I think we can offer for Butters would be picks 2 and 9 and that would only be if we trade Charlie to the Swans and they trade Warner to the Eagles which puts the Eagles comp pick in play and the Eagles Pick 11 or Swans pick 9 coming to us too.

It’s possible but it probably under values Butters whereas I think that’s fair for Warner and while it may under value Charlie in picks if it works out to Butters is probably fair given their respective ages.

Warner could very well want to head home next season and the Swans can still win a flag without him whereas they are more dependent on Gulden and Heeney (in my opinion anyway).

I'll get back to the rest of your post after my medical appointment.

However, oo be clear, almost none of my information comes from the relative I had at the club. Lots of people associated with him (such as formerp teammates, etc.) but not directly from him.
To be clear, this is more what I meant...through him. ( sorry I could have said it better)You've mentioned you are in a facebook group with a few connections...made clear you aren't an ITK but I notice a change in what Wick thinks, to pretty definitive statements around a lot of issues. I wanted to make clear, as some take this as gospel, or use this to buffer their already held views on why they think the club is where it is.
From my pov, it's resulted in even more posters feeling justified to throw insults at our players.

As I said - I find it distasteful at best.

Club should bring Ed back as a coach
I agree with this . Not necessarily anything to do with Charlie and keeping him, more to do with Ed himself and the bloke that he is.

Ed is such a genuine person, a great character to have around the club, and was first class in his approach to training and standards as a player. If he came back, these are the traits I would love for our players to take on.