Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2

I think that Optus and Adelaide compete pretty well with MCG on an aesthetics level.

But, for the people who argue on the size of the stadium,why do people accept that corporates and MCC member get such a large allocation?
Because most MCC members are also individual club members, who would be occupying seats anyway, even without the existence of the the MCC. I've been an MCC and Richmond FC member for over 35 years ... there's tens of thousands of other Victorians in the same boat each season.

Besides, there are only about 23k MCC seats of the 100k, meaning that the capacity of the MCG would still be far larger than any other AFL ground in the country.

I can't speak for corporates. Is the percentage at the MCG significantly different from other venues?

I think that Optus and Adelaide compete pretty well with MCG on an aesthetics level.

But, for the people who argue on the size of the stadium,why do people accept that corporates and MCC member get such a large allocation?
Do you think corporates might get allocated some tickets if the GF was in Adelaide? Nah, probably just an MCG thing.

GWS are going nowhere with the current group.

They have quality in a range of positions across the ground but play a soft, one way brand of footy. Everyone raves about them when they are on, but when the game isn't on their terms they are borderline uncompetitive.

The Rd 21 game vs Sydney was classic GWS. Kicked 9 goals in the third quarter and 6 in the other three. If Sydney had a semblance of a forward line the game would've been over by half time. Similar story in the EF. Kicked 7 goals in a 15 minute burst and otherwise were pretty solidly beaten for the day. You can't be goalless for almost an entire final quarter and kick 6 goals over 3 quarters and expect to contend.

They remind me of 2019/20 West Coast. We were a good team that finished 5th two years in a row but were getting by playing a good quarter or two a game and relying on having a dominant ruckman and, efficient forward line and elite key defenders to mask deficiencies in other areas. GWS transition the ball from the back half and score. There is no plan B.

I'm loath to be that person who feels the need to rip off a cool idea that I've seen in an overseas sporting league, but I think some AFL clubs would benefit by using a song other than their club song as the team enters the stadium for a home game.

Imagine if a club got something like this going... how quickly every other club would take the idea. Or how much louder the crowd would have been at the start of Friday night's game, if Geelong did something like this before their GMHBA games and then you heard the intro as the players came out on the G. The place would be heaving.

I'm loath to be that person who feels the need to rip off a cool idea that I've seen in an overseas sporting league, but I think some AFL clubs would benefit by using a song other than their club song as the team enters the stadium for a home game.

Imagine if a club got something like this going... how quickly every other club would take the idea. Or how much louder the crowd would have been at the start of Friday night's game, if Geelong did something like this before their GMHBA games and then you heard the intro as the players came out on the G. The place would be heaving.

Bin goal songs for players.

Can't talk to the corporate side of things which for the record is a joke. MCC though, The MCC is responsible for management and development of the Melbourne Cricket Ground, a power given to it by the government-appointed MCG Trust and an Act of Parliament. This also guarantees the club's occupation of about 20 per cent of the stadium for its members reserve.

The MCG Trust members are:

• Hon Steve Bracks AC (chairman)
  • Mr Eddie McGuire AM
  • Ms Bianca Chatfield
  • Ms Theresa Best
  • Mr Dale Monteith
  • Hon Robert Ray
  • Ms Amanda Ring
  • Mr James MacKenzie
Some of the other names might be familiar to you I dunno. But one of them seems to be plying his influence to ensure favourable outcomes for his club even more than when he was president

I'm happy to leave it, but let the players pick whatever they want. There's zero chance they aren't given a small list of approved songs they need to pick from. Makes it worthless.
Approved, yes. Given a short list to choose from? Maybe at some clubs, not at others.

There is some pretty random music, George Wardlaw has Mozart, for instance.

Port do this with Never Tear Us Apart and for some reason get ridiculed for it. I'm all for it personally.

I genuinely think 2 x 9 team conferences would be great.

You play each team in your conference twice, both home and away, with an old school top four finals schedule for each conference.

Then the two conference winners play off in the GF.

I reckon you could split 'interstate' clubs into different Conferences, so there'd be a game in each state each week, and all clubs would then visit each state for an away game throughout the year.

To do it properly, 3 Vic clubs would have to relocate though. One to Tassie, one to NT and one to Canberra.

Epic comp.

Port do this with Never Tear Us Apart and for some reason get ridiculed for it. I'm all for it personally.

Yeah Freo with Hells Bells too, I believe? But not when they're walking out, I don't think? They play the club songs, which we all love of course, but those little jingles hardly get people fired up and out of their seats.

The MCG Trust members are:

• Hon Steve Bracks AC (chairman)
  • Mr Eddie McGuire AM
  • Ms Bianca Chatfield
  • Ms Theresa Best
  • Mr Dale Monteith
  • Hon Robert Ray
  • Ms Amanda Ring
  • Mr James MacKenzie
Some of the other names might be familiar to you I dunno. But one of them seems to be plying his influence to ensure favourable outcomes for his club even more than when he was president
Jeez, I almost had a heart attack.....

I initially read Bianca Chatfield and thought it was Abbey Chatfield....

Tom lunch shanks a 15 metre straight shot out on the full, unbelievably the goal ump signals a goal.

“He tried”
Tom Lunch throws a haymaker at Jordan Butts, who gets up 10 seconds later uninjured and goes on to continue to give Lunch a bath for the next 2.5 quarters.

Tribunal - "5 weeks"
Lunch defense - "But nobody actually got hurt"
Tribunal - "He tried"

Would be awesome, but college football is it's own unique animal, not even the NFL could recreate this type of atmosphere, and sadly Australians just don't vibe like the yanks and poms. For whatever reason, we are a very stiff and overly self conscious population when it comes to things like this.

Port's 'never tear us apart' and 'COOOOLLLIIINGWOOOOOOOOOOOOD' is the closet we get. What a sobering thought.

Would be awesome, but college football is it's own unique animal, not even the NFL could recreate this type of atmosphere, and sadly Australians just don't vibe like the yanks and poms. For whatever reason, we are a very stiff and overly self conscious population when it comes to things like this.

Port's 'never tear us apart' and 'COOOOLLLIIINGWOOOOOOOOOOOOD' is the closet we get. What a sobering thought.

Yeah, could never quite match that atmosphere of college football and in fairness that video was the first home game in a full stadium following a long COVID lockdown break, but I reckon the right clubs in the right stadiums - basically teams that routinely get their grounds to 80%+ capacity for home games could make it work.

I always preferred the pointier Faulkners. Slice through the air and spin like a ninja star.
Sherrins are too round imo
whenever I rocked up to play and saw the match ball was a fresh Lyrebird, I was pumped! As a goal kicker, I loved them! They were quite long and thin, which made them much easier to kick straight.

It had to be a fresh one though, as they'd lose their shape pretty quickly.

Opinion What unpopular AFL opinions do you have? - Part 2