Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

"Similar to Charlie" nope, not what I asked...

Think a star player from a team... I'll give you Bryce Gibbs as an example...
I don’t understand what you’re asking?

But Gibbs was a midfielder, and we didn’t trade him when he first asked, and then we got our price a year later when he only had 2 years to go on his contract.

Flicks for footy cards, closest to the wall or card stands on wall for win…
Lee Street primary school, mates or then anywhere else there was a challenge…
Nah we were all the bog standard bunch out at recess, in a trade circle with the duffel coats on , "Got'im, Got'im, Need'im"
The 1977 cards are the earliest I remember collecting, but my mate had some from '73. Must have got them from his dad or something. https://www.footycardguide.com.au/scanlens/

I don’t understand what you’re asking?

But Gibbs was a midfielder, and we didn’t trade him when he first asked, and then we got our price a year later when he only had 2 years to go on his contract.

Being a midfielder is totally irrelevant. So is contract length. They're either contracted or not. If they are, the club has the power.

A star player from team A wants to leave... what (historically) has team A received for trading said player?

If you can find any example of a team B coming to the party and letting go of one of their best players in return, let's hear it...

As for the Gibbs trade, you didn't see Adelaide offering any of their best players for him did you?

Even lesser examples like Barrass last year, traded for picks. Bolton, traded for picks.

A more comparable example, Lachie Neale, also traded for picks despite being contracted for another year, and iirc, it wasn't because he was a "pre-agent"...

Even Cameron... GWS matched Geelong's bid, so the Cats were forced into trading for him... what did GWS get?

Just accept reality, if we trade Charlie, we aren't getting established star players in return.

But that will cost GCFC one of their Academy picks too, won’t it?
How does that position us with Dean (unless bids are shored up, incl GCFC’s as well)

If we swap the TDK pick (#11) for their #7, they should still be able to pay for their academy players.

As for Dean, we will still have the Silvagni compo to pay for that.

My 6yo let out a sad sigh when I told him JSOS and TDK were going to the Saints and Charlie might be leaving too. But he gave a big "Yay!" when I told him we'd be getting better players instead.
Point 1: Winning games are important for kids than individual players.
Point 2: Please don't disappoint us Austin ;)
One of my new cousins grandson is most disappointed with all the losses this year. But he still supports the Blues! He is a massive Crippa and Harry fan. Charlie... yeah... sort of.

Nah we were all the bog standard bunch out at recess, in a trade circle with the duffel coats on , "Got'im, Got'im, Need'im"
The 1977 cards are the earliest I remember collecting, but my mate had some from '73. Must have got them from his dad or something. https://www.footycardguide.com.au/scanlens/
1978-81 primary school, scanllens sets, remember they had the footy pictures on the back (jigsaw type) which you could make a large picture c from the cards, chewy strips, can’t remember exactly all of them but sure there were a few with blues pies tigers matches from memory..

That, I can sort of agree with.

It will really boil down to how badly Charlie wants to leave, and how much we desire to keep a player on our list who has told the club he wants out...
Or what his management can broker / orchestrate on behalf of CC’s “de$ire”.

CFC may straighten itself out with new appointments and with it, CC’s attitude, however it seems the club may be on a different path on application.

Had the duffel coats (had Harmesy)
Got ‘em Got’em Need’em, you’re given me flashbacks that i haven’t thought about in years, cheers great memories…

If we swap the TDK pick (#11) for their #7, they should still be able to pay for their academy players.

As it stands, they're around 1500 points short of what they will need for their academy players. They will almost certainly want to trade out pick 6 (7) for more points on the night. Trading down to 11 will hurt them considerably. Not to say they won't for a player of Curnow's calibre, but to do so, they'll need to find more points elsewhere.

No disrespect, I get we all love the club and want to see us improve, but some of us need to take off the blue glasses for a minute and think about what a good deal for Charlie looks like.

I love Charlie and at his best he’s the most entertaining player in the game. No one is saying that you trade him for under just to get him out the door, but there is some serious overestimation of what his worth is.

Charlie had a pretty average year this year. Yes, it’s because of injuries and lack of preseason, but that’s the problem - he had four surgeries this year to clean up a knee that kept him out of the game for a couple of years. Yes, he came back and was a dominant player for a few years, but there is no guarantee that he gets back there.

He’s said twice he wants to stay - both times where when he couldn’t avoid the media. It’s what he has to say because he knows that he probably can’t get out of his contract, and he probably does have to come back next year. But he doesn’t want to be here next year.

He has told the club, face to face, I’d be happy to play somewhere else. He’s met with an opposition coach. He’s authorised his manager to leak meetings and spread stories, or at the least hasn’t shut him down. He jetted off overseas and hasn’t posted a socials message trying to shut this down.

A deal probably can’t be done, as yes, we will want overs. But overs for Charlie isn’t as high as you all seem to think. He’s 29 at the start of next season, has a pretty significant injury history and is coming off a down year. The multiple first rounders is fanciful. So is all the first choice Swans and GC players, as is Butters.

A ‘win’ in a trade sense is a deal that improves both teams. It’s not about the picks, points, or players - it’s about coming out as a better team. Adelaide went from 15 to 1 this year adding 3 best 22 players that weren’t big names - the kind of players folks around here would turn their noses up at. Same folks who still think we didn’t get enough back for Kennedy last year because he did alright in a team that still missed finals. Charlie for Walter, and someone else in the 23-26 age bracket would be a more than fair deal that improves both teams.

I don’t have my head in the sand, but I’m realistic about what a good deal for us could look like. I think the most likely option is that Charlie stays - mainly because the club knows that they have to be seen to ‘win’ to keep members happy, and a deal like that is too hard. I doubt he will ever play at the level he did a few years ago with us, but he’s still box office when he’s on. It’s either that or a deal that everyone here hates, but actually improves us in the long run. No matter what we do, half of us are going to say we did the wrong thing.

Jeremy Cameron was traded to Geelong in 2020 as a 28yo coming off an injury riddled last season with GWS which amounted to just 24 goals…

With the Cats he’s earnt THREE All Australian’s, kicked over 300 goals, won a Coleman Medal and is as dominant as ever right now at 32.

Be very careful of ‘underselling’ Charlie Curnow who is also 28 right now. That’s all I’d say.

Gold Coast need more points as things stand, they're not fine. They have other top 30 academy prospects.

Jeremy Cameron was traded to Geelong in 2020 as a 28yo coming off an injury riddled last season with GWS which amounted to just 24 goals…

With the Cats he’s earnt THREE All Australian’s, kicked over 300 goals, won a Coleman Medal and is as dominant as ever right now at 32.

Be very careful of ‘underselling’ Charlie Curnow who is also 28 right now. That’s all I’d say.

When Cameron went to the cats, he was a year younger(27), had played more games(177) and had kicked more goals(427). The trade was Cameron and two future seconds for three mid to late first rounders. When all was said and done it was the equivalent of pick 6. Yes, he wasn’t contracted, but GWS matched the bid and forced a trade. That’s all I’d say.

I try and stay positive, but this year has been rough.

The club spruik the same crap every year. I just don’t see anything to be excited about next year. I think we’ll be bottom 4-6, with much of the list that the club think is good enough.

If we we’re bottom 4-6, because we did a rebuild/refresh, then I could accept and get behind that.

Every year we say another preseason and the team will get better, but it never does.

2023 (which seems more of a fluke) which coincidentally was also, the last year of pure contested football being effective.

We say publicly. Carlton First, if you don’t want to be here then leave. So Charlie says he wants to leave, then we publicly hold him at ransom.

Motlop explores his options, no one wants him so we offer him 2 years, seriously 2 years!

Motlop, Durdin, Fogarty = worst small forward group in the AFL, yet we give them all multi year contracts.

We bring in the great white hope in Wright. Yet, as we sit adding (Chesser, Khamis, Reidy) our list is already in much worse shape than last year.

This year the members voted with their feet and crowd numbers dropped off dramatically. It would have to of been one of the worst year of crowd numbers since the dark old days. Can’t imagine, how much membership, will take a hit next year.

As it stands, they're around 1500 points short of what they will need for their academy players. They will almost certainly want to trade out pick 6 (7) for more points on the night. Trading down to 11 will hurt them considerably. Not to say they won't for a player of Curnow's calibre, but to do so, they'll need to find more points elsewhere.

Yeah they want to have their cake and eat it...

Reality is, they will have to trade other players to find more points

Everyone wants to see big and bold changes at the top until it’s their favourite player that looks to be moving on.

Make no mistake we will get overs for Charlie, but some of you need to re consider what overs for Charlie actually is. He is disgruntled and coming off a poor season which was full of surgeries. We aren’t winning the flag next year and need to bring in youth before the compromised drafts, so I suspect the club would let him go for Walter and pick 6. That’s the long term play. Would we trade Jagga and a top first rounder for Zac Merrett? Heck no, but that’s essentially what we’re asking of the Suns.

Still think he gets to Sydney and they’d be crazy to move on Walter at this stage in his development. But we can hope.

As we don’t have any player (no, not Motlop or Cerra) and multiple first round drafts picks (as of today) that would satisfy Port Adelaide in a trade for Zak Butters, I don’t know how anyone can say we will get him. That might change next month during the trade period when/if other clubs start making trades with us and we accumulate the necessary pieces to make a trade with Port Adelaide.

There is literally no “reliable source” out there that can tell you what Carlton’s list management or any of the other clubs in the competition will do next month.