AFL Player 1: Andrew "Pidge" McGrath (vc) - The skip we didn't know we needed

Ironic or iconic if he were the one to be captain and lead us to a finals win after 2 decades in purgatory
Mate he could lead us to a premiership with 36 and 3 goals in the decider and there’d be a few around here still mashing the keyboard about how we’ve got five more years of him.

If he did that with even 4 years left on his contract, it would be the greatest single-season turnaround in AFL history given that it means we're premiers in 2026.

Pidge was better playing mid than defence at the end this year in that his turnovers up the ground do not hurt as much. Having said that I don't think he is in our strongest players in the middle when we are healthy. I would love to trial him deep forward and going into the middle in the rotation. Think he would have the strength, speed and footy smarts to play forward a could hopefully play like Keays does at the crows.

Someone mentioned co captains and I think that would suit our list if Merrett walks. The top 3 as voted by the players towards the end of pre-season as co-captains, which I think Pidge would be one of. 4th and 5th as VC and deputy VC.

If the vote is particularly close or if they have different strengths I would maybe think about shared leadership, but honestly I think that’s what we already had with Merrett and McGrath anyway.

Pidge was better playing mid than defence at the end this year in that his turnovers up the ground do not hurt as much. Having said that I don't think he is in our strongest players in the middle when we are healthy. I would love to trial him deep forward and going into the middle in the rotation. Think he would have the strength, speed and footy smarts to play forward a could hopefully play like Keays does at the crows.

So he’s Lachie Schultz now?

The hardest part about making McGrath Captain is it’s hard to really want to pick him in the side despite him having obvious afl quality. Haven’t really found a spot on the park where he’s cemented himself yet

Genuinely wouldn't mind him being skipper at all.

The game he was captain vs St Kilda was our best performance in the second half of the year, and you don't need to be an out and out superstar player to be a great captain.

Nick Maxwell was an utter hack and he was a great captain.

That said, Pidge through the guts was pretty impressive towards the end of the season.

Also wouldn't mind a co-captain deal with Red Dog either.

McGrath's ability to consistently apply himself to a job and smash whoever he is playing on is at least a fairly good indicator that he can lead by example, and he seems to have the respect of the entire group and a lot of respect league wide to be honest.

He doesn't necessarily have to be captain to parlay this but I reckon he would be good at it.

McGrath's ability to consistently apply himself to a job and smash whoever he is playing on is at least a fairly good indicator that he can lead by example, and he seems to have the respect of the entire group and a lot of respect league wide to be honest.

He doesn't necessarily have to be captain to parlay this but I reckon he would be good at it.
He's great at nullifying players, but I could see him getting better with everything else if he was given the repsonsibility of captain. He could step up a level, and I think he showed that when he was captain vs the Saints.

Think we leave it up to the playing group. He should be voted in.
Fairly sure they do make it a player vote early next year. Hope he gets it. He's a good egg with a great chin

AFL Player 1: Andrew "Pidge" McGrath (vc) - The skip we didn't know we needed