List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 3

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

I know Flanders is still young, but he's lived through turmoil at Gold Coast only to want out right when they play finals.

Apart from a relationship with King, I really can't see a world where Demons are a better prospect for him.

• They've sent their best defender packing, he's a knob, but he's still their best defender. - They have a rubbish forwardline, don't try to tell me JVR is a good player.
  • They've had Oliver with massive off field issues wanting out for 3 offseasons
  • Petracca is into season 2 of wanting out after issues with the club - Ned needs to compare our treatment of Dow to Trac
  • They've lost a player due to cocaine use and trafficking
  • Viney will be on his last legs
  • I really like Langford, Windsor and Lindsay - but they could very easily be in for a world of pain for the foreseeable future with an average list an an expansion team arriving.
He gets to be their number 1 mid.

So you reckon Brisbane are stupid for having Darcy Fort when Oscar McInerney got injured? That they would've won the premiership without Fort?

Fort is much more advanced than Campbell, they brought Mcinerney back last week and still played Fort. Plus Heath could have played the same role, but we are a long from playing finals let alone a GF.

Look after him AFTER his current contract is up. Can't be setting a Essendon style precedent.
Maybe.

It’s a weird new world, we may need to extend and increase tbh.

I don’t like it but gotta adapt or die

giphy.gif

Battle looked a like a player built for finals so far at the Hawks. It was messy bit of list management and hard to justify unless we end up with Tauru as an absolute star and the club making regular finals over the next few seasons.

Heaps wanted to let Battle go because he was going to be on $900k and are now justifying the wages of JSOS and Aleer along with TDK, it's a bit bizarre to be honest.
Understand your point but it’s difficult out to know if he would have stayed anyway. Battle is the same output as last season (actually statistically a little less output but slightly more attacking) but now he is in a Hawks top he is AA. I don’t think he has actually improved, to pick up a point earlier, not necessarily yours. Still a very good player though, but not our best backman.

With Wood/Hill getting older, Byrnes likely delisted and Nas moving to the midfield, there's this stupid sexy hole in the HBF/midfield/wing with someone's name on it.

Come on you stupid sexy MF

Angus Hastie / Kai Fincher

Fort is much more advanced than Campbell, they brought Mcinerney back last week and still played Fort. Plus Heath could have played the same role, but we are a long from playing finals let alone a GF.
Christ , what is it with you and Heath , is he your nephew or something .

Herald Sun -

North Melbourne and Western Bulldogs are both firmly in the market for an experienced key defender, but it is understood the Bulldogs are prioritising their aggressive push for St Kilda vice-captain Callum Wilkie.

Would be a shame if they come away from the trade period having not made an improvement to their key backs however stocks.

Herald Sun -

North Melbourne and Western Bulldogs are both firmly in the market for an experienced key defender, but it is understood the Bulldogs are prioritising their aggressive push for St Kilda vice-captain Callum Wilkie.

Would be a shame if they come away from the trade period having not made an improvement to their key backs however stocks.
But they would have won the moral trade period for not paying an 100k extra for the key defender free agent who would actually meet with them.

Herald Sun -

Love how this is framed as if they have the bargaining power to do this and it isn't dependent on the saints.

What stupid journalism.

But they would have won the moral trade period for not paying an 100k extra for the key defender free agent who would actually meet with them.

Love how this is framed as if they have the bargaining power to do this and it isn't dependent on the saints.

What stupid journalism.
See I think they have the pieces to get a deal done.

I just don’t think they in their wildest minds would part with them.

And if his Agent or even Cal himself is going with this. Well they just have rocks for brains thinking we are taking picks.

So I just genuinely can’t see how it’s done. It’s beyond detrimental to us to lose Wilkie for picks after bringing in the players we are.

Nobody denying that. When he plays on instinct, you can see the natural talent, from his pack marks down back, to the little tap on for Hills goal in the comeback v Dees.
Absolute tonne of work and reckon we have this same convo this time next year. NAZ had only just cut loose in his 4th year. Tauru played half a season with no preseason.
Still I am excited with the players we are accumulating.

:100:% our kids are the best we have had for sometime.

My point re Tauru is generally key talls take time, I think its unrealistic for supporters to expect Alix to have a consistent impact as early as next year. Nas is an outside flanker/mid and he has taken 4 years to reach his best. Mitch Owens as a example in his first year he looked like the next Stewart Leowe, this year at times he was lucky to hold his spot in the side.

Unless young players are well developed midfielders eg Boxshall kids take time.

And if his Agent or even Cal himself is going with this. Well they just have rocks for brains thinking we are taking picks.

So I just genuinely can’t see how it’s done. It’s beyond detrimental to us to lose Wilkie for picks after bringing in the players we are.
They shouldn't have re-signed Ed Richards a few months ago

Signing Windy is honestly massive for the PR of the club.
  • we've lost noone who we don't want to as a result of our cash splashing.

Nas, Windy and Hall being re-signed was more important than any new signings and so happy its happened now.

Edit: may as well say it in this post too, on top of those 3, signing Pou to an extension to allow him to focus on his footy without the go home media distraction is also a master-class!
Could you say that a little more loudly for the media idiots hanging around here and who predicted...an exodus!!!

Serious clubs dont lose contracted players. No way Ross would ever agree to a trade anyway.

Wilkie will get his pay rise and lead us next year. Everyone wins except the Dogs.

Serious clubs dont lose contracted players. No way Ross would ever agree to a trade anyway.

Wilkie will get his pay rise and lead us next year. Everyone wins except the Dogs.
I agree with you.

I’m purely talking about the fact that in the event he says he wants to go.

They are going to have to part with some serious player capital.

Which they won’t and thus it makes absolutely no sense.

I tried to make this point about 100 pages ago but you have made it much clearer than I did.

The Doggies have stuff we'd take... if they offered it. Which they won't.

Just on Wilkie, its not common, but he needs to go to his manager and give him the boot.

They are the one's who mismanaged his contract, not us. I'd go to Wilkes and say I'll pay you overs for the two years on top of the current two but only once you fire your agent so he gets zero commission.
This is the full list of AFL clients that Wilkies agent, Greg Size represents. Callum is obviously his biggest client by a country mile and old mate is clearly looking to use him and his commission to fill his pockets. So he's decided to shop him around. Obviously we can't control these things but itd be nice if we could advise him to seek better representation that knows how to manage star players.

1758164512467.png

I tried to make this point about 100 pages ago but you have made it much clearer than I did.

The Doggies have stuff we'd take... if they offered it. Which they won't.
I could see us moving Wilkie for Sanders and Freijah.

It won’t happen. But it’s the type of deal that it’s going to need to be.

Happens early enough and we can turn our attention to Butts for example or even keep Roma to get Caminiti playing as a key back etc.

This is the full list of AFL clients that Wilkies agent, Greg Size represents. Callum is obviously his biggest client by a country mile and old mate is clearly looking to use him and his commission to fill his pockets. So he's decided to shop him around. Obviously we can't control these things but itd be nice if we could advise him to seek better representation that knows how to manage star players.

View attachment 2429306
Doing the same for McCreery too hence the news from a few weeks ago of him potentially leaving Collingwood

He also completely stuffed Clurey's career - bloke fell off so hard even though he did get a pretty lucrative contract from Port initially

I can understand Flanders going to Melbourne over us as he already has a relationship with the new coach. We think we are on a better path than Melbourne but we have shown nothing yet except a propensity for high risk endeavours.

Don't get me wrong I am pleased we are going down this high risk path as I could see no future in the dual narrative. But, let's not pretend that it couldn't all go **** up and we end up worse than we are now.
He has a chance to play with The Nasiah for heaven's sake.
For that alone, I'd question his judgement if he chose the Dees.
:innocent: