Review Geelong defeat Hawks "when it matters" by 6 goals to make another Grand Final

Look at their coach and his press conference though. Rocked up like an 8 year old with red eyes who’d be crying for half an hour. Begrudgingly gave Geelong credit and said he didn’t give a proverbial who won next week and that Stewart would miss. Also said that the Hawks were pretty much just as good and handled all the big moments tonight. It was classy stuff.

They just expect another dynasty and you can tell they think it’s shades of 2008 when they weren’t ready yet and arrived ahead of time and we choked and they got the plaudits. This team we stood up and they still manage to give themselves the plaudits. What a supporter base.

I guess the compliment is that we are just somehow expected to be the competition benchmark decade on decade while they hibernate for 5-6 years to rebuild.

To be fair to the child, he did say they probably won't finish in the top 7 next year, cos you know, it's hard. Too many teams.
Boo hoo. Tell that to the dawkies over there that think this was just a warm up for next year.

Code Sports player write ups from tonight's match

O'Sullivan - 5
Big moment early getting Newcombe holding the ball, but Mitch Lewis got the better of him at times.

SDK - 7
Started well with eight disposals and five contested possessions in the first term, standing tall with Jack Henry off. Defended strongly from thereon.

Henry - 4
Looked like he’d been shot by a sniper on level three when he collapsed to the ground with an ankle injury. Showed serious guts coming back on and playing out the game, however he had the turning circle of a truck at times on Jack Gunston and was well beaten.

O'Connor - 8
Turned Josh Weddle into Joe Webble – as he is affectionately called by Massimo D’Ambrosio’s nonno. Restricted him to two touches in their 44 minutes matched up in the first half.

Stewart - 4
Was Geelong’s best player in the one-sided first quarter before he was dumped in a tackle and concussed. Grand final heartbreak for the vice-captain who bleeds Geelong.

Guthrie - 7
With Stewart off, Guthrie stepped up to the plate with 10 disposals and four intercepts in the second quarter alone.

Bowes - 5
Doesn’t stand out on the stats sheet, but plays an important role. Had a couple of deft kicks inside 50 to find

Holmes - 8
Had broken down in two preliminary finals in 2022 and 2024. And after he was unsighted in the first quarter with two touches, he responded strongly. Like last week, he shone in the premiership quarter with nine disposals and a goal.

Dempsey - 5.5
Didn’t get a heap of the ball, but more than half of his disposals led to scores – none better than his goal assist handball over his head.

Stengle - 7.5
Stengle did his best Nick Watson impression as he put a spell on the Hawks defence either side of halftime, slotting two lovely snaps and proved untackleable. Belted one neatly into the bottom corner to seal the game late in the piece.

Mannagh - 7
The matchwinner the last time these two sides played, Mannagh couldn’t hit the side of a barn door early until he blew out the cobwebs with a coolly taken set shot from range. Made up for those early blemishes with a staggering goal from the boundary.

Close - 6
It’s never about the stat sheet for the relentless runner. Missed a gettable snap on the stroke of quarter time but had some key touches.

Neale - 4
His goal song is ‘Tequila’ because his mum takes a shot of the liquor each time he goals. She has been stone-cold sober in his two preliminary finals, with one Neale goal in those two games. But his presence in the air was important on Friday night. Took a great pack marks – his first touch of the footy – but Patrick Dangerfield got the free kick instead.

Jezza - 7.5
After having the better of Josh Battle in their last match-up, Cameron struggled early until a contested mark and long launch in the second term kicked him into gear. Two big goals in the third quarter.

Dangerfield - 10
This was prime Danger, sending the Hawks up Moggs Creek without a paddle. Back in the midfield, Dangerfield wound back the clock winning crucial clearances, kicking important goals – the first when the Cats were lifeless – and flying for everything in the air. Contracted until the end of 2026, you wouldn’t blame the Cats for adding another year or two to his deal based on this unforgettable display.

Blicavs - 8
The glue that holds this side together. Worked Lloyd Meek around the ground and fought hard at the contest. May be needed in defence next week, and you know he’ll do whatever is required.

Smith - 9
Dominated the headlines in the lead-up after an expletive-laden tirade to a News Corp photographer, and Hawthorn fans gave him similar verbal treatment when he got the ball in space. They were left hoarse by the end as he amassed possessions at will, icing the win with a ripper on the run.

Atkins - 9
Celebrated his 30th birthday this week in style, blanketing finals specialist Jai Newcombe while having a huge impact himself. Football’s octopus: he always has ten-tackles.

Humphries - 4
Was subdued but a big holding the ball tackle had the crowd roaring in the third term.

Martin - 4
Was MIA in the first half, his first disposal a behind in the second quarter. But he was in the right spot at the right time after a freakish snap pass from Dangerfield in the third term.

Clark - 6
Consigned to the subs vest and the fringes, this promising showing can kickstart Clark’s rise. Plenty of effort as always and a brilliant handball to set up Mannagh’s stunner showed why he was touted so highly as a junior.

Miers - 8
Conor Nash knocked him out cold last time the two sides played. This time he was clinical, hardly missing a target after his early rushed shot at goal. Summed up his class with a sell of candy and finish in the last that put the nail in the coffin.

Mullin - 8.5
Most expected Mullin to go to Newcombe. Instead, he put the invisibility cloak on the Wizard. Nick Watson’s only effective disposal in the first half was his blinder of a goal. In the end, Watson was sent into defence, a true sign he had been Mulli-fied.

Apart from that one crossfield kick he was super. He still doesnt have the engine for 4 quarters or the body size but hes a class player he just needs time.

Holmes, said in the post match interview, when he was recruited by Geelong, he thought he’d really have to work hard to be fitter, bigger + stronger. The coaches said they would come later + their focus was on his strengths + tweaking aspects of his game to improve.

I believe they did that with Zuthrie + now Clark.

"Good night fellas. I've seen enough tonight. Hawthorn have shat the bed. We are closer to a premiership than they are.

The only way I can see Geelong competing every year in the finals the last 18 years is due to cheating. The way the comp is structured they should have bottomed out but the AFL turn a blind eye. AND THOSE ****ING HEADBANDS :mad:"

Richmond board taking it well
Hey google - translate that post please

Sure, he said : "Their success hurts my feeling so they should be punished"

Could it be his last season?
Imagine if we win a flag with him as Premirership Captain, and he retires. There is history in that- Harley, Ling and Selwood retired as premiership Captains.
Said it before, and think it again- Danger is the second best player I've seen at Geelong since 1963.
31 possessions and 3 goals- he has played some sublime games for us, but tonight tops them all.
Norm Smith beckons.
Very worried at quarter time, but looking at how off we were in general play, yet Hawks had not capitalised, then that second and third quarter onslaught- that sort of pressure footy is flag worthy.
Dare I say it, but it's going to take an unreal performance to beat us next week, even without Stewart.
Blicavs was superb, as were Atkins, Smith, Miers and ZGuthrie.
Great team effort, and the sheer relief was to the lev el of that 07 Prelim v Pies.
Ecstatic.
Will be an unforgettable birthday if we win it.

I love writing these, but tonight's is extra sweet. We looked like the world's saddest losers for the first twenty minutes, got ourselves back into it, weathered a few very strong Hawthorn comebacks and ran the game out like the GRAND FINALLIST POWERHOUSE that we are.

3. Bailey Smith - In the first quarter when we were getting swarmed he was our only shining light. Kept on winning touches in the midfield, disposal was near faultless, and I was very happy to see him get the rewards with a goal near the end. What a difference a genuine midfield accumulator makes.

5. Jeremy Cameron - Did the job. Hawforn's unusual defensive structure made it hard for him all night but being able to conjure goals from nothing was a big part in getting us over the line, and of course his ability to run up and down the field all day exhausted Josh Battle a lot. The longer the game went, the more prominent he became.

7. Shaun Mannagh - Some of his decision making going inside 50 was atrocious. He seemed to be a half-second slow in thinking things through and also butchered the kicks. On the other hand his shots on goal were deadly, and I cannot fault his fierce tackling.

9. Max Holmes - After a pretty quiet first quarter he really lifted. When Stewy went down, Holmes got the kickin duties which, ironically, ended up working out in our favour. There's two reasons for this. Firstly, the threat of Max just tucking the ball under his arm and taking off made Hawthorn defend the kickins differently, in a way that helped us. Second, after struggling to get into the game getting a chance to see all the matchups over the whole field from the back goalsquare gave him the chance to think his way into the game back in the midfield.

12. Jack Bowes - Not a huge possession count, but his level head and accuracy kicking inside 50 made a big difference. I haven't always seen his value to the side, but he's starting to win me over. I can see why we were so eaget to pry him out of the Suns' grasp.

13. Jhye Clark - Massive props. This guy is an AFL footballer, I don't care what anyone else says. Coming in at 1/4 time wouldn't have been the plan, though as it turned out adding another midfield bull to the mix was just what we needed. I thought he competed tirelessly, usually made the correct decision with ball in hand, and ran to the right positions. That mid-air handball to Mannagh was elite. I still think he looks a bit light-framed to play as an inside mid though. He's more than done enough to retain the vest, or even a starting 22 posiiton, in the Grand Final.

14. Connor O'Sullivan - Quiet game possession-wise, but what continues to impress me is how smart he plays. He definitely didn't lower his colours tonight. Though I wish the umps wouldn't make him specifically the scapegoat every time they need to pay a rash of frees to the opposition to keep them in the game. It's not the first time I've seen that. :mad:

16. Sam De Koning - This is probably the best he's played since 2022. What a time to get back in form. Alternating between ruck and tall defender isn't easy, regardless of how simple Blicavs makes it look, but what impressed me was his attack on the footy and sharp reading of the play. When Hawthorn were all over us in the first quarter he was one of only a handful who could lift their heads up high and we'd have likely gone into 1/4 time five goals down if not for SDK. He let himself down with a few comically derpy disposals, but if he keeps up this level of intensity in the GF we've got half a hand on the cup already.

17. Lawson Humphries - Of late he's not gotten a lot of the ball, which is a shame since he's such a good kick. But he kept his opponent right out of the game, won some crucial contests, and kept the half back line organised.

18. Tyson Stengle - Matchwinner. He was a constant thorn in the side of Hawthorn's defenders. All three of his goals were sharp, fiercely contested, and difficult. I've no doubt that the threat of Stengle lurking on his own drew the Hawthorn defenders back a bit when Sam Mitchell would have liked them to keep pushing forward and helping the midfield like they'd been doing in the first quarter.

19. Jack Martin - This was the quietest game he's had for a while. I don't think he had a touch until late in the 2nd quarter. Hawks plainly did their homework on him, but to his credit he worked his way into the game and jagged a goal at an important moment.

28. Oliver Dempsey - Constantly dangerous. If his shots on goal had been a trifle luckier, I'd be full of praise. Tonight was a rare occasion where i saw a team try to tag him specifically, and they did as OK job I have to admit. That said, he has added a bit of inside grunt to his game and keeps racking up score involvements so I can't complain too much.

30. Tom Atkins - This guy is a frickin' beast. Another two-digit tackle count, 25 touches, and on top of that a lot of unrewarded hard running. He didn't give Hawthorn a centimetre of wiggle room all night and it was a big part of our win. Amazing player, we are so lucky to have him.

32. Gryan Miers - Excellent game. What's impressed me most this year from his move into the midfield is his increasing ability to contest the hard ball gets. To have someone with his creative disposal in the midfield also winning HTB decisions is a huge win for us. Dropping forward he's as lethal around goals as he ever was.

33. Shannon Neale - Quiet game, but handy in the ruck and tackled for keeps as always. I think at the start of the game he attacked it too hard and as a result ran under the ball too much. He looked far more involved in the game than his stat sheet suggests.

34. Oisin Mullin - While he can still be a worry on the very last line of defence, I can't fault his game after the first 15 minutes. Jai Newcombe was a complete nonentity all night.

35. Patrick Dangerfield - What can I possibly say that could do him justice? This was probably the best Captain's game in finals history. He's like a cheat code made flesh.

38. Jack Henry - He copped a leg injury very early in the game that clearly hampered him all night. And yes, he was beaten by Jack Gunston. But with Stewart's injury there's not a lot else we could have done. Even hobbling on one leg Henry turned his duel with Gunston into a 40/60 loss, and Gunston is definitely the kind of guy who could kick six or seven against an out-of-sorts opponent. YUUUUUGE applause for Henry tonight.

39. Zach Guthrie] - I cannot fault this guy. Sixteen touches pushing through the midfield in the first half when we were under siege kept us in the game. After half time, kept Mitch Lewis goalless. A few times in the 2nd half the Hawks were pressing and I reckon if Lewis had a chance to do anything useful we'd have lost the game.

42. Mark O'Connor - OK, so Josh Weddle is a very, very dangerous player. Fast, tall, good kick of the footy, and can run all day. Tagging him would be like tagging Mark Blicavs. O'Connor beat him hands down. Weddle hardly got a touch until Sam Mitchell shifted him into the ruck. MOC only got 7 touches himself but that handball to Miers was champagne.

44. Tom Stewart - What a misfortune. Horrible reason to miss a GF, just because of a clumsy tackle. :(

45. Brad Close - I'm having a hard time evaluating his game tonight. If he'd not shanked both his set shots I'd call it a good game. On the other hand he won a lot of midfield-type possessions around the half forward line that were great value. If he can continue keeping opponents accountable, dragging them deep into a pocket and cure his chronic yips we've got the GF half won.

46. Mark Blicavs - This guy never stops astounding me. While Lloyd Meek got more raw hitouts Blitz killed him around the ground, snagging a goal through smarts and gut running, and racking up Atkins-level tackle numbers on literally everyone who got in his way. I hope he plays on into his forties, because he's not showing any signs of relenting and there'll never be another player like him.

You love writing them, we love reading them.
And very fair opinions, could be Hun back page stuff.
One more week to thrill us!

Imagine if we win a flag with him as Premirership Captain, and he retires. There is history in that- Harley and Ling both retired as premiership Captains.
Said it before, and think it again- Danger is the second best player I've seen at Geelong since 1963.
31 possessions and 3 goals- he has played some sublime games for us, but tonight tops them all.
Norm Smith beckons.
Very worried at quarter time, but looking at how off we were in general play, yet Hawks had not capitalised, then that second and third quarter onslaught- that sort of pressure footy is flag worthy.
Dare I say it, but it's going to take an unreal performance to beat us next week, even without Stewart.
Blicavs was superb, as were Atkins, Smith, Miers and ZGuthrie.
Great team effort, and the sheer relief was to the lev el of that 07 Prelim v Pies.
Ecstatic.
Will be an unforgettable birthday if we win it.
As did Joel.

7. Shaun Mannagh - Some of his decision making going inside 50 was atrocious. He seemed to be a half-second slow in thinking things through and also butchered the kicks. On the other hand his shots on goal were deadly, and I cannot fault his fierce tackling.

12. Jack Bowes - Not a huge possession count, but his level head and accuracy kicking inside 50 made a big difference. I haven't always seen his value to the side, but he's starting to win me over. I can see why we were so eaget to pry him out of the Suns' grasp.

13. Jhye Clark - Massive props. This guy is an AFL footballer, I don't care what anyone else says. Coming in at 1/4 time wouldn't have been the plan, though as it turned out adding another midfield bull to the mix was just what we needed. I thought he competed tirelessly, usually made the correct decision with ball in hand, and ran to the right positions. That mid-air handball to Mannagh was elite. I still think he looks a bit light-framed to play as an inside mid though. He's more than done enough to retain the vest, or even a starting 22 posiiton, in the Grand Final.

18. Tyson Stengle - Matchwinner. He was a constant thorn in the side of Hawthorn's defenders. All three of his goals were sharp, fiercely contested, and difficult. I've no doubt that the threat of Stengle lurking on his own drew the Hawthorn defenders back a bit when Sam Mitchell would have liked them to keep pushing forward and helping the midfield like they'd been doing in the first quarter.

34. Oisin Mullin - While he can still be a worry on the very last line of defence, I can't fault his game after the first 15 minutes. Jai Newcombe was a complete nonentity all night.

39. Zach Guthrie] - I cannot fault this guy. Sixteen touches pushing through the midfield in the first half when we were under siege kept us in the game. After half time, kept Mitch Lewis goalless. A few times in the 2nd half the Hawks were pressing and I reckon if Lewis had a chance to do anything useful we'd have lost the game.

45. Brad Close - I'm having a hard time evaluating his game tonight. If he'd not shanked both his set shots I'd call it a good game. On the other hand he won a lot of midfield-type possessions around the half forward line that were great value. If he can continue keeping opponents accountable, dragging them deep into a pocket and cure his chronic yips we've got the GF half won.

46. Mark Blicavs - This guy never stops astounding me. While Lloyd Meek got more raw hitouts Blitz killed him around the ground, snagging a goal through smarts and gut running, and racking up Atkins-level tackle numbers on literally everyone who got in his way. I hope he plays on into his forties, because he's not showing any signs of relenting and there'll never be another player like him.

Like someone else in the thread said, Mannagh is a lot like Stevie J. He had a few ordinary kicks trying to make something happen, one of which was intercepted and went up the other end for a goal. But the positives were he generated goals, kicked 2 himself, and makes things happen when we need something on the scoreboard.

Clark might look mid framed but he was throwing himself in at the contests, got some clearances and the only slight on his game was when he got the rush of blood to the head and missed the target trying to switch the play.

Felt like someone told Stengle that its 2022 again, he was good against Brisbane but tonight he was an absolute menace and if he repeats this form next week he will kick 3 or 4.

Mullin was better once he went back up the ground, he just can't play deep d50, its not his bag. Forwards have the guile against him and he panics. But in the midfield he is still a jet. Next week no matter who we play, he will be vital. But was he on Newcombe? Atkins was on Newcombe a lot.

Close was excellent in every aspect except his goal kicking. 2 behinds and 2 bad misses, but everything else is what you want out of him. If he kicked 2 of those 4 chances we talk him up as one of our best tonight.

Blicavs is a freak of nature. Felt like he had way more than 12 disposals and 3 marks. Was really smart running off Leek for his goal, when we were up against it early his clearances helped get the ball forward and give the defence a breather, I would love to see the hit outs to advantage stat because Leek won hit outs and before they went anywhere Blicavs got a hand in the way to nullify it.
Hilariously Blicavs backwards handballs means his metres gained stat was only 54 but he had some big defensive and midfield clearances.
His game was a perfect example of a "stats don't tell you the full story" game.

The guy who looks like a tanned Colonel Sanders? I saw him walking around behind behind the interviews in the room a couple of weeks ago trying to get his head on the cameras and wondered the same thing
Yes that guy - I assume he is someone of importance to the club in terms of $$$ due to the access he has.

Yes. Wouldn't it be better to develop Clark than bring in someone who has already reached their peak, and that's not very high anyway i.e. Worpel?
One thing about the Worpedo that my Hawk mate told me was if he sees space in front of him, he sometimes can't work out if he should run with the ball or wait for a hand-off option, and tonight he did that and Miers ran him down when the heat turned up in the 3rd.
As soon as he hesitated I thought "someone is going to appear from off screen and run him down" and sure enough...

If he comes to Geelong we need to train that out of him.
Also as for Worpel, we are losing Duncan, and we potentially lose CGuthrie who is rarely sighted, potentially Bruhn as well, . I don't think Worpel hurts Clark because we have seen that if the coaches want to sink games into players they will, and I think tonight was a bit of a mini-breakout game for Clark. He will likely sub in the GF, but we saw tonight he did well off 62% time on ground especially off the back of the Brisbane QF where he didn't get much time and only got 1 disposal.

Code Sports player write ups from tonight's match

Mullin - 8.5
Most expected Mullin to go to Newcombe. Instead, he put the invisibility cloak on the Wizard. Nick Watson’s only effective disposal in the first half was his blinder of a goal. In the end, Watson was sent into defence, a true sign he had been Mulli-fied.

This is just chef's kiss of descriptions.

Review Geelong defeat Hawks "when it matters" by 6 goals to make another Grand Final