Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread

I'd say him and Ty were playing different roles. Reckon McFadyen would be competing with Morris/Allen unless he can build his tank to play further up the ground, a la Adelaide's Tom Lynch.
I haven't watched a lot of VFL this year, but the one game I attended, McFadyen played a lot across the half forward flank, playing a linking role between the midfield and forwards.

Article in the Herald Sun about him today too. Says he'd probably be knocking on the door of selection this week if he was on our list, being noticed by recruiters, good chance for the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell medal, and looking likely to be picked up at the draft.
Was one of the finalists for the award despite not winning it.

Twomey said on Gettable that there's a sense from clubs a draft lockout won't happen but next year could see top picks #1-#5 have jacked up currency value. So if a premiership team doesn't have a top 5 pick, it'd be impossible to match a bid.
Going to be a lot of angst when said player asks to be traded after 1 year.

This young kid got a big wrap tonight on 360 of all shows as a massive draft bolter having only played 7 u/18 games for Eastern Rangers who they said will saw up draft boards like Bont did and is a big mid like Cripps / Bont. Yes everyone can be made to look like a star in a 25 sec video, this kid being no exception:

He's been hyped up for 3 weeks now on the draft board. He's got a pretty exciting athletic profile and can football.

Playing in the CTL grand final this week, biggest stage for him. Would probably cement a top 10 position for him if he keeps dominating through the midfield.

He's been hyped up for 3 weeks now on the draft board. He's got a pretty exciting athletic profile and can football.

Playing in the CTL grand final this week, biggest stage for him. Would probably cement a top 10 position for him if he keeps dominating through the midfield.

What do you think he was projected to go say a month or two ago and what is he projected now? I always like the bolter stories.

3 weeks ago he went pick 49 in the BF phantom draft, run by all the top draft watchers on BF.

Where actual team scouts rated him, I have no idea.

He's only really played midfield the last 4 weeks now. Spent most of the year playing third tall and half forward.

I can’t wait until the first academy prospect at pick 1 says I don’t want to move to Carlton or Essendon, don’t draft me flogs.
Cue articles on draft tampering and crucifixion of character of the young man (redemption available if repents and goes to approved Vic club)

Our president would want to have the numbers of vfl kids over the journey who have done the same handy

This young kid got a big wrap tonight on 360 of all shows as a massive draft bolter having only played 7 u/18 games for Eastern Rangers who they said will saw up draft boards like Bont did and is a big mid like Cripps / Bont. Yes everyone can be made to look like a star in a 25 sec video, this kid being no exception:

Is it too late to sign him up for our academy?

Is there a draftable talent who is a good size and could do the mid-small lockdown role Strace will vacate if he leaves and/or develop into a lockdown mid down the track to replace Dunk - these type of players can be gotten on the cheap sometimes as they don't have the flair and go but are so valuable. I have been trying to track some options down online but its usually around the flashy players rather than the tough nuts.

Is there a draftable talent who is a good size and could do the mid-small lockdown role Strace will vacate if he leaves and/or develop into a lockdown mid down the track to replace Dunk - these type of players can be gotten on the cheap sometimes as they don't have the flair and go but are so valuable. I have been trying to track some options down online but its usually around the flashy players rather than the tough nut.

I’m hoping brain can develop into a starce replacement.

Is there a draftable talent who is a good size and could do the mid-small lockdown role Strace will vacate if he leaves and/or develop into a lockdown mid down the track to replace Dunk - these type of players can be gotten on the cheap sometimes as they don't have the flair and go but are so valuable. I have been trying to track some options down online but its usually around the flashy players rather than the tough nuts.
Oscar Barry has been a popular name here for a bit and is apart of our academy. Looks and sounds good but haven’t seen him pop up much on the main draft boards so whether he’ll get picked up or not is a bit of an unknown

This is obviously better than full lockouts.

If this were involved over the last few years, we likely would have traded out players like Dev and did some package deals to acquire higher picks for matching.

Well any club with a half decent 1st Round pick will get a significantly more out of the transaction when offloading it now! It'll be a sellers market

Yep, will functionally make it very difficult for a top 4 team to match a top 5 pick bid unless you do aggressive trading or lose good players.

Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread