Roast The Brownlow has no credibility left

Jai Newcombe getting a vote against Adelaide for the game down in Tassie was a funny one.

He was completely tagged out of it for 3 quarters by Sam Berry, having only 11 disposals.

Kicked the winning goal with 2 minutes left, which I believe took his Champion Data score from 35 to a gentleman's 70.

I would have put it up there with the worst game he's ever played, if not for that goal.

Somehow ranked in the top 3 on the ground.

Dylan Moore had 23 disposals and 13 tackles and got nothing.

AFL Coaches Association Champion Player

1. Noah Anderson & Bailey Smith
2. Matt Rowell
3. Nick Daicos

AFL Players Association Most Valuable Player

1. Nick Daicos
2. Jordan Dawson
3. Nasiah Wangeneen Milera

Brownlow Medal

1. Matt Rowell
2. Nick Daicos
3. Bailey Smith
The AFLCA/AFLPA MVP are the real awards now

I don't understand why the umpires are considered the best judge of play, or why a national competition has its highest individual honour named after a fellow who was only involved in the game in one state rather than all (and died more than 100 years ago so he has no modern relevance).
I completely agree. I think it also went and died the day that we switched to 3 umpires - so no one umpire always has eyes on the game. Besides, their job is absolutely hard enough already and they don't need this.

IMO the alarm bells should have gone off, with respect, when Woewodin won it, and again when Priddis did so, or Judd over Tredrea, or Cooney over Ablett, or Cripps getting eleventy million votes, or, etc etc...

It's time the Leigh Matthews Trophy is given the esteem given to the Brownlow until now. The players are a better judge of their peers than umpires are, Leigh Matthews has relevance to the modern game, and he helped grow Australian Rules in the state where it was least popular at the time. It's the superior award in my mind.
I don't think the players are great judges, for the same reason - they are playing the actual game at the time.

IMO the Brownlow is just fine provided that it is voted for in the same way as the Norm Smith (one individual per media team in attendance).

I completely agree. I think it also went and died the day that we switched to 3 umpires - so no one umpire always has eyes on the game. Besides, their job is absolutely hard enough already and they don't need this.

IMO the alarm bells should have gone off, with respect, when Woewodin won it, and again when Priddis did so, or Judd over Tredrea, or Cooney over Ablett, or Cripps getting eleventy million votes, or, etc etc...

I don't think the players are great judges, for the same reason - they are playing the actual game at the time.

IMO the Brownlow is just fine provided that it is voted for in the same way as the Norm Smith (one individual per media team in attendance).

The Dally M Award which is like the Brownlow of the NRL....when it comes to the votes - doesnt the media take care of the voting?

Should this be a path the AFL should follow in regards to the Brownlow?

The coaches vote has more credibility.
I feel a lot of people say this (and I agree) but very few punters seem to acknowledge just how freakishly good Oliver was when he won it back to back

It's a little revisionist - the Brownlow does a good enough job even if it does lead to some anomalous and suspect outcomes

Do we seriously have to do this every single year?

Rowell is a perfectly acceptable and worthy winner. He had a great year and is considered an elite player.

Daicos (favourite) came second, Bailey Smith (2nd fav) came third and Dawson (highly favoured) came forth.

There is nothing particularly controversial about any of that.

If we all knew who won it before hand because it was picked by robots then there would be no point to it at all.
Rowell had multiple games where he got 3 votes and he wasnt even close to the top 3 players on the ground. He is not an acceptable winner this year.

Nick Daicos was good but he had a quiet period there for a bit. Rowell is a deserving winner. People need to keep their emotions in check. Daicos' issue was that votes were being taken off him by Collingwood players - Josh took some off him. Same with Brayshaw....took votes off Serong. Go back and watch the games, you'll see why Rowell won it. Look at the other awards too - Rowell was thereabouts also. I reckon his tackling was a feature too...averaged roughly 8 tackles per game...pretty good.

I have no issue with Rowell winning it. I dont think Daicos was robbed.

AFL Coaches Association Best Player

1. Noah Anderson & Bailey Smith
2. Matt Rowell
3. Nick Daicos

AFL Players Association MVP

1. Nick Daicos
2. Jordan Dawson
3. Nasiah Wangeneen Milera

Brownlow Medal

1. Matt Rowell
2. Nick Daicos
3. Bailey Smith

Hardwick said that he thought Anderson would get more votes. So your whole post is moot.

The fact you give this award credence is... funny.

Joke award.

We all know this group of umpires are incompetent with the calls on the field already so why do we value their opinion in deciding who was best on field.
With how badly gambling has infested this sport, corruption is certainly on the cards and goes to explain some if not all of the nonsensical decisions being made.

The obvious issue is that 18 touches and three goals vs West Coast is weighted the same as 37 and four against Geelong.

That's another problem. Same issue with the coaches votes.

Leigh Matthews Trophy gets it right often because it asks everyone at the end of the season to vote (we should have an award like in soccer, bored by all journalists and experts after the end of the finals).

Leigh Matthews Trophy (Dumblow ranking)
1) Nick Daicos (2nd)
2) Jordan Dawson (4th)
3) Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera (10th)
4) Marcus Bontempelli (7th)
5) Jeremy Cameron (15th)

There were 21 games where someone got 10 coaches votes and not a single Brownlow vote. Meanwhile Rowell polled 3 Brownlow votes in 3 games where he didn't register a single coaches vote.

Leigh Matthews Trophy goes to the biggest media hype player. Most AFL players don't pay any attention to how players in other teams are going outside of their opponents for the next game. And then they're looking at tapes not just waching games. Its the most useless award of them all.

And its just asking them to vote once at the end of the year.
But it’s the only individual best player award that Matthews Carey and Ablett won so in my eyes that gives it instant credibility

Daicos (favourite) came second, Bailey Smith (2nd fav) came third and Dawson (highly favoured) came forth.

There is nothing particularly controversial about any of that.
Until you factor in the betting market and people who bet on Rowell would have picked up a fair chunk of change.
He wasn't even the favourite to win the vote leader for his team, let alone the award itself. Anderson should have been taking votes off him all night.

Gonna play devil's advocate here...

Viney had 20 touches and 16 tackles and his team was in front by nearly 10 goals with about 19 minutes left in the game.

NW-M had about 25 touches and had kicked 2, but as his team was down by 10 goals, it's not a stretch to say that most of his efforts had had minimal impact on the game.

If he didn't kicked 2 in the final 9 seconds and St Kilda didn't win - would it have been that outrageous for Viney's game to be considered better?

So it just highlights the fact that different people value different things.

Some people may think that having lots of touches but no impact on the outcome of the game is great. Others may consider kicking 2 in a minute to ice the game as being more valuable that anything that occurred in the 99 minutes prior.

FWIW, I think it's a good thing that different people have different perspectives and value different things in footy.

But what bothers me is that umpires (and anyone giving out 3-2-1's for that matter) don't seem to value anything other than ball winning midfielders.

For example, I would have given the Norm Smith to Harris Andrews last year, and I would have had Blicavs in my votes on Friday night.

People would have have thought I was crazy, but I value impact on the game at critical moments very highly. And I'm not even talking about statistical impact. The intangible stuff that Blicavs was doing to negate Meek's influence was immense!

Helena Bonham Carter Reaction GIF

I don't know why people get in a frenzy over an irrelevant midfielders'-only award.

Because people still reference it as being important, players that have won multiple Dumblows are still considered as great, even though they're not.

Until you factor in the betting market and people who bet on Rowell would have picked up a fair chunk of change.
He wasn't even the favourite to win the vote leader for his team, let alone the award itself. Anderson should have been taking votes off him all night.
It has been happening forever. That is precisely what Bartel did to Ablett in 2008. No one has any idea how Bartlett never won one but Dipper (and many others) did.

The randomness is what makes it interesting.

It is an umpires award, nothing more than that. It is the AFL that have blown it into an award that is seen as the premier award in the game.
Rowell is very much a worthy winner of the award. Not sure how that can be argued. Some of you are making it sound like Harley reid won the brownlow.

I heard Whateley this morning going on about the umpires should get to see the stats and be given more info before they vote, maybe??? but I think that will lead to just highest stats winning.

I think as soon as the umpires enter the room the 4 of them should be separated and given a 3-2-1 card, they have 10 minutes to bring the card back. They now have 4 x 3-2-1 cards to do the average of the 4 umpires and that ends up your Brownlow votes. No discussions just write your own Personal votes down per umpire and it will come out as it is.

The Dally M Award which is like the Brownlow of the NRL....when it comes to the votes - doesnt the media take care of the voting?

Should this be a path the AFL should follow in regards to the Brownlow?

Would be even worse. They'd give 3 votes to Daicos every game

Roast The Brownlow has no credibility left