Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

The Saints board is cooked. How can they have such an issue with someone going for their gun player when they’ve been going after the guns of every other team?

Did they think every other team was not gonna go for Wilkie and Marshall?

Such a weird view by that mob.
Has anyone explicitly asked them that question as to why they see a distinction with what they’re doing and what we’re doing?

What distraction?

He gets paid to be told to **** off for another year just announce it and its done
It’s not good for the players to know that, especially the ones on lower wages who are trying their guts out just to get into or stay in the team.

not sold on Selwood in terms of offensive capabilities coming out of the back line however he gets a full preseason this year to strut his stuff and settle in. However, I am sold on his will and desire to compete at all costs!
When compared to the other defenders in our VFL side, Sellwood is the one who gets Goal Assists.

Would be very happy to add Robertson to our midfield mix. At the right age where he could impact right away but also plenty of footy ahead if he makes it.

The Saints board is cooked. How can they have such an issue with someone going for their gun player when they’ve been going after the guns of every other team?

Did they think every other team was not gonna go for Wilkie and Marshall?

Such a weird view by that mob.

The best one is them thinking we’ve gone after Wilkie out of spite for missing out on Silvagni. Because you know.. list managers are 14 year olds who need to keep a grudge.

Well we are,

But not because we are "salty" because they're paying an injury prone unproven player who is 28 more then him for 5 years and are handing out large contracts so they will have a cap squeeze

Its called pivoting, we'll be doing the same if we miss out on Wilkie.

Rookie CCP and not sure we miss Garcia much
I like Garcia and think he should have had more opportunities but I think we all saw the lack of composure that’s been the knock on him in the run home this year.

Would rather keep him (particularly given the age profile of the midfield) but if he can be a sweetener in a deal and get a better opportunity as well then so be it.

Within reason, you can say what you like about players on here. That said, I don't understand the unrelenting negativity directed at Ryan Gardner by a few on here.

The guy is clearly not prime Brian Lake but he trains hard, never complains, gives his all, will play wherever he is asked and, from outside appearances, appears to be an excellent team mate.

Why continually shitcan him? Those who do so come across to me as keyboard heroes who are probably not fit to carry Gardner's boots.

Rant over.

Would be very happy to add Robertson to our midfield mix. At the right age where he could impact right away but also plenty of footy ahead if he makes it.
Two year deal?
Three seems a bit of a reach for a player who will probably only be fringe or bottom 6.

Within reason, you can say what you like about players on here. That said, I don't understand the unrelenting negativity directed at Ryan Gardner by a few on here.

The guy is clearly not prime Brian Lake but he trains hard, never complains, gives his all, will play wherever he is asked and, from outside appearances, appears to be an excellent team mate.

Why continually shitcan him? Those who do so come across to me as keyboard heroes who are probably not fit to carry Gardner's boots.

Rant over.
Well said!

Rant over.
Would go as far as to say that, even though I rate JOD and Buss higher, if he’d played in either of their spots this year our win-loss would probably be identical, and the sky won’t fall if he plays some games next year. We’ve won approximately 60% of the time when he’s played.

Rant over.
Any chance of a community note saying much the same about VDM or McNeil? Player’s who have much worse directed at them and more often than Gardner has ever had.

I agree. It's terrible.
FWIW Gardner had his family tracked down on social media so people would abuse them after he shut his social media down. Deplorable stuff.

Rookie CCP and not sure we miss Garcia much
Not sure they're directly comparable.
CCP isn't as quick and plays purely inside, while Garcia can play HF as well.

I suspect our interest in Robertson means we aren't considering CCP. We'd know CCP pretty well given he was part of our NGA program for many years.

I've been thinking about this too as a 3way trade seems only likely way. Reckon Saints will want extras too.

We've currently only got 10+28 to play with.

I reckon we could co for something like:

Dogs in: Wilkie, Budarick
Out: 10, 28, JUH

Suns in: Pick 10, JUH
Out: Flanders, Budarick

Saints: Pick 28, Flanders
Out: Wilkie

In the real world, probably other parts to it, but reckon that could be a starting point.

This sounds genuinely realistic to me

This was always going to be the biggest hurdle. I think a player needs to be involved.

I'd be happy to part with Sanders and bring in Robertson as his replacement. That's dependent on Sanders wanting to leave and Saints wanting him though.
I can see giving up one of our better young players for a 30 year old coming back to bite us in the bum.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)