News Port Adelaide's Next Generation Academy

Give it a rest never meant to come across as racist..... Read the last bit of the post Edmond put up it says you can't just walk though Dubai airport.... I'm taken that as you need a fair chunk off indigenous or international heritage.
Ill Be Back Jim Carrey GIF

Good shout.
This would also cover Cochrane's kids as well. Which, if that's the way they go, I can't get too mad about it.

It's always been ridiculous that sons of former players can get priority zone access because they came through 'an alternative pathway', and have posted as such before, however nice it would have been to rort the system ourselves before the change.

Don't access me of racism because there is a good chance you miss out on Cochran that's disgusting to pull that
lol, don’t be racist then. There’s a pretty big difference between being born in Dubai and having ancestral heritage.
This is coming from someone who is only finding out in my ealy 40’s that my great grandmother was aboriginal. But you do you champion.

Read Sam Edmunds post......

I see what you're trying to say, but no - this is to do with international linkage like Borlase being born in Egypt, even though his old man played top flight footy and was a premiership captain for us (he was never not going to play footy).

The AFL would be incredibly stupid to say you need X% indigenous blood - what a can of worms that would open and THAT would be racist.

No they didn’t.

They traded that 2021 1st to gws as a future pick in 2020 for 2 2nds in the 2020 draft and a 2021 4th rounder.
I hate it when you are right. Looks like Collingwood 'gave up' Sam Banks and a few other spuds, but it is very hard to track.

Swann's comment relates more to the James Borlase qualification than anyone.

Still, it's pretty rich the guy who has made a reputation based on Brisbane's unfettered access to academy players suddenly becoming all righteous about other club's access.

Bomber's Law (Part 1): if a system, or process, or set of rules, can be made more complex for no perceivable benefit, then the AFL WILL implement it.

Bomber's Law (Part 2): unintended consequences of implementing changes described in Bomber's Law (Part 1) will be addressed by Bomber's Law (Part 3).

Bomber's Law (Part 3): See Bomber's Law (Part 1)

Edit: missing logic

The Germans have a word for it:

1758780517086.png

And Rodan's kids. You can't NGA the sons of former professional footballers. It's idiotic.

Wasn't James Hird's son NGA because he played basketball? At least Zemes Pilot isn't the son of a Hall of Famer, if we have to go down that path with him.

Going off and playing another sport instead of football makes a player eligible to be signed as a Category B Rookie, which has nothing to do with NGAs.

James Hird's sons all chose the roundball game.

Was talking to an astute work colleague who has sons playing in the state under-age system. He had some reservations about whether Zemes Pilot will be top-5 calibre by the time his draft year comes up. For those who have seen a lot of him, how likely is it that he goes really early?

It's still 24 month's away from him being potentially drafted.
That's a long time for him to physically mature and build on his overall game which is already at a solid level amongst his peers.
He's by far nowhere near a finished product and if he decides to turn his attention to footy fulltime, his upside is enormous and he's probably every bit a 10 top prospect or higher in 2027.

My experience is that parents who naturally want their kids to get drafted and see a gun kids as competition are some of the least reliable commentators on gun kids.

Speaking to people who coached against him from another SANFL club, they said he’s the best prospect at under 16’s they have ever seen. Although they’re not sure what his best position is. He loves playing midfield but think he’ll end up a forward.
Few of my mates kids are in the 16’s set up said he’s a ripping fella off the field too.

My experience is that parents who naturally want their kids to get drafted and see a gun kids as competition are some of the least reliable commentators on gun kids.
Maybe, the guy I spoke to was a SANFL league footballer himself, has relatives who have played for AFL clubs and has a son in this year’s draft class, not Pilot’s. He’s also one of the most decent, sensible people I know.

The Essendon rule, to get them a shot at the Rodans

Other important changes include:
  • the addition of the Pacific and Central and South American regions to the cultural eligibility criteria and the removal of European countries;

The first thing any good faith review would do is determine that if a player is FS eligible they are then not NGA eligible.

Absolutely. FS should be the Royal Flush of hands.

Important (and surprising) part of that article:

The changes don't have an impact on Port Adelaide's bid for top 2026 draft prospect Dougie Cochrane to be approved for NGA status, with the club's application to be assessed on the current criteria being met.
I read that as a good sign as a decision should already have been made just not announced.

The removal of European countries is just bizarre. It makes no sense at all. I’ll take it as a good sign that America wasn’t listed as a no go zone. For now.

in 2027, Tassie will get Picks 5,7,11, and 13 that they have to trade and Picks 1 and 3.

To secure Zemes and Salopek, Tassie is who we will need to deal with. They will be the only ones we can actually get Picks off.

News Port Adelaide's Next Generation Academy