List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

I love this from both parties. Saints have been upfront that a leader can't be gifted games starting mid anymore and have given him the opportunity to search elsewhere if that's his priority.

And Steele wants to see through with the Saints the load he has shouldered and willing to hang in and fight for a spot.

If Jack Steele's playing VFL for us at any point next season our list is in a good spot. Also love players are seeing a vision for success within this group.

Attachments

• IMG_0306.png
    IMG_0306.png
    326.8 KB · Views: 91
I think it is completely fair for Steele to want to share in the potential success given the hard yards he has done.

Would be very bad culturally to force him out. Not everything can be about being a savvy business decision.

Yep, the Steele approach is good. We shouldn't try and delist him or force him to a West Coast, Essendon or Melbourne.

We'll give him our blessing to explore his offers, with a spot in our squad being his backup plan. Steele would know where he's at and understand. If he wants to stay and fight his way into the side, that only makes the club stronger.

May I kindly ask for your ranking of our midfielders?

windy/steele/macrae , your classic centremen (cover space, generally behind the ball at stoppages and always there)

pou/owens/nas types, our ruck rovers that look to be more penetrating and attacking

hall/nas/wilson those types that just explode forward as rovers and cash in

they're all called midfielders now , but the roles are still the same

especially when you have a tap ruckman

I love this from both parties. Saints have been upfront that a leader can't be gifted games starting mid anymore and have given him the opportunity to search elsewhere if that's his priority.

And Steele wants to see through with the Saints the load he has shouldered and willing to hang in and fight for a spot.

If Jack Steele's playing VFL for us at any point next season our list is in a good spot. Also love players are seeing a vision for success within this group.

A few years back Dayne Zorko was basically looking done as a midfielder and emerging and traded in midfield talent looked like he might need to retire or find somewhere else. Lions gave him the chance as a former captain and key person at the club through a hard period to try a new role and he has delivered in spades.

If Dayne Zorko, a certified shit campaigner, is afforded that opportunity then Jack Steele absolutely deserves the chance.

All the Tom Morris reporting along with other statements indicate that Steele is happy to fight for his spot.

Extra motivated Jack Steele. Think about it.

Also, if he stays, there must be some selection integrity. Everything going well, good players are going to miss out on senior footy at times next year. Look at how many games David Armitage and Jack Steven got in 2009 and 2010. It's not a problem.
Just off topic here, but I sometimes wonder whether we made a mistake playing a few guys (Eddy, Mini, maybe Faz) head of Steven, Armo and/or Geary. I don't have a strong opinion either way, but I do think the unwillingness to replace Eddy for the replay was a mistake (not that it mattered).

Reading between the lines, the fact that we only told Steele today that he’s not guaranteed best 22, does that mean Flanders has already told us he’s picked us, or that there’s another target we’re confident about?

Otherwise, surely we would have conveyed that information in his first exit meeting.
Yes, seems something has changed - whether that’s a concrete destination for Jack or something else. Particularly given that most ITKs have been forecasting this.

If Silvagni plays 100 games with St Kilda and plays in a Premiership team then I reckon his lad with be a Saints Father-Son.
I see Silvagnis playing in St Kilda jumpers for generations.

A few years back Dayne Zorko was basically looking done as a midfielder and emerging and traded in midfield talent looked like he might need to retire or find somewhere else. Lions gave him the chance as a former captain and key person at the club through a hard period to try a new role and he has delivered in spades.

If Dayne Zorko, a certified shit campaigner, is afforded that opportunity then Jack Steele absolutely deserves the chance.
I could see him exclusively as a high half forward who links between back half and forward 50 entries. He's a handy set shot and could be a 20+ goal a season player.

this is what I was thinking and was going to parasocially post earlier but work has been busy as ****.

I think the statement and the stuff that had come out was more from Jack than from RTB. I think he very much realised that he was playing hurt for years because he was the captain, he needed to stand up and tough it out. And (this is where my bullshit armchair psychology comes in), I think he's done the mature thing and told everyone even before his exit interview that "This can't go on, I can either play at my best as a team member when my body is right, or I can keep being your captain and burn my career out completely early next year".

The statement seemed cold but was also pretty down the line considering the media swarm of the last few months. No need to give the media anything to craft narratives with. If it was as mature as I'm imagining in my completely made-up thesis, then we can straight up say "Jack said he wasn't up to being captain anymore. We love him, but we can't guarantee he's a starting mid on this year's form. We won't begrudge him if he thinks otherwise, but would prefer he hangs around".

Seems like this is what's panning out - If i'm going to take Morris at face value.

Can't wait to see Silvagni unveiled in a St Kilda jumper.

The image will haunt every Carlton fan
I’m going to start referring to him as JSAS, when I talk to my Carlton mate.

Jack Silvagni A Saint.