Recommitted Zach Merrett [UFA 2027] - Wanted a trade to Hawthorn, but it didn't get done

Perhaps you should be more pissed at your own club for being so reckless when you’ve already been told no.
Ahh a WCE supporter saying I should be pissed at the Hawks trying to grant a bloke his wish after he approached them.

We all know why a WCE supporter is arse sore about the Hawks and why you chimed in, it’s sooo predictable.

1. The bids mean nothing as Essendon cannot access those players taken with those picks anyway. It is the most redundant conversation of all trade periods.

I hear this argument all the time but when numerous top players are taken out of the draft before your pick, you aren't picking the 9th best player.

2. They can still make moves on their list. They can delist players and bring others in via draft, DFAs and SSP. Their list isnt locked in. The list isnt finalised until post christmas.

How's filling up a list spot with a slow spud in Hustwaite help them?

3. Giving them pick 9, allows them to make a proper approach to get up in the draft if they want to, or potentially push one of their top 10 picks into next year

Why should that be their problem? The onus is on Hawthorn to make an appealing offer.

Genuine question, how have you landed on them swapping Merrett for Hustwaite.

I already told you. They aren't willing to offer up any other players and Hawthorn are attempting to swap Hustwaite with Merrett and a couple of mid/late first rounders.

That makes Essendon immediately worse, with no guarantee of making it better.

The amount of capital that Hawthorn offered is worth more than what Brisbane sent to Freo for Neale (25 years old), more than what Richmond gave GWS for Taranto (25 years old) and more than what WCE paid for Kelly (24 years old).

And?

If I'm a millionaire and I'm selling a Lambo for $150k, I'm not going to accept $50k because that's the 'best offer' a potential buyer can make, am I?

biggest ever? i doubt it. a plodder who’s been in the system for 3 years and only managed 10 games or whatever isn’t exactly a “great deal”, neither are devalued first round picks and future picks when drafts are compromised as is.

didn’t answer my question, anyway.
Happily answer your question after you answer my question about this pattern you have noticed.

Really strange take.

At pick 9 in the open draft there’s likely to be three of Grlj, X Taylor, Schubert, Cumming, Sharp, Marsh, Phillipou, Farrow, Lindsay available.

There's zero guarantee any of those kids will be any good. They also have plenty of picks to try and move up themselves if they want to, without trading Merrett.

After that it drops off to more speculative picks. The Bombers will grab three of these with 5, 6 and 9 if they are smart.

Again, they can do that anyway.

Hawthorns pick next year won’t be mid 20s like it will be this year with the new bidding rules, it will come in to 15-18, in a much better draft than this year.

So, 2 picks in the teens and a slow VFL plodder in Hustwaite for their 6x BnF?

Perhaps you can start understanding why Bombers aren't particularly interested in this offer?

If they netted a haul of X Taylor, Sharp and Schubert that would give them a good grounding to reset with the other juniors that have arrived in the last couple of years.

Again, they can do that anyway, without trading Merrett.

Add HH who could be something or nothing, but will definitely get his chance, a couple of firsts and seconds next year and then putting a watches toward a free agent or two, they have a chance to reset before Tassie comes in.

HH is too slow for AFL, which is why he's not getting regular games for Hawthorn. He's a VFL player in the mould of Charlie Constable. Looks great at that level but can't cut it in the AFL due to his lack of athleticism.

Hawks have made the play. If they throw in one more F2 I think the Bombers would be mad not to take it for a 30 year old that doesn’t want to be there.

They'll need to offer up a better first rounder next year and a better player if they're serious. Their current offer implies they are not.

This is the club that tried offering pick 4, a future 1st and Tyler Brockman for Harley Reid in his draft year, for instance.

Maybe they’d be cheerier if they didn’t just have the worst season in AFL history
It’s all about them cracking the dads about the idiots running their club chose Hawthorns draft picks rather than Carlton’s for the Barrass deal.

I mean seriously if you could not see at the end of season 2024 where the Hawks we’re heading and where Carlton we’re heading you should get your head examined.

I reckon we will see movement today RE McKenzie or Lewis or ZM stays.

Andrew Wu & Peter Ryan said it pretty well on their Real Footy podcast this morning.

I was happy with the deal before, but more i think about it i like us pushing for more.

Yes, because it's a public draft thread and this is yet another shitty offer from Hawthorn to a club for a top-tier player that we can all laugh at.
So the best ever offer for a 30yo in trade history is a shitty offer?

Wow do you want us to be as dumb as the WCE were, with the Tim Kelly trade?

Happily answer your question after you answer my question about this pattern you have noticed.
i'm happy if they want to share their opinion without being intentionally inflammatory. i'll disagree because it's objectively a torrid deal for essendon lol.

I reckon we will see movement today RE McKenzie or Lewis or ZM stays.

Andrew Wu & Peter Ryan said it pretty well on their Real Footy podcast this morning.

I was happy with the deal before, but more i think about it i like us pushing for more.
Of course you are pushing for more Duh.

But I can tell you are setting yourself up for disappointment about Frenchie.

Anyway the Hawks are working on a bigger deal than Zack.

Stay tuned.

Of course you are pushing for more Duh.

But I can tell you are setting yourself up for disappointment about Frenchie.

No really, because wed be keeping Zach?

Id be happy either or.

So the best ever offer for a 30yo in trade history is a shitty offer?

A shit offer is still a shit offer.

When was the last time a 30yo of Merrett's calibre moved clubs?

Wow do you want us to be as dumb as the WCE were, with the Tim Kelly trade?

This thread's about Hawthorn's shithouse offer. Stay on topic please.

Ahh a WCE supporter saying I should be pissed at the Hawks trying to grant a bloke his wish after he approached them.

We all know why a WCE supporter is arse sore about the Hawks and why you chimed in, it’s sooo predictable.
“Grant a bloke his wish”, spare me.

You’re simultaneously whinging about Essendon not accepting “the biggest offer ever for a 30yo” whilst being happy your club offered it

It is not going to be done unless the future first is SIGNIFICANTLY better and it has to be from a club likely to miss the 8, that's up to the Hawks to find that club not Essendon. If you don't want to trade players okay fine, fine a future from a club in the bottom 8 that you can get for next year, then Essendon MIGHT talk...

Until that time why would Essendon bother. All this talk of there was a reason Hustwaithe wasn't playing yet he didn't play every game Day was out. So which one is it? Is he actually good OR is he as many think a slow VFL plodder who is at best depth? It doesn't look such a good deal if the player you give is basically depth.

Will hawthorn bend over further and include McKenzie(Frenchie as we call him on the Essendon board)?

Still unders even if he is. Now Lewis + McKensie and leave Hustwaithe out, then that's closer.